Ratings based on 1,048 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Good service, but various issues with the room

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Customer service Cafe in the Park - food, breakfast buffet, exceptionally good server - we had Jessy serving us twice & he was an exceptionally good!
Cons: Check on some basic room functions (eg toilet flushing, bathroom water draining properly, TV shows all channels) prior to guests checking in?
Location: Moody Gardens - we were there in early January, so they had the special exhibitions (Ice Land, Festival of Lights) & they were great.
I had my in-laws visiting from overseas, so booked 2 joining rooms for a one night stay on Jan 2, 2015. The good: friendly front desk staff who helped with an earlier check-in & also on purchase of tickets for near-by attractions in Moody Gardens. The bad: the room appeared to be comfortable, but our rooms had various issues. a) toilet did not flush (called maintenance staff & they fixed it quickly) b) TV did not show all of the listed channels (called the maintenance team yet again & they had to re-set the receiver to fix the issue) c) after coming back to the hotel around 9pm drenched in rain, sent the kids in first to take a shower, but then noticed the water in the tub was not draining well. I did not end up calling maintenance team for the 3rd time as we were tired & wet from rain. But it wasn't a great feeling taking a shower whilst the water was touching my ankles. The best: I would like to make a special commendation on the "Cafe in the Park" restaurant within the hotel, especially on our server, Jessy, who was our server for both lunch on Friday afternoon & breakfast on Saturday morning. He was the most professional & courteous server that I have ever come across and he made you feel as if you were dining in a very fine establishment. Jessy strikes a fine balance of being attentive but also not being too obtrusive. He made the whole dining experience an absolute pleasure & was the highlight of our family's first stay in Moody Gardens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Make sure the floors are completely cleaned before guest arrival. Food too expensive for what you get.
Enjoyed the closeness to everything, and the room was nice for the sale price. Things for the kids to do was a plus. = -pool, activities, s'mores.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by GarvinGeneralManager, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, We are excited to read that you were able to take advantage of our sale price and found your room to be nice. It is pleasing to hear that you consider the Kids Crew activities a plus. Your feedback is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to Moody Gardens in the future. Sincerely, Dawn Griego Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Good location. Beds were comfy and fairly clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by GarvinGeneralManager, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review about your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moody Gardens soon. Sincerely, Dawn Griego Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Winter Wonderland Experience

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Been there numerous times before
Cons: Nothing
Location: Went to Bubba Gump Shrimp for lunch on Sunday
Took the grand-kids for one night get-away to see the Christmas theme and we had a BLAST! The hotel has been remodeled since my last visit and is beautiful! The staff very friendly and courteous. Although it was dreary weather on the night we were there, we still very much enjoyed the Festival of Lights on Sunday evening. We went to the Iceland exhibit on Monday and LOVED it!!! It was so very beautiful1 Would of stayed there much longer had one of the kids remembered their gloves. We will definitely go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Nice holiday vacation for Christmas with the kids

Posted Dec 27, 2014
We live in Houston. This was a Nice getaway for those with kids who don't want to travel too far from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sugar Land, TX

Excellent hotel to spend Christmas Eve

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The large size of the room and comfortable beds, the location and view.
Cons: Can't think of anything right now.
Location: Good location with lots to do.
We spent Christmas Eve at Moody Gvardens, ate the Garden Restaurant buffet which was wonderful, and enjoyed the festival of lights show which was beautiful. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed our stay very much and would do it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Nice hotel. I enjoyed the free family holiday activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom South Louisiana

Good Hotel. Shearns worth price.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Convenient to attractions. Parking for Hotel Guests in South Lot was very good and close and kept us segregated from all the traffic going to Festival
Cons: The smell around the elevators. And the speed of hotel check in
Location: Rain Forest Pyramid very nice.
Very expensive....but worth for easy stay. The bar is very pricey, but the service is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Katy, TX

Great hotel near moody gardens.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
We stayed at this hotel while visiting the Lights Festival and Iceland during the holidays. Hotel was great as well as the staff. Since we have 2 small kids it was ideal after a long walk through the lights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Perfect!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Friendly hotel staff! Ice sculpture exhibit completely worth it! Take gloves and hats! Hotel is nicely decorated for Christmas- the kids absolutely loved it all!