Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday Weekend Getaway.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: I loved how friendly the staff was and how convenient it is to have a kitchen in the room.
Cons: I was told that the maid service only comes on Monday's, but was confused as to why I saw a maid's cart outside on the weekend.
Location: There is Moody Gardens and the Pleasure Pier in Galveston and in Kemah I recommend going to the Kemah Boardwalk and Star Fleet Yachts.
My boyfriend and I decided to get a hotel room for my birthday and we decided to stay at Candlewood Suites. Not only was the front desk clerk friendly, but he was very helpful with explaining everything from how the maid service works to what to do if we have problems with the internet. The room smelled nice and I was very impressed by the amount of space. The kitchen area had everything we needed and it was very convenient to not have to walk down the hall for ice. The bathroom had a lot of space as well and I was happy to see a fair amount of towels in the bathroom. Although in order to have new sheets/towels you must switch them at the front desk, the front desk clerk was helpful with doing so. We were able to get a late checkout and overall the price per night is more than worth what you get. Parking was always available and the exterior of the hotel was nice too. We are definitely planning on staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Greggfrom Dallas

Nice inexpensive hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our 2nd stay at this hotel. It was clean and nice both times. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel! Has fridge with ice maker, stove, etc.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Wonderful place. Will stay there again when going to Galveston and it's only about 15 or 20 minutes away.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Stay elsewhere

Posted Aug 26, 2014
This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The pillows were harder than rocks and so large we couldn't sleep comfortably. The bathroom looked like it was falling apart and the entire floor smelled foul. On top of this the staff called our room at 7:00am for something that could easily have waited until checkout. If you can find this place, don't stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katefrom Houston

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service and friendly staff. Wish they more days available that weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, OK

Like being at home

Posted Aug 18, 2014
My guest and I had a great experience staying in this hotel. We were given privacy (no house cleaning throughout the stay) and the kitchen came with all the essentials to make our own meals. The hotel staff was friendly and always helpful. I would strongly recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Garland, TX

Centrally Located

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay was fine, but when we checked in (reservations made with another couple), we asked for rooms together if possible. They gave us rooms together but failed to say that one of the rooms was for the handicapped. The shower was for someone in a wheelchair, certainly not for my husband who stands 6'1". I tolerated it because my husband didn't want to say anything and he geri-rigged the shower so we wouldn't have to stoop. If they couldn't have had two regular rooms together they should have said something.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brittneyfrom Houston

Awesome Stay, a Home away from Home

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Candlewood Suites has always been the perfect stay at. Last year we stayed in one, but in another city yet both were the same. We were satisfied with our stay here again celebrating our four year anniversary. The customer service was awesome, they treated us like royalty making sure we were helped or had what we needed. The hotel was beautiful for such a cheap price. Rooms were very spacious like we were in our own studio apartment. Very clean, & had all the supplies to the kitchen that we needed. Now if you're bringing a family make sure you do pack extra utensils & plates. Only thing is that the beds were not as comfortable. Overall we would definitely stay again when we plan another adventure to Galveston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Magdafrom Killeen, Texas

Great location!

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location if you are looking for an affordable stay close to the beach. For the price it was a lovely stay. Would definitely stay again.