Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2014
When we arrived at the hotel after a 4 hr drive we were informed the elevator was broken. We had reserved two rooms and both were on upper floors. I was with my 89 yr old mom in a wheelchair and my husband who has bad back and knee replacement. No attempt was made to contact us or find us another hotel. We were told to call Expedia. We did get a room next door at the Quality Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Castroville, Tx

Posted Dec 13, 2014
I had to add an extra night last minute and was going to have to check out and then check back in again. The front dest staff automatically checked me in in the morning so I did not have to pack everything up and then unpack again that night. This was extreamlly helpful due to the fact that I was spending all day in a workshop. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick trip

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: More items on breakfast menu
Location: Good location
We were there only one night. Location was good to beach and staff pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Budget hotel Pet ok!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Cons: More towels in the room. There were 2 towels and 2 wash rags in the room. i would have prefered 1 more for the floor.
Location: Tortugas mexican restarant and kroger next door and right across the street from the beach.
This hotel is good for the price. No extra charge for your pet which is why i booked it. i will definately stay here again if i am bringing my dog with me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma City, OK

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: close to the beach and clean friendly staff
Cons: a better breakfast more towels
The room was clean. We enjoyed the pool. They could put more towels in the rooms. The breakfast leaves a lot to be desired .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Horrible....No elevator No hot water Asked for bath towels; hand towels were delivered.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Air conditions did not work moved to another room. I have stayed here before under diiferent change. The continental breakfast was not like the last time next time I will pay more for a room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Light Sleepers!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Two reasons for staying Red Roof Inn: PET FRIENDLY-which was paramount for us and its proximity to Galveston Convention Center. Outstanding for both!
Cons: Breakfast selections were poor unless you enjoy waffles, cereal, bagels and other lite fare. We were really hoping for something more substantial.
Location: The location is outstanding with many attractions nearby! We were in town to attend an event at the convention center which was two doors down.
Friendly staff to greet you. Check-in was a breeze. The room was clean and comfortable. Evidently management has taken the time to read previous reviews, because most of the negative things mentioned seemed to have been addressed. The OK rating I have assigned the motel is because of something pretty much out of their control. It's simply too noisy for light sleepers! The first morning I was startled at 5:00 a.m. by the LOUD/obnoxious sound of the radio alarm playing (half song/half static) in the unoccupied room next to us. After enduring the noise for over an hour, I went to the lobby to report the problem. The desk clerk apologized and offered to turn it off when he was relieved by the next person coming on duty (which he did shortly before 7:00 a.m.) Our second sleep was interrupted around 1:00 a.m. by a loud banging on our door. Evidently someone from a group of young men was staying in a room two doors down from us, and they obviously had the wrong room. Afterwards they stood talking and laughing on the balcony outside our room. The voices carried so well, they might as well have been in the room with us. Thirty minutes later my husband called out to them to please go to bed, that others were trying to sleep, which thankfully they did. Our third night's rest was disturbed around midnight by a car alarm sounding/stopping/sounding/stopping/sounding/stopping. I opened our door to be certain it wasn't our alarm and was met by several other disturbed guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom baytown, tx

Last minute. Great rate.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Made last minute reservations for the bike rally. Definitely best on the island for the low rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel that happens to have a great view.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: The mattress was great, location was awesome and accessibility off 61st street made this hotel even better...Plus you can't beat the views.
Cons: Needs better shampoo option, opening little packets of shampoo in the shower is just not classy and could be easily upgraded for cheap.
Overall, price point, you can't beat for the sea wall. The hotel wasn't horrible it was ok actually. Problems with the staffing and check in but it was a hiccup that ended up getting resolved. For the price, I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal by any means, however what it lacked in charm made up for in efficiency. The best part of the hotel was that comfort of the bed. I was expecting the worst night sleep ever, instead I was pleasantly surprised. If your looking for a god place to stay over night, and a place to stay on a budget I would definitely recommend this hotel. It also doesn't hurt waking up in the morning to the ocean outside your front door either. Would I stay here again, I'd say probably so.