Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Historic building in process of being renovated.

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Comfy bed, hot tub was GREAT! Nice neighborhood.
Cons: Bathroom way too small. Greeting customers is more welcoming, so I'd recommend doing this instead of merely leaving note. And...having a locking door
Location: Close to downtown Dubuque. Walking historic neighborhood was nice.
Front door and door to our bedroom did not lock. Neighborhood appeared really nice (Historic District), but not having a working lock on front door to building and especially to our room was concerning. Bathroom in our room was TEENY, with little to no leg room. In other B&Bs we've stayed in, we were always greeted warmly by staff and walked through and given direction. Not so here. Bed was extremely comfy and hot tub was delightful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good - serve yourself. Overall, rather pricey for what we got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John Anderson from Nevada, IA

Love the privacy.

Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quiet and private. Perfect for relaxing. House is old and still has a ways to go. The finished areas are beautiful. Can't beat the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved this place!

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice building! Book the master suite-you get the whole upstairs to yourself! Beautiful decor, modern bathroom. Love the flexibility of check in and breakfast--no pressure to be anywhere at a specific time. Very relaxing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by SjeSje from Dubuque, IA

Would have been great if we had Air Conditioning!

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was July 4th weekend and we decided to load up the dogs and take a drive out of Chicago. It was a last-minute decision and we decided to find a hotel as we drove. We didn't have a lot of options with the holiday and traveling with two small dogs. Solon Langworthy sounded like a great choice - once we arrived, there was no one to greet us and we had to fumble around to figure out which room was ours. A letter was left taped to the entryway. Once we got settled, discovered there was no air conditioning. Did I mention it was the 4th of July!! It was 90 degrees outside and we had dogs.... The house is old but well-maintained, and there was a DIY breakfast spread, but the lack air conditioning left us wilted and disappointed. Especially since we never saw our host and the other guests told us they not only had A/C but also jaquzzi tubs... better luck next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trish from Chicago

1st time at a B&B

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: The privacy, the neighborhood, the way it's decorated and the bathtub!
Cons: Maybe some work on the exterior, like the porch - but the inside is what counts and it was very well kept.
Location: The neighborhood is a great place to walk around and admire the old, historical buildings. It's only about 25 minutes from Galena.
While we don't have anything to compare it to aside from hotels, we thought this B&B was awesome. It was in a very pretty, quiet neighborhood. The building is old and needs some exterior work, but the inside was very well kept. It was really cute and nicely put together. We stayed in the Deluxe room and it was perfect for the two of us. The bathtub is amazing! We lit candles and used it both nights we were there. We loved the privacy. The other couples staying there were very pleasant and we only saw them in the morning at breakfast. We were in the area to visit Galena - the extra bit of a drive into town was worth it. The price is reasonable and I like that the owners weren't around aside from doing some gardening. This was the perfect, much needed, relaxing, romantic getaway my boyfriend and I were looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chad from Huxley, Iowa

A great private place to stay

Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This bed and breakfast was a great fit for what we wanted out of our stay. It was private and quite and much better than staying in a traditional hotel. The breakfast food was provided but it was a make your own rather than sit down with other guests and made for you...which was perfectly fine for us. I would recommend this place to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is what I would call a self serve B&B and breakfast is limited, however, room and kitchen were very clean. Room was comfortable, and whirlpool bathtub was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a really nice room. Not your typical B & B, but still very nice. Every other B & B I have stayed in, breakfast was fixed & served at a table with the other guests. This B & B, you made your own food. This was fine. I was just surprised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Cozy

Posted Feb 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very relaxing and cozy room. Kitchen could have been a little cleaner. But overall a very enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2012 on Hotels.com