Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Light Sleepers!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Two reasons for staying Red Roof Inn: PET FRIENDLY-which was paramount for us and its proximity to Galveston Convention Center. Outstanding for both!
Cons: Breakfast selections were poor unless you enjoy waffles, cereal, bagels and other lite fare. We were really hoping for something more substantial.
Location: The location is outstanding with many attractions nearby! We were in town to attend an event at the convention center which was two doors down.
Friendly staff to greet you. Check-in was a breeze. The room was clean and comfortable. Evidently management has taken the time to read previous reviews, because most of the negative things mentioned seemed to have been addressed. The OK rating I have assigned the motel is because of something pretty much out of their control. It's simply too noisy for light sleepers! The first morning I was startled at 5:00 a.m. by the LOUD/obnoxious sound of the radio alarm playing (half song/half static) in the unoccupied room next to us. After enduring the noise for over an hour, I went to the lobby to report the problem. The desk clerk apologized and offered to turn it off when he was relieved by the next person coming on duty (which he did shortly before 7:00 a.m.) Our second sleep was interrupted around 1:00 a.m. by a loud banging on our door. Evidently someone from a group of young men was staying in a room two doors down from us, and they obviously had the wrong room. Afterwards they stood talking and laughing on the balcony outside our room. The voices carried so well, they might as well have been in the room with us. Thirty minutes later my husband called out to them to please go to bed, that others were trying to sleep, which thankfully they did. Our third night's rest was disturbed around midnight by a car alarm sounding/stopping/sounding/stopping/sounding/stopping. I opened our door to be certain it wasn't our alarm and was met by several other disturbed guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom baytown, tx

Last minute. Great rate.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Made last minute reservations for the bike rally. Definitely best on the island for the low rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel that happens to have a great view.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The mattress was great, location was awesome and accessibility off 61st street made this hotel even better...Plus you can't beat the views.
Cons: Needs better shampoo option, opening little packets of shampoo in the shower is just not classy and could be easily upgraded for cheap.
Overall, price point, you can't beat for the sea wall. The hotel wasn't horrible it was ok actually. Problems with the staffing and check in but it was a hiccup that ended up getting resolved. For the price, I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal by any means, however what it lacked in charm made up for in efficiency. The best part of the hotel was that comfort of the bed. I was expecting the worst night sleep ever, instead I was pleasantly surprised. If your looking for a god place to stay over night, and a place to stay on a budget I would definitely recommend this hotel. It also doesn't hurt waking up in the morning to the ocean outside your front door either. Would I stay here again, I'd say probably so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san antonio, tx

walking distance to restaurants

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: convience
Cons: Better cleaning and disinfecting of the sink and bathroom area and better smelling bed sheets
Stayed at this hotel with friends for the LoneStar Biker Rally 2014. Staff is friendly and helpful. Had a few conversations with some of the staff and they provided good information on upcoming events. Our room was clean although the sink and tub could use a little bit more effort in cleaning. The beds and pillows were comfortable although the sheets didn't smell as fresh as I thought they should. We were looking for the "Do not Disturb" sign to hang on the outside of the door handle because we don't like the cleaning staff to go inside for service. We can manage on our own but u have to let them know that u do not want service. We had some trouble with the ac not cooling enough. The room was sort of stuffy and warm although it was mild temperature outside in the high 60's. Also when you check out be sure to let them know that you did not use the safe that is provided in the room for you so you can get reimbursed. That charge is added to your bill at the time of check-in. So get reimbursed. Breakfast is ok but don't expect sausage, scrabble eggs or pancakes. overall I give it a ok rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kingwood, TX

Galveston Bike Rally

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Close to the water, grounds were clean and staff was friendly.
Cons: Colder A/C and a coffee pot.
Location: Close the water, Moody Gardens, restaurants and Pleasure Pier.
Overall the staff was courteous and efficient. It my fault that I did not double check after booking that we got a smoking room instead of a NON smoking room. The air conditioner didn't blow real cold, but it was a cool evening so we were adequately comfortable. I wish though that we had a coffee pot and coffee in the room instead of having to go downstairs to the lobby. Check in and check out was very smooth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rally weekend

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Four people staying in a room were given one washcloth and two bath towels. Wee had to kill cockroaches both nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for what we needed. Good location !

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Nice place to stay before cruise!! Close to everything you might need!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach.... It is right across the street

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location. You could not see the water from our room but you just had to walk across the street.
Cons: Air freshener in the smoking room.
We were stuck with a smoking room,it sort or smelled like a ashtray. Our room was a bit on the dark side. Looked like they put the smoking rooms in an area with something blocking the window. All in all it was ok and a good value for the price we paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Galveston

Loud neighbors and a dirty bathroom!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pick somewhere else. The room was dirty and the bed leaned to one side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Best hotel for Oni that both doesnt break the bank

Posted Nov 4, 2014
This was a hotel I chose for Onicon based on proximity and costs. The San Luis would destroy my bank but this one is close enough.