Ratings based on 1,275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Anniversary surprise. NOT!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
After paying $1000 after taxes, we checked in. Upon check in asked the concierge to surprise my wife with a rose and strawberries, the following night. They took all the information down and asked the occasion. I told them it was our 12 yr anniversary. He congratulated me and everything would be taken care of. So, I thought. They do offer a romance package, so coming up with the things was no problem at all. So to my surprise no rose and no strawberries. Happy Anniversary, sorry baby don't have anything special. So as we checked out I told them of the issue, they said oops. Do you want a free breakfast. NO, I want the special night I had planned back. So if you are going for a SPECIAL occasion, make plans ahead of time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston

shower issues

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: anemities and the fact that it's on the beach
Cons: plumbing and looking into details of rooms (paint, little mildew on ac vent, old carpet)
Plumbing needed major work so it made for an uncomfortable stay the two nights we were there. For the cost of the hotel, they needed improvement in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pool is very nice. Kid & adult friendly environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from beaumont

Nice place surrounded by all kinds of fun

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: room cleanliness
Location: everything is fun
good. room could be a little more detailed cleaning, but ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful hotel, but could improve on some things

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: the location on the seawall was great pool and bar area was fabulous They did have activities for children Friendly staff
Cons: Train the cleaning staff better and be consistent when restocking personal items. Put small refrigerators in room
Location: Pleasure Pier is close, 61st fishing pier is close, also close to multiple restaurants
The only complaints I have is not one time was my room cleaned the same way. Sometimes we got 1 coffee cup, sometimes 2. Some days we got shampoo, sometimes not. The cleaning staff wasn't consistent at all. Also for the price of the reservations per night a small fridge would have been nice. We went to Wal-Mart and got a Styrofoam cooler to keep our own beverages cold. The cost of the restaurants were way to expensive. Even in the café. We didn't eat at our hotel at all due to the cost. Otherwise, hotel is beautiful, very friendly and helpful staff and conveniently located on the seawall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cypress, tx

Perfect!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
..........Worth the money! Love this resort! Once you arrive, you will forget that you are actually in Galveston...it feels like a dream vacation. They have a great slide for all to enjoy along with two nice hot tubs! The pool has a full service swim up bar which is nice during the summer months. We enjoy this resort year round and recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shades @ the pool !!!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Everything is perfect but..... They need some shades at the pool area, cause after two days you need some place to hide from the sun!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sugar land

So Old needs updating

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Valet ignored us when we drove up. Pool was the best experience and Ken was the BEST. Food is very questionable. Especially the Steakhouse. Very disappointing. Maid service never cleaned our room first night. Forgot towels And did not bring in a roll away bed for the kids till we made serveral request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Longtime visitors of San Luis

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: We have been coming to the San Luis since it was built. Love the location and amenities. Also like the "upscale", modern feel.
Cons: Can't think of anything that could be better. Maybe a sign or something to tell about the concrete bunker. I love the history of the location.
Location: Great location near Convention Center. It's right in the center of the seawall, close to everything. It's easy for us to get to coming in on I 45.
Our 1st visit since "IKE"; hotel has been redone beautifully. Staff was great. Room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the pool! Restaurants were superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Best in town

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Awesome caring staff! Excellent atmosphere. I felt like I was at a resort anywhere in the Caribbean.