Ratings based on 1,320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an update

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Excellent view of the beach and seawall. The property is in need of an update. The building could use some paint and a powerwash.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The view, location is the only good part. Rooms are old and dated. Common areas need a facelift.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom houston tx

weekend night

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: the room itself, the elevator
Location: walk the sea wall. go to restaurants in walking distance
The elevator took forever to make its way down, which is ridiculous for only having one for 4 floors. I called reception to tell them I needed someone to check the room since it smelled like smoke... noone ever came. Very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Nice older hotel close to the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Nice independant hotel
Cons: nothing
Location: Fantastic location at the beach
This hotel may be a bit older but it is very clean , updated etc . I am often traveling and these were some of the most comfortable beds I have seen in a good while . Also it is set up such that every room faces the beach . Another great thing is every room has a brick wall on each side , therefore you hear absolutely zero from the other rooms and that is VERY nice . And the cleanliness is nice , I have stayed in many brand hotels and after walking around the room a bit in my white athletic socks they turn black on the bottom , NOT the case with this hotel , so it is clean top to bottom
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

stop before the cruise

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: clean
Location: The whole city of Galveston, this hotel is facing the sea
Good place to sleep before to embark to Carnival cruise, you can leave the car at the hotel, good security, and the good thing, it cost 95.00 to park the car in the cruise parking. Why not to rest and visit Galveston for the same price. Good deal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Shawnee, KS

Great location!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Hotel is right across from a very nice beach and the pool is beautiful! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are dated, but in a kind of "shabby chic" way. I loved the brick walls. The breakfast was cereal, muffins, juice and coffee...that's it. My only real complaint is the matresses. They were extremely soft and sagged in the middle and REAlLLY need to be replaced. I stayed here one night before a cruise and it met my needs. I wouldn't stay here for a vacation in Galveston, but for one night it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Better Than You Think

Posted Feb 1, 2015
We were happy with the accomodations. It is an older hotel but that is ok, we would stay there again. You canot beat the view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas. TX

Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere. Great view

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Wonderful time. Beautiful location. Reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Montgomery, TX

Commodore On The Beach Review

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, location, close to lots of Galveston touristy activity. Charming brick walls. And the views from the balcony!
Cons: Microwave/frig, more luggage carts. Cushioned chairs in room to replace hard back; a dinette table and/or desk
Location: Pleasure Pier, the downtown Strand, many restaurants, beaches, Moody Gardens, etc.
Started a bit on wrong foot as the exterior in the back was not elegant and parking initially looked unsafe. And the staff had my reservation down for the wrong month (9/23-9/25) even though the Expedia reservation showed correctly as 1/23-1/25. I was able to show my confirmation so the staff quickly corrected the error with no extra charge consequence. Though surprised that some room amenities normally offered today in most hotels were not included (no frig, microwave, dinette table / desk, more breakfast food, etc), we decided for the price for the location that those were minor issues. The room was actually quaint/charming with the brick wall, and the view was gorgeous! Very clean also. Traffic a bit noisy, but no fault of the hotel. Bottom line, if you want luxury, this is not the place. But if wanting a good location and comfortable place at low cost with a stunning view, this is the place. After all, with so much to do in Galveston, one would not be spending a lot of time in the hotel room during his/her stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Run down and dirty

Posted Jan 21, 2015
There was hair on the toilet. There was hair in the sink and one of the bath towels was dirty. Place was in serious need of renovation.