Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently on main drive

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Didn't expect much for the price I paid but was pleasantly surprised. Large Hotel that was very clean and up to date. Highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Friendly helpful staff. Clean, quiet spacious room. Nice bathroom. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Good place for an overnight.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The free continental breakfast and staff.
Cons: Room was clean but the preventative maintenance was lacking. Any handyman will shake there head walking around the bathroom and bedroom.
Location: Historic Route 66. If you're a history buff this might be a good choice for you since it's close and fairly priced. Good continental breakfast.
After arriving late in the night I was surprised to see the front desk person actually awake. Yeah!!! They made sure we were in a room on the backside of the hotel. Glad about that since the motel sits on Route 66. Probably not a big deal as we were so tired and road noise is minimal due to the slow speed limit out front. They are close to the train tracks and airport too. We did not hear either one.....but we were tired. If you're a light sleeper you may want a hotel in another location. My biggest complaint is the lack of preventative maintenance throughout the room. It seems like the handyman or sub-contractor gets in and has the mentality of get-er-dun. Workmanship is very low quality of repairs and ongoing maintenance. For me that's a bug-a-boo. Silicone was in poor shape, grout in shower was re-done very poorly, floor tile grout was cracking, wall behind toilet was peeling, mirror was replaced but blue drywall grommets from old mirror still in wall and a couple other little detail items. The hotel common areas were nice and the room was comfortable. Also, on a positive note the hotel and restaurant staff was friendly and made up for maintenance short comings for the overall view of the hotel. I would recommend this place but give them a heads up of maintenance issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: good location.
Cons: Maintenance is needed in the bathroom.
Location: We were traveling so the location was good
The swimming pool was closed, due to an algae bloom. The outside door was locked so we had to go back to the lobby to access our room. There appeared to be mold around the bathtub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

A Gem in Gallup

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The size of the rooms, cleanliness, comfortable bed. Location was nice...easy to find. A couple of miles from the old town area of Gallup.
Cons: The room freshener they used reminded me of a car deodorizer. Noticable at first, but was soon forgotten.
Location: Near the I-40, but far enough away to not hear road noise...and did not hear any train noises also. Gallup has a Wal Mart and Cracker Barrel.
This is not your typical motel. It is more of a hotel...with a large, comfortable lobby; indoor pool and patio area; and a restaurant. The check in was a breeze. Our room was roomy, clean and comfortable. It was easy to find...right off the I-40. We stayed here twice...on our way to OK from San Diego, and, on our way back. On our way back, we decided to do a side trip to Canyon De Chelly National Park (90 mi away)...and, don't forget to stop at the Hubble Trading Post on the way.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Not recommended

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Location: Location is close by the freeway. Couldn't find the information racks of "things to do near by" that are usually found in hotels
Chipped paints on the floor as we got in the room. The carpet felt dirty, I was afraid to take off my shoes. The curtain was falling apart - had rips and tears - the the next morning you can see lights coming through from those holes. The breakfast? They ran out of cream for coffee, there was no hash brown, no fresh fruit. The person helping at the breakfast place was very nice and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stopped overnight on way to Albuquerque

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Loved the hot breakfast served at your table, on real plates with real cutlery
Great hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff. Located just off the freeway, but nice and quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AZ

Not good!!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
We reserved s room for 5, and they weren't able to accommodate all of us. There were no portable needs our even a couch. Hotel smelled nasty and breakfast not much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Mar 21, 2015
For the price you get a nice large clean room. Plenty of space and free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado Springs,CO

Rate Red Lion Hotel Gallup,NM

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Closeness to Route 40, quietness of the room, the hot breakfast offered in the morning.
Cons: Replace the ottoman in the room.
Room was very large and spacious. The ottoman at the corner of the room was spotted with a stain that wasn't pleasant to look at. The swimming pool and hot tub weren't available.