Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
nice trip however electric in hotel was questionable ( clock continued to flash after it was reset)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2014
GOOD NIGHT STAY AND NOT FAR FROM GALENA WHERE WE WERE HEADING.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Nice place for the price

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Location: Very good Mexican resteraunt next door.
Room was clean and satisfactory for the price. Only complaint was room was on 3rd floor and no elevator. Staff was polite and offered to carry my luggage up though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful people...terrible bed!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanliness.
Cons: Bed size, mattress comfort
Location: Dubuque, IA. Many stores, great views nearby, close vicinity to galena (we attended a wedding there)
The people were pleasant and helpful from check-in to check-out. The room was big enough for our needs but the beds were extremely uncomfortable and not adequately sized for two people. I am 7 1/2 months pregnant and my husband and I slept in one bed and my stepson slept in the other. We each woke up multiple times during the night!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, KS

Expectations Not Met

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Outside my door in the hallway was a dehumidifier. There was water damage around the room's window situated at ground level. Loud talking was heard about 4:00 a.m. Parking was distant in an adjacent lot in which boats were also parked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Spiders in the shower

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was okay.
Cons: Better cleaning of bathrooms.
I found two live spiders in my shower. The desk attendant apologized but said the manager would be in later in the day. I asked for the manager to email me about the situation, but I never got a reply.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from IA

Good value

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: continental breakfast was nice
Cons: Make sure the exhaust fan in the rest room is working--especially if it's a Smoking room.
Location: Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium; Kennedy Mall
All the non-smoking rooms were booked, so I had no choice but to go with a Smoking room (I'm a non-smoker). Continental breakfast was very nice. Good value except for the Smoking room part. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work otherwise that might have helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Met our needs

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and bed was comfortable enough. Room had a refrigerator but no microwave. A/C was cold, which is a plus! Breakfast was ok, but no fruit or yogurt offered either morning and the A/C in the office/breakfast area was broken so it was hot in there. A lot of truckers and construction workers stay here, but they seemed quiet and did not bother us at all. Mexican restaurant next door was good-we ate there the first night. Would probably stay there again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Breakfast and breakfast room.
Location: Dubuque Arboretum and Botanical Gardens one of the best gardens I had seen. It's a must see. Mississippi River Walk is just few miles from Super 8 and
We well before the check in time. The front desk guy told me to come back in 20 minutes. When went back after having a lunch, the room was ready. We're pleased for an early check in. The hotel's located at Dodge Street, which passes through the town and takes you to Mississippi River or even to cross over the river to IL. Their breakfast is poor, though. Besides, there were only four tables with two or three chairs each.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Never again

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Not good. Check-in staff was very friendly. Never saw any other staff after that, though. The room was funny smelling and dark. Really bad color scheme and made it seem tawdry. Could not go barefoot due to sticky, stained carpet. The beds were super soft because they sunk in to the middle. Buy cheap, get cheap, I suppose.