Ratings based on 1,183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Loved this resort. The staff was always helpful and courteous. The grounds were immaculate. We chose the San Luis for the swim up bar, the balconies and the tennis court. We were extremely pleased with everything, but the tennis court. The court needs some serious work.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Houston, TX

Decent hotel on seawall

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: attentive staff, clean
Cons: weak expensive drinks, small gym, over priced, dated rooms
Location: shopping, beach, dining
This was my first time to stay at the San Luis. The hotel was decent overall. The good parts: clean, attentive staff, great location and a fun pool area. The not so good parts: Cost for what you get, hotel gym was very small and had minimal weights, the room we stayed in was very dated. This is always evident to me by the height of the bathroom vanity and the height of the shower head. I am only 6'1", but I had to duck down a lot to get my head under the flow of water. The pool was fun, but get there early because the chairs with yellow towels on them are "reserved" by people who haven't sat in them since they got down to the pool in the morning. We kept an eye out for people leaving and managed to beat another couple to a couple of chairs opening up. You would think they could come up with a better method than that. The hotel restaurant is just Grotto and there are much better places on the island to eat. Check some of the other restaurant review sites for those. Last note, take a pocket flask if you like mixed drinks because the hotel makes their drinks very weak and they are very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and nice pool area

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Would definatly come back. Hotel staff was great. Pool was very nice. Great evening at the h2o bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston tx.

Great Pool

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Heated Pool, not too deep for kids
Cons: I would of liked the staff to be more caring of my needs.
Location: Good location
Great pool, open late. Hotel staff was ok, bar staff was good. Drinks are pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick getaway.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
My husband & I really enjoyed our stay at The San Luis. The hotel and pool are beautiful. I especially enjoyed the private balcony. Even though we booked a Standard King room, it was quite large and very well-appointed. The only drawback was the super loud music at the pool on Sunday afternoon. Overall, the hotel is great and I will be back before summer ends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Galveston

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Best hotel in Galveston! Loved the room, the pool and the staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staycation

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Fun, fun, fun
Cons: Breakfast waitstaff
Steakhouse was the best. We are Vegans and were accommodated with a beautiful meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Balcony/over view the pool area.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, and great staff.
Cons: Can't think of improvement.
Location: ? stay at the resort and enjoy everything -even got a massage.
Awesome food & drinks. Staff was very nice. My room was on the 11th floor, awesome view of the beach.
2 out of 5
by Leah from Dallas, Texas

Subpar Quality

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The lobby, the pool area and entrance is very nicely done.
Cons: An upgrade on the rooms.
Location: Location and things near by are good. No changes there.
First of all, I was ridiculed by my friends and colleagues about the price that I was paying for a one night stay at this hotel for a king bedroom. But hey, it was my 2nd year wedding anniversary and I wanted it to be perfect. I could not complain while at the hotel because I did not want my husband to be upset with me that I paid so much for one night at a hotel. Well I would have to say that I paid that price for the view, but the actual quality of the room was along the star quality of a Howard Johnson or Red Roof Inn. The bathroom had mildew in between the grout, the water pressure was horrible in the shower, The sheets and I assume the duvet were just blah and did not feel nor smell comfortable and the decorations were below expectation. The next night we had a reservation in a hotel in Houston that was almost 4 times cheaper than this room and it overly exceeded the quality of this room in cleanliness, upgrades, and decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class resort

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This is the best resort on Galveston Island. Everything from room to restaurants were outstanding. This should be your only choice on the island.