Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, Tn

Nice hotel, close to beach

Posted Jun 11, 2015
We had a wonderful time here an the hotel made it so much better! The kitchen was fully equipped, the room was clean and up to date and the bed was super comfy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poteau Ok

Nice hotel

Posted May 29, 2015
Very nice hotel. No problems at all. Well kept with nice rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great place to stay in Galveston!

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: 1st & foremost: the staff. 2nd, the location.
Cons: No auto reset on thermostats. More pool towels.
Location: Close to great beaches for swimming; close to seawall fishing; close to Gaido's (best seafood in town).
We usually rent a condo further out on the west beach but couldn't get one for our last minute decision to go for the Memorial Day holiday weekend. We lucked out by getting room at the Towneplace Suites. It is literally one of the last hotels before venturing into the west beach, so it's not jam packed like so many other spots on the Seawall are. And our favorite spot on the beach was just a few minutes away. The staff is cheerful, friendly and super helpful. My only gripe is that the thermostat kept resetting itself, so our room kept getting cold (not a bad thing during the summer, but a trifle when you're walking in from a cool dip in the pool). All in all: great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Posted May 26, 2015
Hotel close to the seawall, a bit pricey but it was a holiday weekend. pool nice but awnings for some if the pool sofa area were missing. They mentioned they were out for cleaning. They should have got those back for such a busy time. All and all a good experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Problems with room

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The kitchenette
Cons: Better maintenance of rooms.
Location: It is a very quiet location. I was in Galveston for medical services at UTMB.
Initially, they tried to switch me to a two bedroom with one bath. I reminded her that I had called and verified my late arrival, and had been assured that my room would not be given away. I was given what I had reserved. One of the rooms air unit was broken and had to be replaced. It would have to wait until the following day for the maintenance to return for repair. They brought me a portable air unit and it was very loud and did not cool very well. It allowed me to see the temperature in my room, which was 85 degrees. Fold out couch was very old and broken, it had to be replaced as well. The first night was a struggle. I really felt like more should have been done to accommodate the situation. I was not offered to change rooms, or a switch of any kind. Way to expensive for these kind of issues. I should have been comped the night due to the issues. I did not ask for management, but I guess I should have been more assertive in order to receive the proper resolution. The staff was very nice, very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Good Hotel away from busy area

Posted May 18, 2015
Hotel is at the end of all the seawall attractions. Which is good because it was less noisy, but had to drive and pay for parking as opposed to just walking. My biggest complaint was the lack of mirrors in the room! We have teenage girls and they all needed to get ready at the same time, so the only mirrors were in the bathroom. It would have been great to have another mirror in the room itself to minimize the fight for the bathroom. But overall, good stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport

Nice quiet hotel

Posted May 11, 2015
This hotel was a little far away from everything but that was okay because it made it quiet. The only thing that I didn't appreciate about this hotel was the pool area was clean. There was a lot of bird droppings on the furniture. I understand there are a lot of birds but it would've been nice if every day they went out and cleaned off the furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable, friendly staff wIth all amenities

Posted May 3, 2015
Friendly staff, very clean place, walking distance to all- beach, theatre, grocery, eateries. All that you look for in a vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

hotel was pleasant

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The hotel is clean.
Cons: Somewhat noisy with children but not the fault of the hotel. A jacuzzi would be nice for relaxing in the evening snce the pool can be full.
Location: The hotel was isolated from the main attractions in Galveston. Restaurant or bar facilities not close or in walking distance from the facility.
The staff was polite and accommodating. The pool area was very comfortable but without a jacuzzi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2015 by T.J. Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Dan We truly value your ofeed back and we apologize that we did not meetsome of your needs. Though your experience wasn't the best by your liking that you will continue to choose Marriott first when traveling! Thanks Dan!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Larry from Dallas

Nice Place with Friendly Staff

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night. We found it was a nice location with a great staff. Lloyd the shuttle driver went above and beyond and even recommended a great seafood restaurant. The lady working the front desk was super friendly and helpful too. we will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by TJManager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give this amazing feedback we hope to see sometime in the near future! Thank you so much for staying with us!