Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Ambience
Cons: Lamp shades for the table lamps
Location: On a business trip therefore unable to sightsee, however the scenery was magnificent, particularly with the autumn colours.
Comfortable, welcoming stay in a clean room that afforded all necessitities..... Would recommend lamp shades though for the bedside lamps. Otherwise, the stay was supported by very helpful attentive staff. Worth dining...the food was excellent and very good value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Achimfrom Sachsen

ok für eine Nacht

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
guter Ausgangspunkt für die Sehenswürdigkeiten des Scottish Border, ruhige Lage, Zimmer sind ziemlich hellhörig, Sanitärbereich war sauber, Gastronomie inclusive Frühstücksservice war gut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bradford

Overnight stay fur Melrose sevens

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great food and hospitality. Room clean and beds comfortable
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Luton1971from Northants

Small room

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My stay was only one night and i wont stay there again my room only had a window in the onsuite and that was low down next to the toilet. it was also very noisy as the room was above the bar so could hear people talking and laughing. breakfast looked like it was reheated apart from the fresh egg. better hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Williamfrom Glasgow

Cosy Friendly Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: The small, personal feel of the hotel was great. Being able to relax in comfortable warm surroundings was good after a week at work.
Cons: The shower in the bedroom could do with being replaced with something a little more modern. Black pudding would have been welcomed at breakfast.
Location: Clovenfords is a small village, however its close to Galashiels, Melrose and Hawick. There are some fantastic views from around the area.
A very pleasant night away. We enjoyed a warm welcome to the hotel, before enjoying an excellent evening meal. The locals took the Friday night quiz very seriously! I enjoyed a good pint (or two) of Ale from the bar. The room was really comfortable, if a little tired looking. A good selection of tea/coffee etc available in the room and a nice touch of bottled mineral water was welcome. The shower was a little disappointing - however it was warm, and you were able to get washed under it. The room had a bath in it, which on another night would have been great. Breakfast was of a good standard and value for money, however some black pudding in the cooked breakfast would have been welcomed. All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, will hopefully revisit someday!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John Mcfrom Preston Lancashire

excellent family country inn

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: spotless rooms a very reasonable price
Cons: heating on possibly a little earlier
Location: Abbotsford. Sweetheart Abbey. Border towns Galashiels , Selkirk, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick, Coldstream, Melrose
Very helpful landlord very cosy bar with a good selection of beer and WHISKY. The room was spotless and facilities were exellent. We arrived at about 4pm had a beer in the bar went to the room at 5pm which was a little cool but did warm up fairly quickly. A good nights sleep and a very good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
gezellig hotel,goede keuken,vriendelijk personeel, netjes,maar een beetje versletent,typisch engels /schots hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mofrom Montrose

Great Location

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clovenfords Inn is a quaint inn in the middle of an expanding village. We had a pleasant stay there as it was the base to see the surrounding area and visit relatives. The Inn itself is very old, but I feel it needs updated in places!!! The room itself was spacious with 3 single beds and clean but lacking in electrical sockets.en-suite was adaquate.Staff were friendly and gave information on the area if required. Food was good. Overall 7/10
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was very nice- recently updated but the hotel entrance and bar needs updating but they are getting there.