Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
19% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broadview Inn - on the square in Galesburg, IL

Posted Oct 23, 2012
The good news first: it's close to the Knox College campus, which is convenient for homecoming weekend, or any other campus visit. The bad news is that the upkeep leaves much to be desired, and I'm still having to sort out the credit card charges (charged twice, but a refund is in process.) Main recommendation: bring earplugs if you're going to stay. BNSF has a constant stream of freight traffic through town, and most of it is about half a block from the hotel. The rumble of the trains on the track - soothing. The high decibel whistles - not so much.
2 out of 5
by Woody from Northern, IL

Hotel in need of work..... Be Careful in this one!

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: Bar and a pool
Cons: The general upkeep of the property.
Location: The location is very nice. It is at the end of Main street with a lot of shops.
The hotel staff was very polite, but the overall conditions of the hotel in general were dredful. If this isn't a hotel needing a remodeling... then I have no idea what is, and I have been in construction for 22 years. Needs renovating in the worst way, or at the very least a few minor touch ups. This would go miles to improvement. I guess you get what you pay for though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Aug 21, 2012
You get what you pay for. Staff was friendly, hotel definitely needs updating... TV wasn't very good, older TV channels came in fuzzy, whole hotel needs a makeover, you could tell that there had been water leaks down the walls and in the ceiling. Hotel was ok but like I said, you get what you pay for. I'd stay there again just because its so cheap compared to everywhere else in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from New Mexico

An okay hotel with a thoughtful staff

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Pros: The desk service, the balcony off the room, and the central location.
Cons: Inadequate, ill-fitting linens, semi-trashed laundry appliances, shabby elevators
Location: Excellent, near everything.
I was braced for the worst after reading the reviews but actually, this hotel was not bad. I've stayed in far worse. The room was a decent size, the sliding doors to the balcony opened (I hate sealed rooms), and the bathroom was clean. The desk staff was far better than the accommodation---they went out of their way to get me a new hair dryer when the one in the room didn't work, supply fresh towels the one day when the maid missed us, get me quarters for the laundry, etc. We stayed 3 nights. Regarding the railroad: to avoid train noises entirely you would have to stay outside of the city. There are FIVE separate railroads through Galesburg---they are the economic engine of the town. To expect no train noise is to fail to grasp where you have chosen to stop. To avoid it at Best Value Inn, ask for a room facing toward the front of the hotel. We had such a room and hardly noticed the trains. This is not a great hotel but it is very conveniently located near Knox College, the downtown, and the AMTRAK station. As for how old it is----I remember the Hotel Broadview which stood on the site until it burned down in the 1960s. It was, at the time, 80+ years old. The Best Value Inn is a comparative youngster. It just needs TLC and some updating plus---linens that fit the bed! I couldn't believe what the poor maids had to try to stretch to cover every day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Rock Falls Illinois

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 24, 2012
Pros: cost
Cons: bedding needed to be updated
Location: The hotel was right downtown away from interstate but close to good food and entertainment
The Hotel is an older one but the remodeling was going on and I think when they get done it will improve the look a lot. Staff was kind and the rate was very inexpensive, for half the cost of a swanker place it was worth it if one is just using it to sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NM

Don't Ever Stay Here!

Posted Sep 6, 2011
This hotel was filthy. The carpets were stained and there was actually black mold on the shower walls that wiped off easily with a washcloth. If there was a cleaning staff, no one every explained to them how to properly clean a room. This hotel should be closed down. It has so much potential given its' great location, but the management obviously doesn't care enough to provide clean rooms. Just because something is older, doesn't mean it can't be cared for properly. We will never consider staying there again. The health department should take a close look at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

train whistles from hell

Posted Jun 7, 2011
The hotel really smelled of old smoke mold throughout. The railroad tracks are directly behind hotel.trains run by every 20 minutes and have to sound whistles comtinously because of the rail crossing. Place needs a real real make over and cleaning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

"Hotel from Hell"

Posted May 18, 2011
I've traveled quite a bit, stayed at numerous hotel/motels in US & abroad, this has got to be the worst experience I've endured. Money doesn't come easy, so I want to get my moneys worth. This hotel was dirty, the rooms were outdated and upkept. Surge protecters and extension cords were hanging from the walls. I actually reserved 5 rooms for my daughters graduation, 1 room they overbooked, the other 3 were just awful and the other two they didn't even have my reservation in their system even though I had printed out my reservations. Once we finally did get into our rooms the sheets, towels and pillows cases(make-up all over) were dirty, the pillows were so flat you might as well not have used them. We checked out early and found another hotel to complete our trip. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
3 out of 5
by David from Rock Falls Illinois

no way

Posted May 13, 2011
The breakfast was a pot of coffee, that's it and the bed spreads were full of burn holes but the room was clean it just was not suitable for kids people yelling down the hall at 2:30 am but the employees were nice it just was not a 4 star I would give it 1 1/2 stars
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Unfortunate downhill slide

Posted Nov 3, 2010
This used to be a fine hotel, but it is in a terrible state now. Elevators are ratty and noisy, hallways are run-down, rooms are in disrepair. We had to call down to the desk to get pillowcases, as there were none in our room. The room phone was broken ,so I had to call externally with my cell phone. Linens were threadbare, all the appointments were cheap and ratty. It's a great location for visiting Knox College, but it would need a complete rehabilitation to be an acceptable lodging.