Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Squire from England

Beautiful setting - lovely staff

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The attitude of the staff to everyone and the quality of the food. Nights in the bar to finish off were a big highlight.
Cons: After much discussion and thought, nothing.
Location: Clifden has great bars and restaurants but others are not too far away. Lowry's bar was best, in our opinion for Irish music.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location and the view from our bedroom was spectacular. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and most efficient. Breakfast was fabulous - all you could wish for, from full cooked to lighter varieties. Clifden is a small but busy town with some lovely bars and restaurants. All types of music with a leaning towards Irish, which we loved. The scenery is spectacular in the area and we highly recommend a visit to the Connemara National Park for some great walks and, again, very friendly helpful staff. After dinner, we would return to the hotel ( if not dining in ) and join the guests in the bar for a night of music, supplied by the very able variety of pianists for a sing-song. A great atmosphere, which is what you expect with the Irish!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kristina from Houston, TX

AMAZING

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The owners were amazing and such people pleasers that that alone would have made this stay phenomenal. The hotel itself was amazing. They were right there to assist us with our bags, dinner was wonderful, and breakfast was excellent. All that we encountered were pleasant and eager to help with anything that we needed. I would book this hotel again in an instant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Seattle,Washington

Fabulous hotel and staff. Treated us like royalty.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: We loved the location, the town of Clifden, the owner and staff and how much we laughed and sang while in their company. Not to mention the cuisine.
Cons: Maybe down pillows? My personal taste preference.
Location: The hotel is a five minute walk to Clifden and the delightful people who reside there. Lots of shopping, food and cheerful pubs.
My daughter Maresa and I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of my sister who had previously stayed. The hotel is beautiful, but also still quaint and friendly. The dining room is elegant and the food was wonderful. The lounge bar in the evening is incredibly fun and full of song and laughter. Jerry is delightful and Bryan, the hotelier is full of life, personality and a very talented musician. I can only wish that we will someday be lucky enough to go back! Thanks Bryan, Jerry and our lovely bartender Roger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Darren from Galway

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, enjoyed my stay and the entertainment in the evening!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robin R. from New Orleans, Louisiana

Must Meet Gilbert

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a wonderful time at Abbeyglen Castle Hotel. It is a real favorite with the locals which says a lot. Rates are extremely reasonable and the brothers who own it made you feel very welcome. If you go, you must meet Gilbert the resident parrot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JR from Dublin

Hotel full of character

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is full of charm and character. It's something a little different to the usual airport-style generic hotel. Its guests seem to return year after year, like they've discovered a secret gem. We booked a standard room which had a four poster bed, an open gas fire, a free standing bath as well as a separate shower and two sinks in the bathroom. Overall, the hotel could do with some new carpets etc but it sort of adds to the old-worldliness charm. The breakfast is very good. We went into town for dinner but were told by other guests that the food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonable. The bar was fairly lively on Saturday night with music and dancing. The crowd seemed to be aged 40+ and all out for a good laugh. You can walk to Clifden down a hill. It's less than half a mile away and the road is fairly dark but the area is very safe. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. We'll be back in the Summer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely stay Paul & Brian were brillant as usual. Only thing we are coffee drinker and they could do with investing in a good coffee machine. The days of the stewed coffee are well gone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from NH, USA

What Castle?

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Abbeyglen is more like a Manor than a castle even though it has some features of a castle. I have stayed at a castle in Ireland before (Dromuland Castle) and the Abbetglen was nothing like it except the price. If you want a castle experience don't go here. The people were nice, food was good and there were perks (tea time, champagne reception, nice dining) but overall the place needed work. (windows were dirty, rooms were dusty, shower water trickled, bedding old and did not quite match, etc). I wish you could have called it like it really was.