Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great mid-priced motel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, good amenities for the price. Friendly staff and a full breakfast, not just continental.
Cons: Hard to think of anything immediate; not much to complain about.
Location: Near plenty of shopping, Olive Garden, gas stations and very easy to get downtown or whereabouts. Decent museum and art gallery + local eats.
Stayed for some January eagle watching and weekend Ice Fest. Fairfield showed highest rating in the group and is reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room had one king bed. Room was quite expensive, but quite small. Bathroom was very small with tiny countertop, so no space to set cosmetics. We complained that room in that location was cut short by stairway, so they moved us to another room that was the same. We complained again, so they upgraded us to a 2 king room. Both rooms were dirty in the corners (crumbs), and I saw bugs in both rooms. Breakfast was ok, and pool & hot tub were ok. Location was ok, next to highway. We werent impressed, and wont stay there again. Country inn and suites would have been a better choice, in general. Dubuque, however, was beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque. It is always our goal to impress our guests, and I'm very sorry to hear that we came up short. We appreciate your feedback as we are always working to improve our services. I hope that you will allow us another chance to impress you on your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Connie J. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Parents weekend

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Very nice hotel for the money except we found a dirty q-tip in the drawer the breakfast was great and the facilities were nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location distance to casino was about twice as far

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Room# 200 trouble with air conditioning temp was about 75 could not get it to run the fan to cool room, extra $5 charge for internet service was a unpleasant surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mpls

Convenient to downtown and Galena

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The pool, breakfast, beds, and location
Location: We went to the aquarium, very nice!
The room was clean. The bathroom was a little small. The pool area was in good condition. The breakfast was fine. The internet was a little slow, they sell an upgrade for faster internet, boooo. All together a pleasant place to stay, Olive Garden right next door and Target very close were convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KC MO

Awesome Staff!!!!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Great Staff... Great room .... Tasty Breakfast!
Cons: Keep up the good work!
Location: Bicycle trail nearby... I need to check it out further.
This was the first time I stayed here... will not be the last
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by William l. Taylorfrom Burlington, Iowa

Watch Out When You Pay

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was fine. Paying for it was another matter. Paid cash, which included all charges, at the desk when we checked in. Left the next day. Got home and discovered my debit card had been hit for what I paid plus more by the hotel. That put me in an overdraft status. Called; manager said that's just how it's done. She also said it's normal for a hotel to tack on an extra percentage to the bill. She couldn't say why, when I paid on Sat., that the charge was run through on the day we left. Said the charges would "drop off' in a couple of days, which, again doesn't help the overdraft situation. Don't they have a night auditor that could have prevented this (if someone alerted them)? Is it really just "normal" and they're helpless to stop it from happening? I don't think so (neither did my bank).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Taylor, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry for the negative experience you had at check in and for the stress it caused you. As I explained to you over the phone, when you check in we do authorize your card for the amount of the stay plus any incidentals you may incur to ensure the funds are available. We can bypass this for our guests paying in cash if they notify us ahead of time. Unfortunately, we had already swiped your debit card when you told us you wanted to use cash. At that point there is no way to undo this action, which causes the funds to be put aside by your bank. It varies between banks as to how long it takes for these funds to be made available to you again. Once again, I'm very sorry for the trouble this caused you, and I hope that you will allow us another chance to earn your business. Sincerely, Connie J. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The beds are so comfortable, they'll make you late for check-out! Great facility and incredibly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wausau, WI

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Breakfast and pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: Sister in law
Love our stay, very comfortable room, great breakfast and enjoyed using the pool and whirlpool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Nice hotel on the main drag of Dubuque.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, good location, easy access.
Cons: Marriott does a great job.
Chose this hotel on a visit to a family member. Easy access to all areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Fairfield Inn Dubuque. I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and friendly staff. We hope to have the opportunity to host you on your next trip to Dubuque! Sincerely, Connie J. General Manager