Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Rachel from Houston, TX

Unauthorized charges!!!! Stay away!!!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The pool, common areas, secured parking area, and location.
Cons: The staff and carpet.
Nice hotel but charged our credit card an extra $155.00 dollars upon departure. They did not tell us this or provide a receipt for us. We prepaid in full for our stay through Expedia. When I called the bank for other reasons I found out that we had 2 additional charges by Galveston Beach Hotel, that were obviously unauthorized. Drove back to hotel and spoke to managers, who said they credited my card back for the charges. The only problem was it was not my card that they credited. When I brought that to their attention, they had no explanation, other than to say it was the number provided by Expedia. I asked them to credit my card back for the unauthorized charges, but after an hour and a half of research, etc. the manager emerged with a gift card for a free nights stay. I thanked him, but reminded him that I didn't want a free stay...only my money back. He assured me he spoke to my bank personally and asked them to recredit my account. He couldn't provide me with a receipt for anything. I have stayed in many hotels and have always been given a receipt. It is still pending at this time, and according to my bank there has still been no credit to my account. I will be following up tomorrow. I feel that the hotel is trying to recuperate any discounts that customers receive by booking through Expedia. I do not trust this hotel and would not recommend this place to anyone. There are too many nice places on the island to stay that do not steal their customers money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ from mars

ksdjfhk

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Had a beautiful view of the the gulf, and nice beach across the street. Enjoyed opening the balcony door and letting the breeze come in the room. The pool looked nice, but the weather did not cooperate during our visit to use it. Comfortable accomodations, just an older hotel. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Nice staff, but they do need that remodel that there starting this summer. Great view and location
3 out of 5
by Cruisers from Chicago

Remodeled but tired

Posted Apr 6, 2014
We spent one night at the Galveston Beach Hotel after a cruise. Many of our fellow guests were off the same boat. Positives: Excellent location on Seawall Blvd within walking distance of many attractions. Room had balcony with ocean view. Decent pool area. Allowed late check-out (1 PM). Negatives: Hotel couldn't handle the incoming load of guests; despite a reservation weeks in advance we could not get into our room until after 4:30 PM. Hotel seemed a bit shabby despite recent upgrades. You are definitely paying for the location; don't expect anything beyond a Hampton Inn-type experience....oh, except you pay EXTRA for the breakfast here. We skipped it; there are super breakfast places around town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Location: Close to pleasure pier, nice beach right in front of hotel.
Nice hotel, great location, beyond great staff! Loved everything about the experience.
2 out of 5
by Karly from Wichita, KS

Nightmare on Seawall Blvd.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: At no point did I feel that it was unclean.
Cons: Staff training, in general. It's very obvious that staff turnover is high here. Soon, the hotel is changing names for the third time in five years.
Location: Pleasure Pier, Float Bar, and the beach is just across the street.
We booked this hotel to begin and end our cruise out of Galveston. We drove twelve hours to Galveston, and I called on our drive to make sure we could check in later than we'd anticipated. They "thought" they would have a room for us. When we arrived at 2 am, they didn't have a room. A boiler had blown, and they had to evacuate a few rooms. That may not have been their fault, but the place they sent us had to be the oldest and seediest hotel in Galveston. We had to be buzzed in the front door, if that is an indicator of the number of stars this place deserved. We were told that Galveston Beach Hotel was paying for our room that night and we'd be refunded. We weren't/still haven't been. Upon returning from our cruise, we checked in early. They had a room for us with a busted up door frame and faulty lock. It looked someone had recently took a crowbar to it. Thankfully, that was just our holding cell until our actual room was available. While we waited in that room, someone on staff tried to walk in because the room showed it was unoccupied. The staff, in general, has no idea where their guests are at any point during your stay. We walked down Seawall Blvd for a few drinks (It's farther than it seems.), and when we came back, they'd filled all the rooms like we'd reserved and put us in yet another room (after a ten minute conversation at the front desk). We paid in full through Expedia upon booking but the hotel charged us again. Frustrating all-around.
2 out of 5
by Drea from TX

Spring Break

Posted Mar 20, 2014
We stayed a few days for Spring Break and the days that we stayed, the hotel had no hot water. We booked with Expedia so the hotel felt they didn't have to compensate us. They finally agreed on an amount for reimbursement but after a week of waiting still have not received anything. As a matter if fact, they ended taking more $$ out and I had to call to get it put back on my card. I've called a few times and was told that they'd take card of it so I was waiting to see what they'd do and nothing. I just don't feel that they're good at their word and would definitely not recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by Mona from Houston

Nightmare in Galveston

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I made the reservation a month in advance as a gift for my brother. I paid for a room with 2 beds for he & his family. They arrived late, hotel gave his room away. They gave him a room with 1 bed. He asked for a rollaway, they said they only had 3 & those were already given out. He was miserable, kids were miserable. This cost nearly $500. What kind of management does this & doesn't try to make it up, apologize, comp a meal, something. Never again will any of our family reserve at this hotel. Thanks for making my brothers birthday a nightmare.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reservation not honored!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Made reservation 2 months in advance thru expedia and even with calling the hotel to inform them that we would be arriving late, they did not hold our room. After driving 6 hours, that was not the news we wanted to hear. They had completely sold out and admitted we were not the only ones this had happened to. Why do we bother making a reservation? Very unprofessional management staff. Do not recommend this hotel, because they don't honor reservations.
2 out of 5
by Marsha from Dallas, Tx

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: The view and the beds were very comfortable.
Cons: The owner needs to re-vamp the whole hotel.
Location: A ton of things to do in Galveston, the beach, the Stand, Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens, Pier 23 museums.
Upon arrival I could not check in since the hotel had no hot water and the rooms were not cleaned. Had to wait in town for a phone call. After checking in, The room was clean, the view from the balcony was amazing, but the TV did not work the phone did not work and two lights in the bathroom were out. I noticed a handful of screws on the vanity, puzzeled I realized there was no door on the bathroom. The daytime maintenance guy fixed the lights and I thought the TV, but when I turned it on again for the news, it did not work. Every day was a complaint about the TV and no door on the bathroom. Food in the cafe was cold and bland. Check out was quick, but the desk staff were cold and unfriendly.