Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great central location in Clifden.Will stay here again if returning to Clifden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Right in town center and close to restaurants, etc

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Quite adequate BnB. Twin room was very small as was the bathroom. The full Irish breakfast was excellent and tasted very fresh.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bennington, VT

Dimond in the Rough

Posted Oct 29, 2009
I actually thought this guest house was closer to Galway City, but it was my mistake, as I was not that familar with this part of Ireland. I had just come from Dublin and stayed at a 4 star hotel, and I really wasn't to happy with the service. To tell you the truth I got better service in this establishment then I got there. The rooms are old, but you know what? It is what it is. The women who run it are really nice and hospitality over looks makes all the difference to me. If you want to see a different part of Ireland, at an affordable rate, this is a good place to lay your head.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel in Disguise

Posted Sep 20, 2009 on Hotels.com
With the number of B&B's surrounding Clifden, only stay here if there is nothing else available, or its free. I'm sorry to say that, since the manager was very nice, but the hotel is really just a hostel in disguise. My room was a bit damp and dreary, overlooking the roof of the building next door. Basic breakfast, edible but unmemorable. No parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 3, 2009
We recently stayed at the Arch Guest House in Clifden, Ireland. I pre-booked the B&B 3 months in advance, and it wasn't cheap. I read other reviews which led me to believe the place would be great. We arrived, and like other B&B's situated right on the main street there was not ample parking, and you have to pay for parking on the streets too or you'll get a ticket. The location of the B&B is great, but the room was old, there was a blood stain on the duvet cover, & when I laid on the bed I heard the springs boing and literally felt as if I were laying on a wooden board. I asked to be moved but they were booked. If not for the fact that the place was pre-paid, I would have left. It would have been worth leaving even losing the money I suppose. Perhaps we just got the "worst room in the house." I can only critique what I know. On a positive note, the staff is friendly which helps, and there is a computer with internet in a little room free of charge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Functional Accomodations

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
I booked in Clifden to make sure I had a place, but there was no need. There are many B&B's available, and I could have gotten something nicer for less than I paid with Hotels.com. The Arch is an upgrade from a hostel, but not by much. The staff is nice and accomodating, but it is still a low end hotel. Towells were rough, small tv with only 3 channels, and though they advertised internet in the rooms, mine did not work in my room. Breakfast was typical Irish, but nothing special. Overall, a place to stay that is convenient but not memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scotts Valley, CA

Great location

Posted Jun 18, 2009
Arch Guest House is right in the city center, and there are a number of shops and good restaurants within easy walking distance. The hosts can provide detauils regarding price and quality for most of the restaurants.