Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubuque, IA

Okay place to sleep.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
My adult daughter and I stayed at this hotel. It was just okay. There was some trim running down the corner of a wall that was coming off and sticking out at the top to about half way down. Bathroom was not horrible but could/should have been cleaner. Was glad we were just sleeping there one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palos hills

Great place for ur buck

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This is a very nice hotel worth the money and 5 minutes away from mines of Spain and 30 minutes away from Maquoketa caves state park a awesome place to go to. Stay at the econo lodge its a nice quiet place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay review.we are appreciating your help and support Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Black mold ...

Posted Aug 30, 2014
We arrived at 1am and went to our room and noticed in the morning black mold in the shower...I wondered why I woke up coughing and sneezing in the morning. The front didn't care and told us we should have checked out the room and told them...sorry after driving for 6hrs and been up since 6am the day before. Bad attitude ... never staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for stay review.we have check your complaint .you are check inn at 8.45 pm. we have check bathroom and found this is not mold previous guest use color her hair and due to that two black dot on tile.and our hotel is open 24 hours please give us chance to fix the problem. thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
Dear customer thank you for fed back about your stay,we have to explain this hotel remodel three month before and you are taking about mold in bathroom this is not correct previous guest color his hair and due to that there was was to three black dot. anr way sorry for unconvinced and you have check inn around 8.45pm not 1.00am. and we are open 24 hours so please next time if you have any question please call us and give us chance to fix the problem. Thank you management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Compare to other hotels I have stayed in, this one needed some updates.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Good for a one night only .

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Staff hardly spoke English. Hard to understand. Room was clean but dated. Bring your own pillows! Flat and old. Served its purpose for sleeping only after a long day on the road. Breakfast was lacking, no ftuits just donuts, cold generic cereal and waffles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Hotel Room

Posted Jul 21, 2014
When we arrived we had to wait to get checked in. When checking in the room it smelled. There were no pillow case liners on the dirty stained pillows and the the bed had tiny black hair all over it. The bathroom had hair all over it. We will never stay here again. The cleaning staff was walking around in their socks. Gross
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
thank you for staying with us and thank you for stay review, we have check and study your complain and we have found our check inn time is 3.00pm but you came early to check inn and room was not ready by that time but you went in that room before finished hskp work, we are sorry for inconvenience. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Good, affordable option

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast, friendly staff, low price
Cons: new pillows
Location: About 5-10 minutes from downtown Dubuque where you can visit the historical area with shops, the pier/riverwalk, and great views.
Overall this was a nice hotel for our 2-night stay in Dubuque. It is an Econolodge, so don't expect the Ritz. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good (Belgian waffles, biscuits and gravy, boiled eggs, bread/toast, bagles/pastries, yogurt, juice, coffee). The room was clean. The bed was pretty comfortable, but I wish I had brought my own pillow. There were just three, pretty worn down pillows per bed. We were visiting Dubuque and Galena, IL, so next time I might pay more to get a B&B in Galena, but this was quite nice for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lake Geneva, WI

Get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room decor was definitely dated. Coat rack was loose from the wall. Overall the room was clean. We knew we were not going to be spending much time in the room so we didn't need a hotel with pool or exercise room etc. But I think this was pricier than it should have been. One big complaint was only 3 pillows on the king size bed. We both usually sleep with 2 pillows each. Breakfast was all carbs.: waffles, doughnuts, biscuits and gravy, so we ate at the local Perkins restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review for our hotel we will look in this matter and we will up date your suggestion.and it will help to our hotel,some time we have restriction to do that because of economy hotel it will cost us more money and we will in-cress our price people do not want to pay more they are telling us you have economy hotel your room price is high. please understand our problem Thank you