Ratings based on 1,478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Not worth it.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The balcony and the view of the ocean. The staff in the restaurant and bar area are efficient and friendly.
Cons: The condition of the rooms. Customer Service at the main lobby desk.
Location: Galveston is an island full of events, venues, history, art, and restaurants. Sometimes it's crowded, but well-equipped to handle the crowds.
This was our second stay at the San Luis Resort. The balcony and the view of the Ocean are nice, but during our first stay we were a little disappointed with the size and condition of the room. We still wanted to try them again so this time we booked a VIP level room. When we arrived we were put in a "premium" room, which is a step down from the room we had booked and paid for. When we asked about this we were told that Expedia had oversold the VIP rooms. This was not true, I know this for a fact because I directly checked the San Luis site to compare prices and the VIP rooms were listed as available on their own website. We were told the best they could do was offer us breakfast vouchers for a continental breakfast. So we stayed in the room they gave us and were once again disappointed. The AC did not function well, so the room was hot and the faucet handle in the bathroom was broken. It's not a horrible hotel, the rooms are okay, but for what you pay for a room at the San Luis, you could get an equal or better room at several hotels in Galveston. It's not worth it, this second try will be our last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I went to Galveston with my daughter for a quick overnight trip to the beach I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel was the pool bar and the staff was excellent I would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tx

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay in the family friendly hotel would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Luis was a nice hotel - 20 years ago

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros - The grounds, lobby, restaurants, pool area are immaculate. Parking is a breeze. Location is perfect. The entire staff are some of the nicest people we have ever encountered on a vacation - they alone, make up for much of the cons below. Cons - The professionalism of the resort ends at the elevator. The common areas on the floors are 80's decor and really beat up. We had a "Premium" room. I'm not sure what the Premium designation was for. First, it was dirty. Whoever mops the bathroom never makes it to the corners - there was dirt build up. The two sinks both dripped. The stopper in the shower was broken and laying in the tub. The hook on the bathroom door was broken. The hair dryer was filthy. The marble counter tops have not been sealed in years so they are dirty and rough. To make coffee, you have to stretch the cord over the sink - just not a good layout. For a hotel that bills itself as a 4 diamond AAA hotel, it is missing the mark - a long way. Here is my petty complaint. Two bottles of water are in the room - this seems pretty common in hotels today. However, whether you are staying one day, or three, that's all you get. Two bottles of water for three days. Water bottles must be a hot commodity at San Luis because when I asked how much to rent a cabana at the pool, I was told "$500 - but that comes with 6 bottles of water!"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom p

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Great food great service. Lots and lots of fun!!! Great fun for kids adults everyone!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Acoss from the beach hotel was alright

Posted Mar 21, 2015
To many hidden fees just take a credit card your out 80 bucks a day like you can't take care of your needs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Best full-service beachfront hotel on the coast

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Literally everything.
Cons: The price, but, on the other hand, I felt it was worth the money. Certainly a better value than other $190-$250 a night hotels on Galveston Island.
Location: Everything you need is within walking distance. The Pleasure Pier and Moody Gardens ar within a 10 minute drive in heavy traffic.
Stayed March 12-14. From check-in to check-out, the room, food, and service was beyond reproach. The heated pool was a very pleasant surprise in sub 70 degree temps, as was the swim up bar. As a frequent business traveler, this island hotel ranks among the top I've stayed anywhere from Kaanapali Beach to Key West.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Spring Break!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The hotel & staff were great! Even though it rained they had several activities for the kids & a heated pool was a plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Customer service at its finest!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Staff, pool, food, amenities. Everything! You will not need to leave the resort....everything you could want on your vacation/getaway is there!
Cons: The rooms need an update in decor and bedding. They aren't bad or uncomfortable, just a tad outdated.
Location: Pleasure Pier (amusement park), fishing piers all around for nearby fishing, the ocean across the street, family bicycle rentals....
I've never seen an establishment so committed to excellent customer service, resolving problems and ensuring the guest is happy and feels welcome. You truly have to experience it to believe it. The pool area is a never-ending party and feels like a tropical Las Vegas experience by the sea! We had a BLAST! Food is delicious, staff is incredibly friendly, professional and truly make you feel so welcome....everyone from the valet to hotel maintenance. They remember your name as well. So impressed with the entire resort staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Lavaca, TX

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Loved the resort, only complaint I have is that expedia overbooked and my kids had to sleep on air mattresses. Other than that, we liked the room, heated pool and restaurants.