Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Horrible under construction

Posted Jan 24, 2015
My boyfriend flew in from Finland and I talked him into going to Galveston to stay at this resort because of all the wonderful things I heard and the weather was going to be beautiful. I did not realize they were under construction and they never mentioned it the two times I called them before going. Check In went terrible they were supposed to call us when a room was ready but after an hour of waiting I went to ask them and they said oh yes we have a room. We then told them we needed his nice suit dry cleaned and they proceeded to stuff it into a plastic laundry bag and wrote dry clean in black marker. We then got to the room and even though I had furthest from the elevator in the notes they put us directly across from it. We told them at the desk to bring our bags and a refrigerator to our room which they forgot and we had to call to remind them. Then things got worse!!! We woke up to a beautiful sunrise over the ocean and shortly after the grinding on the pool concrete began. On the 14th floor with the door closed it was loud. This went on all day and the next and we never got to use the heated pool or swim up bar that is one of the main attractions. Hard to look at a nice pool on a beautiful day on vacation and not get to use it. We went to their version of a gym and it was smaller than some home gyms. The director of rooms spoke with my boyfriend on Tuesday he really tried to make things better. Could not make up for our ruined vacation but he was the only good thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Upgrade to the tenth floor

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Club 10
Cons: next door neighbors were LOUD but a quick complaint and security immediately "spoke to them"
IF you do not have kids...Move to the second floor. We had a great room on floor 12, but after the kids running up and down the floor, we found out about Club 10. It was well worth the upgrade price and with free breakfast it was a wash...comfortable, nicer rooms and furnishings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Love the location close to everything we needed

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Parking
Had a good stay, will visit again and loved the location in front of the beach. Great holiday décor was wonderful for the whole family to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indianapolis

hard to beat

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: all amenities were covered.
Location: across from the beach. and close to additional excellent food choices
We've stayed at some nice places (hotel del Coronado, belagio, westin,etc...) the best hotel/resort we've ever been in. although far from home, may go there for a week just to stay there. food superb, huge pool with bar heated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very posh, right at the beach, near the Strand.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Near the beach & the Strand.
Cons: Our bathroom was quite small, like a closet, and the commode was small & very low (like a child's). However, the other bathroom facilities were nice.
Spent the weekend there. Accommodating staff. Near many places to eat & see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Top of the line.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Angelo entertains at the piano bar in the steakhouse. A huge asset to the experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom katy texas

Beautiful hotel but stuffy room

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Our family stayed overnight just to take a break. It was absolutely beautiful. Our son enjoyed the heated pool. Room service was stellar. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. However our room got stuffy at night time, and the heating system was super loud when he kicked on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Great view

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Our room floor was damp by the patio door like someone left it open during the rain so the room smelled moldy, bathroom needs some updating. The staff view and location are all great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice beachfront view

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Great service, clean rooms and good food. The entrance was delightfully decorated for the holidays.
Location: Located on the sea wall, there are plenty of nearby restaurants and entertaining places to go.
We were impressed with everyone who worked at the San Luis. They were all friendly and genuinely wanted to please the guests. The hotel was very clean. We ate at Blake's Bistro and the Grotto. Both had impeccable service and, especially with the Grotto, served food that demonstrated that the chef and kitchen staff knew what they were doing. Our room was nice and clean. We were on the 9th floor and experienced no noise problems. We appreciated the private balcony but the cold weather limited that. Valet parking while pricey was excellent. The weather was uncooperative during our stay, but that's winter in Texas. We really hope to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Very nice property, fantastic views and amazing amenities.