Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Hotel has all rooms with gulf facing balcony.

Posted May 2, 2015
Excellent child friendly pool and beautiful resort like surrounding and gulf view .Having seen it so many times thought like spending a night there- only 55 miles from my home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Very nice experience. The hotel staff are extremely friendly and the location of the hotel is very nice with views of the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Hotel stay

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Cons: Courtesy and some rooms need updating
Location: The beach here is pretty nasty and wouldn't have felt safe walking on it at night.
I was traveling with 2 other families and we all requested early check in. Everyone got in early except me and staff seemed bothered that we made the request . My room was extremely outdated with PVC pipes hanging under the bathroom sink very visible. Countertop totally old, vanity and walls very dated. Tub appeared to have some stains. Other rooms I saw weren't as old looking. Ordered food at the pool and took forever. Had to wait sometime for silverware and salad dressing after food was delivered. Expected a little more for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nickel and dimed

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The view of the beach.
For what was paid for the hotel, more was expected. On top of the initial fee, pool and refrigerator use were extra. The door to the bathroom was so poorly framed, it would hardly close, and the drain plug on the tub did not work. It was prom night at the hotel, and the lobby was literally full of puking teenagers and police. A better stay could have been had at a La Quinta. This hotel is not worth what is charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Wonderful experience every time!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My husband and I always enjoy our stay at this resort. The property is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. We love the steakhouse. Great food, great bar, and great service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

No pool

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Cons: To let people know what's going on in the Hotel when booking.
One of the Best hotels in Galveston with many atractions and luxuries fail terrible the week that I staid there with Family. The best swimmingpool (better than been on the beach) was under repair. So no fun at all. Waisted of taime and money.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Not worth it.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: The balcony and the view of the ocean. The staff in the restaurant and bar area are efficient and friendly.
Cons: The condition of the rooms. Customer Service at the main lobby desk.
Location: Galveston is an island full of events, venues, history, art, and restaurants. Sometimes it's crowded, but well-equipped to handle the crowds.
This was our second stay at the San Luis Resort. The balcony and the view of the Ocean are nice, but during our first stay we were a little disappointed with the size and condition of the room. We still wanted to try them again so this time we booked a VIP level room. When we arrived we were put in a "premium" room, which is a step down from the room we had booked and paid for. When we asked about this we were told that Expedia had oversold the VIP rooms. This was not true, I know this for a fact because I directly checked the San Luis site to compare prices and the VIP rooms were listed as available on their own website. We were told the best they could do was offer us breakfast vouchers for a continental breakfast. So we stayed in the room they gave us and were once again disappointed. The AC did not function well, so the room was hot and the faucet handle in the bathroom was broken. It's not a horrible hotel, the rooms are okay, but for what you pay for a room at the San Luis, you could get an equal or better room at several hotels in Galveston. It's not worth it, this second try will be our last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
I went to Galveston with my daughter for a quick overnight trip to the beach I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel was the pool bar and the staff was excellent I would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tx

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Enjoyed our stay in the family friendly hotel would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Luis was a nice hotel - 20 years ago

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros - The grounds, lobby, restaurants, pool area are immaculate. Parking is a breeze. Location is perfect. The entire staff are some of the nicest people we have ever encountered on a vacation - they alone, make up for much of the cons below. Cons - The professionalism of the resort ends at the elevator. The common areas on the floors are 80's decor and really beat up. We had a "Premium" room. I'm not sure what the Premium designation was for. First, it was dirty. Whoever mops the bathroom never makes it to the corners - there was dirt build up. The two sinks both dripped. The stopper in the shower was broken and laying in the tub. The hook on the bathroom door was broken. The hair dryer was filthy. The marble counter tops have not been sealed in years so they are dirty and rough. To make coffee, you have to stretch the cord over the sink - just not a good layout. For a hotel that bills itself as a 4 diamond AAA hotel, it is missing the mark - a long way. Here is my petty complaint. Two bottles of water are in the room - this seems pretty common in hotels today. However, whether you are staying one day, or three, that's all you get. Two bottles of water for three days. Water bottles must be a hot commodity at San Luis because when I asked how much to rent a cabana at the pool, I was told "$500 - but that comes with 6 bottles of water!"