Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway....

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The room was fantastic
Beautiful hotel, right downtown Dubuque. The room was clean, and looked fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Chicago, IL

Classic old hotel on the Mississippi River

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Lots of old features - like windows that opened on the old roller and cable system, and lots of furnishings. But clean and new/renovated.
Cons: We did have a cleaning lady come by at 9:30 AM - would be nice if they tracked checkouts so we aren't interrupted. Minor annoyance at worst.
Location: It's a downtown area, but not a major city so a little dead. Still we found a nice dinner and a couple of decent bars and enjoyed it.
Loved this place, will stay there again. It's just what a classic old hotel should be - stately lobby, well appointed, modern/renovated but enough of the old character left to let you appreciate the history. Super-helpful desk staff. Minor annoyance from cleaning staff. Really enjoyed this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Ohio

Lovely hotel.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Very convenient location. Staff were great. The hotel is beautiful and in very well kept condition. Room is nice size and very comfortable. Only negatives: street noise from partyers at a bar across the street and insufficient parking due to a wedding at the hotel. Otherwise, great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Class and elegance!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I chose this Hotel because of the style, class and elegance. This place is so far and above a stay at your chain hotels it's not even funny. It's a very old building, but the renovation can't be too old because everything was in excellent condition (carpet, wallpaper, tile, draperies, bedding, etc). The staff was very helpful, attentive and polite. Our room was big with 2 large windows overlooking Main street which we loved. There are so many neat little shops, stores and attractions nearby. We found sufficient night life within walking distance, saw a great band for free and witnessed a beautiful wedding in the Hotel on the second day of our stay. If you appreciate "class"..stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right downtown, close to all of the action!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I had not been to this hotel since before the renovation and it is much nicer! The rooms are beautiful and larger and have everything that you need. The hotel is close to restaurants, bars, the river, boat cruises, the casino, and more!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Julien Dubuque would be proud of his namesake

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Convenient. I return to Dubuque once a year and plan on staying here every time.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within walking distance to my favorite restaurant LMay. Plus across the street is great chocolates and gelato shop.
I paid for 2 nights but stayed just one. Needed to return home and put air conditioning in place so my felines would survive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Shaw

It was great

Posted May 13, 2014
No complaints . I will return to this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this Hotel..

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Within walking distance of a few good places to eat as well easy access to the river front. Hotel bar is a hopping place at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick & Paula from Blanchardville, WI

A magnificent adventure to say the least.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The rich history of a very storied hotel in Dubuque's history.
Cons: Absolutely nothing
Location: Casino's, Restaurants and Historical Sights
Everything was first class, from the time we arrived, till the time we left. Wonderful stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brent from Iowa

Upgrade

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Make sure you read all the details and understand that an executive king sweet is smaller than a regular with double beds and has a couch. Paid $100 more on expedia than friends that had a better room.