Ratings based on 1,188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Longtime visitors of San Luis

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: We have been coming to the San Luis since it was built. Love the location and amenities. Also like the "upscale", modern feel.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be better. Maybe a sign or something to tell about the concrete bunker. I love the history of the location.
Location: Great location near Convention Center. It's right in the center of the seawall, close to everything. It's easy for us to get to coming in on I 45.
Our 1st visit since "IKE"; hotel has been redone beautifully. Staff was great. Room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the pool! Restaurants were superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Best in town

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Awesome caring staff! Excellent atmosphere. I felt like I was at a resort anywhere in the Caribbean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broussard, La.

CLOSE TO THE MOODY GARDENS, THE STRAND, BEACH.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent - well trained and friendly. The pool and grounds is inviting - very well maintained. The dinner in the Grotto room was great.
Cons: Dinner at the Landry's was a great disappointment. Service was bad and the food not much better. Would not recommend this to anyone.
Location: Moody Gardens is always a great experience - the strand is for shoppers and lookers. not much they can do about the sea weed on the beach.
Great until check out - Expedia had charged me $595 for the 2 night stay. San Luis charged $194 per night for the same room. On checking out my total bill was $564 with meals and drinks - I brought up the fact that Expedia had already charged me the $595 for the room - the young man said they would take care of it with Expedia and apparently they did as I have checked my credit card account and the $564 charge had been credited back. On Galveston Island the room was a $200 room and not any more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Resort style hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Our stay was wonderful: our room was comfortable and beautiful, the pool is amazing, and food and drinks were plenty and yummy: we had a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with the best pool in town

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great time had by all. My second time here. Son enjoyed the pool as did I, close to places we wanted to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Loved this resort. The staff was always helpful and courteous. The grounds were immaculate. We chose the San Luis for the swim up bar, the balconies and the tennis court. We were extremely pleased with everything, but the tennis court. The court needs some serious work.
3 out of 5
by Mike from Houston, TX

Decent hotel on seawall

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: attentive staff, clean
Cons: weak expensive drinks, small gym, over priced, dated rooms
Location: shopping, beach, dining
This was my first time to stay at the San Luis. The hotel was decent overall. The good parts: clean, attentive staff, great location and a fun pool area. The not so good parts: Cost for what you get, hotel gym was very small and had minimal weights, the room we stayed in was very dated. This is always evident to me by the height of the bathroom vanity and the height of the shower head. I am only 6'1", but I had to duck down a lot to get my head under the flow of water. The pool was fun, but get there early because the chairs with yellow towels on them are "reserved" by people who haven't sat in them since they got down to the pool in the morning. We kept an eye out for people leaving and managed to beat another couple to a couple of chairs opening up. You would think they could come up with a better method than that. The hotel restaurant is just Grotto and there are much better places on the island to eat. Check some of the other restaurant review sites for those. Last note, take a pocket flask if you like mixed drinks because the hotel makes their drinks very weak and they are very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and nice pool area

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Would definatly come back. Hotel staff was great. Pool was very nice. Great evening at the h2o bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston tx.

Great Pool

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Heated Pool, not too deep for kids
Cons: I would of liked the staff to be more caring of my needs.
Location: Good location
Great pool, open late. Hotel staff was ok, bar staff was good. Drinks are pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick getaway.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
My husband & I really enjoyed our stay at The San Luis. The hotel and pool are beautiful. I especially enjoyed the private balcony. Even though we booked a Standard King room, it was quite large and very well-appointed. The only drawback was the super loud music at the pool on Sunday afternoon. Overall, the hotel is great and I will be back before summer ends.