Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Comfortable, friendly staff wIth all amenities

Posted May 3, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean place, walking distance to all- beach, theatre, grocery, eateries. All that you look for in a vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

hotel was pleasant

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel is clean.
Cons: Somewhat noisy with children but not the fault of the hotel. A jacuzzi would be nice for relaxing in the evening snce the pool can be full.
Location: The hotel was isolated from the main attractions in Galveston. Restaurant or bar facilities not close or in walking distance from the facility.
The staff was polite and accommodating. The pool area was very comfortable but without a jacuzzi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by T.J. Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Dan We truly value your ofeed back and we apologize that we did not meetsome of your needs. Though your experience wasn't the best by your liking that you will continue to choose Marriott first when traveling! Thanks Dan!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Broken Arrow

Perfect to be away from the crowds!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staff, the hotel itself, and the room were excellent.
Cons: Make the pet fee refundable or cheaper than $50 per pet.
Location: This hotel is a little farther away from the swimming beach, but perfect because it is not as noisy as other ones.
This was perfect for us since we didn't want to be right off the beach too close to the crowded boulevard. Hotel, staff, and room were excellent. The only complaint I have is that I never actually saw anywhere that there was a pet fee. I brought my Yorkie and Morkie and was charged $100, non-refundable. Now I know why no one else brought their pets even though they are allowed there. They also had a wine tasting night in the lobby, but I didn't make it to the tasting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Strathmore, Alberta

Great hotel across from the sea wall

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Seemed new and modern and clean.
Cons: When the wind was strong, which was often, the bathroom fan made quite a racket.
Location: Hotel is at one end of the sea wall so a bit of a distance to other attractions and restaurants. Recommend Galveston's tree sculptures. Great beaches
Nice, clean room. Hotel staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Nice pool and fire pit area. Breakfast was your usual complimentary breakfast. Complimentary cookies and choice of beverage when we checked in. Room price was very attractive for a hotel across from the Galveston sea wall. Pet friendly. A bit of a surprise with the fee, 100.00, that included the pet fee and a cleaning fee, higher than most hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Check-in time. We had to wait until 4:30 to get into our room even tho they told us to come at 3:00. Also they could provide a nicer breakfast
Location: Close to beach but during our stay it was too cold to even walk on the beach
Overall the hotel was nice but unfortunately the weather was very cool and windy the whole week we were there but we can't blame the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Until my sister and my friend got in an argument everything was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Verona, Italy

Piacevole sorpresa

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Hotel dall'ottimo rapporto qualità/prezzo. Camere spaziose e sopratutto molto confortevoli e pulite. Colazione abbondante e molto apprezzato il fatto che durante il giorno ci fosse il caffe sempre a disposizione. Utilissimo il computer nella reception con stampante annessa a disposizione dei clienti, nel nostro caso abbiamo avuto un problema con l'apertura di un file pdf (biglietto aereo) e la ragazza alla reception ci ha subito risolto il problema.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

GREAT STAY!

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness & appearance
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Great location...along seawall. Nearby restaurants and stores less than 10 min away
I liked everything about this hotel, the room was very clean, comfortable bed. It made me feel as if I were at home. However....I would've rated this 5 stars if they would've had BETTER BREAKFAST. That's the downside to staying here. They don't even serve a complete breakfast and for the price you pay to stay, it should be better than what they offer. They only serve cereal, muffins, boiled eggs, & toast. I mean...what kind of breakfast is that???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jung

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom from small town usa

Bad experience from the time I walked in.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Staff not helpful and rude. Waited over 2 hours for rim to be clean then found unpleasant surprise in toilet. Bed gave me a back ache that won't stop. Breakfast was a joke. Kids were starving before we left the breakfast area. Won't be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Hank, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback as it gives a chance to improve on the service that all guests experience. I have met with the housekeeping department to ensure that your concerns are known. We have made adjustments and hope that you will stay at our hotel again when you return to Galveston Island.