Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katelynfrom Arizona

Home away from home.

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went up for the Red Rock Balloon Rally. I decided to check in a day early. While there was a slight miscommunication at first, the staff was truly Amazing and Acommodating to me and my crew. The staff didn't just made us feel welcome, they made us feel at home. Thank you Leroy, Judy, and the others that made this a wonderful experience for us!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

UNE PETITE RENOVATION S'IMPOSE

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cet hôtel mythique ne mérite pas son prix. Il est démodé et demanderait une rénovation. La literie probablement ancienne devrait être changée. Par contre la décoration du hall avec son grand escalier est très jolie. De plus l'accueil est un peu "glacial".
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

A historic hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Room Rates
Location: Red Rock Park and Museum
This hotel is recommendable for those who are happy with something historic with a unique atmosphere. However, the room (I payed $130 for one night, even not including breakfast) does not seem to deserve the price. It is as small as a little kid's room in an old house, though clean and well kept. I might consider staying here again if the rate were $40-50. In this small city Gallup, you will find a number of hotels and motels along Route 66 that offer spacious rooms at lower rates.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

Historic hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
We paid 174.00 for our room ended up overlooking the back ally, had rust in our tub! I understand that maintaining a old building is a lot of work but I'm thinking there isn't a lot of money going into the building. Peeling paint really bad Bathrooms! Hotel was way to warm to even be comfortable. On the other hand the restaurant was great and the staff warm and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Lots of character, but just stop and look, don't stay. Rooms are OK but the killer was the bed - just like a bail of hay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jessicafrom Malmo Sweden

A light in a darker town...

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
After a couple of not so fun incidents in Gallup we finally found the hotel. Lightened up and looked friendly. Old of course with a bar that I think needs to make more inviting. Rooms very, very hot and this was when it was hot outside too. But a hotel worth visiting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Carakter
Good atmosphere and the history is sitting the the walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Flagstaff, AZ

"Charm of Yesterday, Covenience of Tomorrow"

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Checking in at the El Rancho, I was assigned the Paulette Goddard room, opposite Gene Autry and next door to Robert Mitchum. My room was spacious, clean, possessing a certain Western charm, and replete with a comfortable armchair, television, a portrait of Ms. Goddard and a door which opened out onto a balcony. The balcony overlooked Route 66 and was bathed in pink from the El Rancho's famous neon sign. On entering the El Rancho's great lobby, I was immediately transported back in time, to an age of elegance and glamour, when movie stars wore mink and tweed and red carnations. This style typified the furnishings: deer heads mounted on the high walls, vintage cigarette machines, a shoeshine stand, a grand piano, plush seating surrounding a large fireplace, and the prize: dozens of framed portraits of some of the El Rancho's esteemed guests, many signed: Spencer Tracy, Jimmy Stewart, John Wayne, Errol Flynn, Bogie, Rita Hayworth, etc. Being something of a connoisseur of classic Hollywood, I was completely captivated during my stay. The very air was imbued with the presence of these celluloid greats, as though their ghosts still tread the carpeted boards. I urge you to experience the El Rancho for yourself, if not for a taste of that old Hollywood magic, then for the friendly service, the affordable, appetising menu, the gift shop selling Native American wares and biographies of the Duke, or just for a frosty one in the 49er Lounge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keithfrom Melbourne, Australia

Authentic El Rancho

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small bedrooms and even tinier bathrooms are countered by a fantasticaly evocative lobby and the promise that Richard Boon or Humphrey Bogart once slept in your room all wrap up an irresistable package. Add to that the town of Gallup up the road with some of the best western and first nation goodies you'll find in the west and I'd go again. It was authentic!