Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beach front view, close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Security was very tight and the non smoking in site
Cons: Wi-fi, shower (water temperature changes in the middle of shower)
Location: Shopping, biking, strolling
Wow! Beautiful view from our room in the fourth floor. The patio sits right in front of the ocean. The room is well stocked with necessities, and very clean. I love how this hotel enforced non smoking in the site (there is a designated place to smoke), and the security is very tight. Two minor complaints: wi-fi was not stable (on-off most of the time), hot water comes in every few seconds in a warm water while showering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
If you're looking for a nice "beachlike" place to stay, this would be the one to go to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaumont Tx

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Very close to the beach. Helpful personnel. Enjoyed our stay and will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mabank Tx

Posted Jul 20, 2014
everyone was very friendly and helpful. room was perfect for what we needed and the view was awesome!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Waste of money

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The location was good
Cons: Enhance the Wi-Fi so it works! Benchmark against breakfasts of competitors. Provide better soundproofing.
Location: Beach Galveston Strand Moody Gardens
We agreed to an expensive hotel night due to a special occasion. However, we were disappointed with the experience. The Wi-Fi never worked. The front desk claimed that when there is bad weather the Wi-Fi can be spotty. But later when the sun was out it still didn't work. There was loud music that we could hear the entire time we were in the room (evening and morning). The breakfast didn't compare to that of competitors at similar prices. The size of the bathroom was extremely small, moreso that I have ever seen in any hotel that I have ever been in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheldon, IA

Galveston Vacation

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location was the best part of this hotel.
Cons: Mattresses were lumpy and terribly uncomfortable & fix the ice machines.
Location: Bike rentals, Pleasure Pier and many restaurants are all within walking distance. Beautiful beach is across the street.
The location of this hotel is perfect and the pool was clean. The beach across Seawall Blvd was super nice. Everything in the hotel was broken -- from ice machines to lights in our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st.louis

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: location
you look at room 222 shower drains /and shower pressure there 3 days droped off towels each day never did any thing else no toilet tissue never emptied trash or fixed beds
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 14, 2014
One of the worst hotels I have ever been to. We showed up for a late check in and the desk clerk was probably the rudest person I have ever met in my entire life. As I asked question about the hotel he would immediately cut me and off and tell me that if I would listen to his speech then my questions would be answered. This rubbed me the wrong way, he was not polite or helpful in anyway. Then the room was old, damp, and dark. The bathroom was dirty and worst of all the air conditioner could barely keep the room below 80 degrees. The included breakfast is really only cereal and milk. I had a horrible time at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The nearness to the beach and fine restaurants along with the great view makes this hotel a favorite.
Cons: Shower water pressure was low. Only one ice machine worked and people almost had to fight to get ice. This should be fixed immediately. Bad show.
Location: Walking distance to Gaidos restaurant. Fine beach just across the street. Could use a coffee maker in the room.
We chose the Commodore because we could get a 4th floor room with an open air balcony that gave a terriffic view of the Gulf and beaches. The balcony was small, just large enough for two people but offered fresh sea air and a fine sunrise and sunset. The full moon over the water was spectacular. Our experience was very enjoyable and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great location walking distance new pleasure pier

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, room, and view.
Cons: Could use more parking.
Location: Great location! Great view! Great restaurants within walking distance! Ten minutes from Historical Strand district, water park cruise ship area.
Good overall experience. Very convenient location right on the seawall. Nice size pool well maintained with plenty of lounge chairs.