Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across from beach.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Nice pool bar. Smelled good in the hotel lobby. Walking distance from shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Great staff, but conditions have gotten a bit worn

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Overall, the hotel was nice enough, but it has gotten a little worn in places. Doubletree has bought them and will do some reno in the off-season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Much improved

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, pool with bar, good views, gated parking lot.
Cons: Breakfast buffet is decent but could be improved.
Location: Right on the seawall, walking distance to beach.
We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years. This hotel used to be called the "holiday inn sunspree" but is now the "galveston beach resort." We actually had some bad experiences in the past with really rude hotel staff (when it was the sunspree). This most recent visit, however, it was all new staff and they were extremely friendly and accommodating. Our stay this time was great and we will stay there again. On a side note: it looked as though the hotel is changing its name and going through some updates in the next year. So next time we stay it may be under a new name again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Non guests allowed in hotel pool taking chairs which should be for hitel guests. Pool dirty near bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I would defiantly stay again

Posted Jun 24, 2014
This hotel clearly works hard to give its guest an amazing experience. They seem a little disorganized at times, but correct any issues in a timely fashion. Their staff is VERY nice and helpful. This hotel has been purchased by Marriott and will be one sometime in 2015. Not sure what that means, but from what I could see it will just get better. Hopefully they won't increase the price too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Dallas, TX

Overall Ok

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The pool and the swim up bar, and the employees were very nice and helpful
Cons: Only guests of the hotel can use the pool
Location: The beach is right across the street
The stay overall was great, the staff was excellent, we were on first floor which is the nicest even though there us no balcony there, the room had a musty smell upon entering and my only other negative complaint is they housekeeping didn't come daily to empty trash or make beds. The pool and bar was fabulous. I don't like the fact that the customers of the bar that are not residents could use the pool so it was overcrowded at times. I think there should be a wristband policy or something to use the pool. Even the employees stated the same thing.
1 out of 5
by john

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Over priced and dirty. Room smelled like a locker room. The suite was a small room with a wall put up. Smaller than most hotels regular rooms. Staff was not friendly at all. Definately not worth the price. Pick a different hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Bar and pool where excellent. The hotel rooms where in need of some repair. Room was not prepared properly. Missing towels and shower curtain. They are working on the problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. .Across from beach.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Nice hotel. Broken ice machine on our floor. Clean room comfortable beds. Would stay again. Enjoyed the balcony over looking the gulf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent hotel, great location, swim up bar the best

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: pool
Cons: rooms
Location: great location, right near the beach.
Everything was fine, the staff was friendly, the only complaint would be that the rooms need to be updated.