Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Something different and unexpected

Posted Dec 26, 2014
We will definitely stay at the Lodge again. It was a really unexpected departure from the typical discount hotels up and down the interstate. A distinctive lobby with a great fireplace and a very cozy ski lodge feel help to make it feel a little like you're much farther north than Gainesville. The rooms are not fancy, but are spacious, clean, and very comfortable for the reasonable price. The staff was very friendly, much more so than the average discount hotel, and are obviously proud of their facility. A unexpectedly great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
This stay at the Lodge was great! Nice quiet room on the 3rd floor, that was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and efficient. No complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to amenities

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: The reception area. Great for socializing.
Cons: Was disappointed not having a fridge in the room. I guess not all rooms have one. I had one the last time I was a guest.
My daughter booked this hotel for her wedding party and guests in 2012. The location and the ambience of the hotel were main factors she considered in choosing the hotel. Since then this has been our choice when visiting Gainesville. The staff are very pleasant and breakfast was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank for the 4 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. We at The Lodge strive to offer hospitality at its best with a touch of rustic charm. I hope to see you again soon. Have a happy holiday season. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa Fl.

Graduation

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast Saturday morning was very crowded. din't look like they expected the crowd.
Location: Location is next to interstate and very close to U of Florida.
We had 3 rooms for UF graduation in Gainsville. All we very good nice and large. Cocktail party Friday night was excellent. Breakfast Saturday morning was very good. Staff were very nice and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Steve for the 4 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your celebration of a new UF graduate. I wish them luck on the new chapter in life. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Good hotel catering to fans. Greathappy hour and breakfast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 3 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer southern hospitality that meets rustic charm. I hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for staying with us. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pt Charlotte, FL

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Convenience to hospital and eating places.
Cons: Happy Hour should be extended or at least have a bar available. We were never there at the hotel before 7:30PM
OK-staff very accommodating and friendly. Not real certain the exterior door were safe as they were always unlocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Colleen. I am pleased to hear that you were taking good care of on your stay with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Our exterior doors are on magnets and will unlock as you walk up close from the interior and require a room key form the exterior. I will make sure to look into this issue with my Maintenance Chief. Hope the remainder of your stay was great. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks for staying with us here at The Lodge. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Detention center

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The view from my room was a wall. I felt like this was a detention center. Staff were not polite. Being a first time guest we were taken back by the disorganized breakfast and extremely poor service at check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to complete this review. We value all guest feedback weather positive or negative. I do apologize on behalf of my staff that is not the standard here at The Lodge at Gainesville. From check in to check out our goal is to offer southern hospitality with a touch of rustic charm. I do hope you will come to give us another try to show you what a true stay here at The Lodge is supposed to be. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you in the future. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville, FL

Great location, average everything else

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Fireplace, plenty of parking, location
Cons: Update the air conditioner, better towels, refridgerators
Location: McD's close-by!
Staff was very friendly, lodge and fireplace area were really nice, as well as the room bathrooms. The rooms were clean but a little dated (especially the 1950's air conditioner, and 1950's sandpaper towels). Beds were clean and comfortable though. Ridiculous that the room rate was spiked up so high because of the gator game, when its really maybe worth half of it, but thats just Gainesville.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Ryan for taking time to complete this review. I very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Gator home games in Gainesville can get costly. We strive to offer the best rate possible to all guests. We are working on updating things around the hotel to make each guest stay memorable and rewarding. I hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Perfect hotel when visiting college games

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and friendly.
Cons: Need better pillows
Location: College is close by, lots of restaurants and stores. I understand it's only 1 and 1/2 to 2 hours away from most Florida attractions and beaches
We came for the Gator/Gamecock football game. Didn't spend alot of time at the hotel, but when I come to stay longer, I will stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you Natalie for taking time to complete this review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lodge. Next time you will have to spend more time in the hotel for the full Lodge experience. Thanks for staying with us. I hope to see you again soon. Ashley Green Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything great but mattess was worn out bad!!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Great hotel but mattress was old and worn ., couldn't sleep !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by Ashley Green FOM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 3 star review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us other than the bed. We value all guest comments positive or negative. There can be things that go unseen or unfelt ( like the bed ). I hope you mentioned it to the Front Desk so we can make the appropriate changes for the future guests and yourself on return visits. Look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again for staying with us here at The Lodge at Gainesville. Ashley Green Front Office Manager