Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Beautiful grounds and resort! Staff was very helpful in planning an excursion to Connemara!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely country hotel set in beautiful surroundings

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Everything - especially the style and character of the building set in beautiful grounds.
Location: It feels as if you are in the countryside whilst, at the same time, being close to the centre of town and the coast.
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. The food was first class and we enjoyed a special meal at the Pullman Restaurant (Orient Express). We would highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Donna G from NorthHaven CT

Wonderful

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
we enjoyed it very much - the staff was outstanding - especially Jennifer at the front desk. Beds were so comfy and there was nothing to not love. Nice grounds too - not really near anything else, but the pub food was very good. No complaints here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paula from New Jersey

Fabulous Vacation

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
What more can be said about a fabulous and welcoming staff? Jennifer was amazing. She was so helpful giving us great ideas about places to see. She even called her dad to find out the tide tables for us to visit Omey Island. Don't miss dinner in the Orient train car. The hotel is immaculate and breakfast with Roy, our waiter, spoiled us each and every morning. I can't wait to return. Thank you!!! You made our vacation more memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lovely, Lovely Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family, my husband and I and our two adult children stayed here on our first stop in Europe. We stopped at the Cliffs of Moher on our way from Shannon Airport to Galway. We arrived just after noon but our rooms ready even though it was before 3 pm. We were able to nap, had dinner and settled down for the night. The rooms were large, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast included each morning was filled with fresh choices. We spent a lot of time going to places like Clifden and Castlebar so it was ok to be out of the city. But if you want to walk around Galway, this is not the stop for you! The staff is ever so friendly. The chaps in the Oak Bar were entertaining and gave quite good service. I will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Sydney

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic beautiful hotel and surrounds, the staff were helpful with our enquires, will be even better once the renovations are completed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phoosh from Tennessee

Very nice, but not quite up to expectations!!

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Appearance of grounds, attitude of staff
Cons: Restaurant is not well-run.
Location: Not in Galway proper, do not know what is nearby
We had a nice encounter with the reception clerk, got some nice help with luggage, and went to our room. It was large and quite comfortable. It was late and we booked the restaurant on site; service began with good, attentive servers. Then, the place filled up and the staff were overwhelmed. Our dinner was borderline. poor if you factor in cost.We were disappointed, considering the overall beauty of the "Abbey" and grounds. Breakfast was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
wonderful luxoris room
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Erin from Canada

A night in the Abbey!

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it! Elegant dining room, comfortable room....very easy to get to off main road. A young man, named Owen, was our waiter in the restaurant and he could not do enough for us. We liked the place and Owen so much that we stopped by on our return trip for lunch and a short visit with Owen again. The company that bought this Abbey also owns Kylemore Abbey. We also toured it and loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Nova Scotia

History Updated

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Driving through the gate says it all ... happy to be home!
Cons: I would be a bit concerned about lack of air conditioning in the summer.
Location: Close to town and country!
This is a wonderful property ... just what we were hoping for in Ireland. While the hotel is a beautiful historic property it does not use age as an excuse for old. The views are lovely and the food is excellent. What a treat!