Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Squire from England

Beautiful setting - lovely staff

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: The attitude of the staff to everyone and the quality of the food. Nights in the bar to finish off were a big highlight.
Cons: After much discussion and thought, nothing.
Location: Clifden has great bars and restaurants but others are not too far away. Lowry's bar was best, in our opinion for Irish music.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location and the view from our bedroom was spectacular. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and most efficient. Breakfast was fabulous - all you could wish for, from full cooked to lighter varieties. Clifden is a small but busy town with some lovely bars and restaurants. All types of music with a leaning towards Irish, which we loved. The scenery is spectacular in the area and we highly recommend a visit to the Connemara National Park for some great walks and, again, very friendly helpful staff. After dinner, we would return to the hotel ( if not dining in ) and join the guests in the bar for a night of music, supplied by the very able variety of pianists for a sing-song. A great atmosphere, which is what you expect with the Irish!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Seattle,Washington

Fabulous hotel and staff. Treated us like royalty.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: We loved the location, the town of Clifden, the owner and staff and how much we laughed and sang while in their company. Not to mention the cuisine.
Cons: Maybe down pillows? My personal taste preference.
Location: The hotel is a five minute walk to Clifden and the delightful people who reside there. Lots of shopping, food and cheerful pubs.
My daughter Maresa and I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of my sister who had previously stayed. The hotel is beautiful, but also still quaint and friendly. The dining room is elegant and the food was wonderful. The lounge bar in the evening is incredibly fun and full of song and laughter. Jerry is delightful and Bryan, the hotelier is full of life, personality and a very talented musician. I can only wish that we will someday be lucky enough to go back! Thanks Bryan, Jerry and our lovely bartender Roger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from NH, USA

What Castle?

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Abbeyglen is more like a Manor than a castle even though it has some features of a castle. I have stayed at a castle in Ireland before (Dromuland Castle) and the Abbetglen was nothing like it except the price. If you want a castle experience don't go here. The people were nice, food was good and there were perks (tea time, champagne reception, nice dining) but overall the place needed work. (windows were dirty, rooms were dusty, shower water trickled, bedding old and did not quite match, etc). I wish you could have called it like it really was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by LiverpoolFan from Dublin

THE place to stay in Clifden

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here over 10 years ago and were wary that the hotel may not have been maintained well. We were wrong. The entire experience was excellent, from the service, to the room, to the complimentary tea/scones each afternoon, the complimentary champagne each night - we totally recommend this hotel for a break in west Galway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: The castle itself is cool. The staff are friendly and polite. The buffet breakfast is delicious.
Cons: They could do a better job cleaning the rooms and add more comfortable beds.
The fact that it's a really neat castle makes up for what it lacks in other areas. Our room wasn't very clean. There was hair on the bed and in the shower. The bed's were uncomfortable. Despite that, it's still worth the experience. The staff are cordial. The buffet breakfast is good. And the drive to get there is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sylvia Venuto from Mount Vernon IOWA

What a BLAST!!!

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The whole Castle experience was amazing. This was no stuffy English Castle. This was total IRISH fun with amazing live music from Brian the very talented Piano Man (and castle owner) and a surprise late visit from an amazing Jazz group from France. A great place for Groups or Romantic visits. Staff was wonderful and the father-son owner are a great team. Plan on having dinner at the Castle, it is wonderful and you won't be disappointed, the service is outstanding. Take a walk to the beach, explore Clifden. Excellent. 5 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Molly from Saint Paul, MN

Not what we expected

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I were very excited to stay at Abbeyglen Castle. We were in Clifton 10yrs ago and decided to splurge and stay at this hotel. It was a disappointment as the room needed updating. We are not very picky as we enjoy quirky/antique surroundings. The bed was hard as a rock and we had difficulty sleeping. The wallpaper was peeling. Everything was slightly broken ie) lights didn't work correctly, some of the furniture needed repair. The room didn't seem all that clean. This place has great potential. The location and view from the rooms is amazing.