Ratings based on 2,129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Great hotel! Nice pool with swim up bar. Comfy rooms and clean as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great weekend

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Love the pool and the pool bar and they have a live DJ
Wonderful weekend at the Hilton in Galveston. We stay there often and are never disappointed. The staff is great rooms are clean overall wonderful experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Republic, MO

Hotel conveniently located

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Cons: No available snacks to purchase except the restaurant on site. We were easily able to walk down to Krogers, but didnt really want to go out that late.
Location: Beach across the street, many restaurants available, Kroger located next to convention center, Pleasure Pier, beautiful landscaping
We stayed in a room with a view of the gulf and enjoyed the easy access to the beach. The room was excellent, as expected from Hilton.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel, but the staff really made it stand out

Posted Jul 28, 2015
All of the staff we ran into went outbof their way to help us, introduce themselves and let us know when they would be working over the next few days in case we needed further assistance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laredo,TX

Very convenient for beach access.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Our stay was okay but not great. Next time I'll stay closer to Pleasure Pier in a newer hotel. We could just never find the cold water in the shower. The coolest was warm water which felt hot on sunburned skin. Breakfast should be included with stay. I loved that the pool closed late. Housekeeping needs to vacuum and clean more thoroughly. My son ate chips and there was still crumbs on floor and table after we came back that evening. The glass on table was still smeared which obviously was not cleaned or wiped. When we checked in we were given the wrong room and we were all sweaty by the time we got to the right one because the hallways we had to walk thru were long and halls & elevators felt like there was no a/c. Then when we got our wristbands for the pool during check in my husband didn't get it since he was looking for parking. So when he finally went to the front desk they said he had already gotten it which he had not. Made me feel like if we were lying and they didn't believe us that he had not gotten it. U have to sign for towels at pool and return them if not they will be charged to ur room. That was crazy I had never experienced that before. Not convenient because then ur rushing to get it back to them on time. No employee will return them for u since u signed for them. U have to be the one to return them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice hotel, comfy beds and great pool!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Great location and nice pool!
Cons: DJ mixed in spanish music which didnt really fit the crowd, might suggest more of a beach/party mix.
Location: Right across from the beach, great views from our room and a nice breeze at the pool. Landrys was next door, we just walked over there for dinner.
we checked in last minute on Saturday night and were suprised to have a room available, we had planned a last minute trip for my bday. Room was very nice and comfortable. We spent the next day at the pool bar and had a blast. Weather was nice and it was a great crowd. DJ came out later and played music which was nice. Pool bar service was slow at first but then our waitress Kelly came outside and we never had to ask for anything. She pampered our group all day and even brought me out a small bday cake before we left. She was amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Great pool area bar and Eric, the bartender, was a blast.
Cons: Beds are seem to be of poor quality and uncomfortable. The A/C in the room did not cool the room.
Location: Lots of restaurants and grocery stores nearby. Close to beach but the beach water was brown. Not sure why?
Our initial check in clerk was not helpful. We had to wait 2 hours for check in and had to continue to request updates. The room was nice and clean but rather small. The bed were of poor quality and uncomfortable and the A/C did not cool the room. The housekeeping staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. We spend an afternoon and evening at the pool bar which was very relaxing and comfortable. Eric, the pool bartender, was very friendly and makes a mean Mai Tai. Overall this was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel across the street from the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Most important thing, the staff. They were smiling, helpful at all times. The faculties were clean, up to date and well organized for the traveler.
Cons: Only flaw, hot water was not hot enough?
Location: Walked the beach, walked the beach, and ate at nice places along the beach. Hilton is at just the place on the beach for resting and eating.
The one thing that stands out in my mind is how happy and helpful the staff at the Hilton in Galveston, Texas. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy. Always smiling and asking, "How can I help you?" Hotel itself was a dream. Great view of beach from just about anywhere in the place, awesome swimming pool, clean and clear water. A very nice bar for drinks of all kinds, and food , really something one would see in a Hollywood movie. Room was nice size and good layout. The room was modern and clean. All in all we had a great time, maybe the best vacation in 20 years, thanks to the staff of the Hilton.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

What, is this really a Hilton?

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Everything from check in to pool arm bands to beds, etc.
Location: Lots to do but not budget friendly. Download an "app" with credit info just to park? Everything a kid wants to do costs at least $20 per person.
Where has the Hilton Experience gone to? This Hilton in Galveston was a disappointment. Discounted weekday rates were too high for the "amenities". Our room was "not ready yet" at 4:00 pm for the 3:00 pm check-in. After driving 6 hours to get there we were told they would call us when the room was good to go. We had to stand around with our baggage in the crowded lobby because there was no other place to go to wait for the phone call Well, another half hour later with two small children in tow, we went back to desk and begged for a room. Finally got one. View was great and the best thing about our two night stay because we paid dearly for it. The beds left everything to be desired. Mattresses were well worn and uncomfortable. Pool was always crowded and no one keeping tabs on teenage children rough-housing. Forced to wear arm-bands for entry into the pool (entire stay), even though there was no one checking entry or activity in the pool. Definitely would not recommend this Hilton for relaxation or amenities. Go elsewhere unless you enjoy paying higher prices for less luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnaby, Canada

Mini Vacation

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff!!!
Cons: Better communication with the housekeepers as we went 2 days without our room being serviced .
Location: Beach and shopping
Arrived on the day of July 17 and as we were checking in , were greeted by Tristan the hotel manager. A lovely young lady who definitely took care of our needs. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and went out of her way to treat us like Kings. She recommended great bands to see on the friday night and the BEST restaurant on Galveston is right next door called "Landry's". The food is unbelievable. The hotel is a moderate size and has all the amenities you need. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.