Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel in a small town

Posted Jan 18, 2015
We always stay here when we are in Dubuque. Lovely decor, welcoming staff, Aveda bath products, comfortable rooms. Ideal location right on main street across from many restaurants, bars, and cafes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Crosse, Wo

Landmark Hotel.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location, History, a wonderful place to stay while visiting the city of Dubuque.
Cons: Would be nice if the lounge and restaurant were open more hours. Realize this might not be possible but would be nice to have more access to both.
Location: the River museum/aquarium, casinos, walking tour of downtown dubuque.
Great location, within walking distance to many attractions. It is a grand old Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Williamfrom Berlin, WI

great

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We visited the town. We enjoyed a great night stay and the hotel itself with its great old town charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, classy.
Cons: Couldn't think of a thing.
Location: No idea. Wasn't there long enough. Restaurant downstairs was great.
Just stayed one night but loved the renovated but classy historic hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jefffrom Petersburg, IL

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful. A bit pricey, but because my wife and I were staying their for our anniversary getaway I was willing to pay more. The rooms were nice, and the hotel is walking distance to several restaurants. Parking is across the street in an open lot that fills up fast. Other than some shops, bars and restaurants I didn't think there was much else within walking distance worth investigating. Our room was on the 8th floor on the main street...directly across from two busy late night bars. There was a lot of street noise and yelling and loud talking from the bar patrons well into the night, making it a little difficult to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Steve F.from Sterling, IL

Noisy Bar crowd Outside

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This would probably be a nice hotel during he week when the late night loud crowd is not out. But if you want to get to sleep before 2 am don't get a room on the Main St. side of the building. Between the noise from the kids leaving the hotel bar and the bar across the street there is no chance of sleeping between 12am and 2am. When I complained about the noise at check out I got a cursory "sorry that happened". No offer of compensation, sincerity, etc. For $250/night I expect more!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We'll be back!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
We wanted to stay in Dubuque to take in the River Museum, Cable ride and Eagle Point Park. Loved the Julien but were a bit disappointed with the restaurant Caroline. The food was good, but service was very slow. Next time we will check out restaurants nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute room with a nice view of the river.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Very nicely remodeled but kept the quaintness.
Cons: N/A
Location: Right downtown Dubuque - so, close to restaurants, shops and sightseeing.
Enjoyed our stay! Hotel staff could be a little more helpful but overall we enjoyed our stay. Restaurant does need some better service. Although, the person at the bar was very nice when we stopped for a late evening snack. Loved the room and the view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laurafrom Ill

Fall season trip

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for a one night stay during the peak of fall colors. Amazing! Very nice hotel. Very quiet and professional. Clean pool and hot tub area. Very pleasent stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com