Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great place to stay close to Eagle Ridge in Galena

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the comfort and the breakfast.
Cons: There was no elevator to the second floor.
Location: It was located just a few minutes outside of Galena and very close to Eagle Ridge.
We were very pleased with this motel. Beds were very comfortable and it was quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Plainfield il

the bed

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: It was reasonable in price, the location was good
Cons: The bed
Location: You could access the shopping area very well. The historical sites were very close by also
the bed had a lot of wood rubbing noises, every time you turned over or moved it was very annoying & woke you up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, walking distance from downtown.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, walking distance from main shopping area.
Location: Great place for a couples or girls weekend. Lots of shopping, golf and good food.
Pet friendly. Wish they knew some options for pet sitting. The choices they gave me never returned my call.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Independence, MO & Honolulu, HI

Convenient for enjoying Galena, Illinois sites

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the town of Galena. Recently renovated, so excellent, modern bath fixtures, good WiFi, nice little free breakfast. Pool & hot tub.
Cons: Light a little dim in our room - no overhead lighting, only some table lamps.
Location: Galena is charming and historical. President Grant sites. Tour the Belvedere Mansion. Walking & biking trail along the river; boating on the river.
After a long, hot, tiring day of driving and touristing, it was a relief to find the Best Western hotel on the outskirts of Galena, very near the President Grant Home historical site, and get checked in, helping ourselves to the free cookies in the lobby. It was a surprise to learn that there is no elevator to get to our room on the upper level, but we had no trouble getting our luggage up the wide staircase. The elderly woman struggling up the staircase with her cane did not look pleased, however. My husband and I had the pool and hot tub to ourselves, so that was delightfully refreshing. The hotel appears to have been very recently renovated -- there was even a faint smell of paint in the upper hallway -- and everything was extremely neat and clean and nice. Just be prepared for the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bud from chicago

Convenient location.

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Free wifi Good television Free breakfast.
Cons: Slight odor in the room on arrival. Opened outside door immediately.
It was a good experience. The location made it easy to find and get into the town of Galena.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Hickory Hills

very nice and getting better

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I must admit that when we pulled up we had our doubts but they're currently working on a renovation. The room was lovely and we had a back room with a semi private balcony overlooking the woods so it was quiet. The only issue we had was a slow draining bathtub and they fixed it quickly. There us a Happy Joes Pizza, a bar, and a gas station all within a couple hundred feet and downtown Galena is less than a mile away. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

refurbished mew modern room

Posted May 9, 2014
Cons: could use a business office and continental breakfast
for the price super nice walking to a few good eating/drinking spots far enough off interstate that you do not hear any noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in a good location.

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: No surprises... which is a good thing. Wi-fi worked great.
Cons: Only one ice machine and it wasn't on the floor I was staying on. Cookies were supposed to be available in the lobby but weren't on 2nd day.
Location: Located on main road coming into town. Just minutes from Main Street where most of the Galena shops are.
I stayed for two nights during the week. Checking in and out went smoothly. Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean. Bed was comfortable but kind of high which made it a challenge for a short person like me to get into. TV was new but the other furnishings were out-dated. Breakfast was okay but since I ate towards the end, you could tell it had been sitting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Myles from Chicago

Great for a weekend getaway

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We always stay at this hotel when we come to Galena. Nothing special but always clean and close enough to the downtown area. Definitely recommend.