Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Spiders in the shower

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was okay.
Cons: Better cleaning of bathrooms.
I found two live spiders in my shower. The desk attendant apologized but said the manager would be in later in the day. I asked for the manager to email me about the situation, but I never got a reply.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from IA

Good value

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: continental breakfast was nice
Cons: Make sure the exhaust fan in the rest room is working--especially if it's a Smoking room.
Location: Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium; Kennedy Mall
All the non-smoking rooms were booked, so I had no choice but to go with a Smoking room (I'm a non-smoker). Continental breakfast was very nice. Good value except for the Smoking room part. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work otherwise that might have helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Breakfast and breakfast room.
Location: Dubuque Arboretum and Botanical Gardens one of the best gardens I had seen. It's a must see. Mississippi River Walk is just few miles from Super 8 and
We well before the check in time. The front desk guy told me to come back in 20 minutes. When went back after having a lunch, the room was ready. We're pleased for an early check in. The hotel's located at Dodge Street, which passes through the town and takes you to Mississippi River or even to cross over the river to IL. Their breakfast is poor, though. Besides, there were only four tables with two or three chairs each.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Never again

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Not good. Check-in staff was very friendly. Never saw any other staff after that, though. The room was funny smelling and dark. Really bad color scheme and made it seem tawdry. Could not go barefoot due to sticky, stained carpet. The beds were super soft because they sunk in to the middle. Buy cheap, get cheap, I suppose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The room was a non-smoking room but it had a strong smoky smell. It was bad enough that we purchased air freshener to help us get through the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just awful!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Felt like I was sleeping in a noisy, wet, smoky, polluted, wet-vac filter! Dirty dirty dirty!! Not ever kept up worth anything!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Joleen from Iowa

In dire need of renovation

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room I stayed in was not properly cleaned: the chair had dust and crumbs on it, there were hairs on the pillow and there was make up smeared on the bathroom counter. After I saw all that, I was convinced nothing had been cleaned in the room. Some of the other guests were very loud (yelling down the hallway) but the nice gentleman at the desk did ask them to quiet down. It was an "ok" place to stay for one night but I would not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KL Black from Colo. Springs

Great overnight stop

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived late and left late into the continental breakfast time. We are gluten free, but could still have the cereal, so didn't go away hungry. The staff both arriving and leaving were very nice. We were put in a room far from the street, so didn't hear much noise, but I wonder if we were closer if we would have. The room seemed clean enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tim from Marshalltown

Not bad for the price.

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good price and close to all the local tourist spots. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. My only complaint was the bedding. The sheets were clean, but the comforter definitely was NOT washed. The rest of the room was clean.