Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Friendly

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Staff were lovely couldn't fault them at all, beds and pillows were so uncomfortable we stayed for 3 nights and not 1 decent night did we have, our room was over a petrol station and facing a main road. We ate in the bar the first night and my chicken came out burnt. The best thing about our stay was the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LondonA

Nice Hotel just outside Galway centre

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and friendly with everything working (PCs, wi-fi, lifts etc) Reasonably priced and convenient for centre.
Cons: Could have a more 'homely' feel. Bar food we had was perfectly good, Burgers excellent but other more exotic meals lacked a little something.
Location: Area around is mixed with Petrol station, cheap outlets and bike shop. Dunnes stores and large Tesco nearby. Good bus to city.
Modern, comfortable Hotel on edge of an out of town shopping area that is very convenient for Galway centre. Excellent breakfast and staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel feels geared up for the conference market and business traveller, although there were lots of families and holidaymakers during our stay in August.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Our first trip to Galway

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast was always hot and plentiful whatever time you went down.
Cons: The room did get quite hot of a night and the air conditioning didn't really make much difference. Fans were provided but far too noisy to use.
Location: See previous experience comments.
We flew from Heathrow to Shannon and got the coach to Galway (about £35.00 return for two adults), this was because we were only staying 3 days for the racing festival and would be having the odd drink so we didn't need a car. The bus journey itself took about 1:45, but it was quite pleasant taking in the villages and countryside on route so the time passed without notice - all very smooth, bus pick up and drop off right outside the airport. Although we went predominantly for the racing we do like to combine our trips with some sightseeing, however, in this respect the City was a little disappointing. The Spanish Arch, Cathedral and Eyre Square wouldn't qualify as must see experiences and although you have the hustle and bustle of Quay Street and the Latin Quarter offering the opportunity to take in some traditional music (a must) this can all be done in a day. Please don't be put off by my views of the City experience, merely putting into perspective what it has to offer. I have been to different parts of Ireland on many occasions and love the place. I even plan to take my car over on the ferry to tour for a month at some point in the not too distant. The thing to be mindful of is that the worthwhile sightseeing is outside the City so you do need a car for that. Alternatively my advice would be to book one of the many guided tours on offer which are always worth the money because you get a professional commentary providing historical background.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Immaculately clean hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Staff very friendly and helpful, unfortunately air conditioning was broken leading to room being uncomfortably hot and making a very poor nights sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newfoundland, Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: After along day driving, the spa was a great benefit! Location was good, a bit of a walk to downtown area. Restaurant/Reception staff were friendly.
Cons: We found it a bit tricky to get in there so perhaps extra signage as that round about is overwhelming for first time visitors.
Location: The Cathedral was beautiful and worth a visit, it was wonderful to celebrate mass there. Shopping was great, we loved the centrally located shops.
Spa was beautiful. Front staff/restaurant staff very friendly. We arrived late so just stayed at hotel to eat, food was good. Rooms were slightly smaller than some of the others we had but still very clean. Entertainment was just okay if we had more time, we would have gone downtown for local music.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kanturk

Beautiful Hotel with lovely staff

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Had a great experience. Staff where exceptionally friendly and helpfull especially Chloe at reception who I dealt with. Would highly recommend the hotel. We ate in the restaurant and it was high quality food and very reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Best Breakfast we have had in a hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Free Wifi Free Safe British TV channels Breakfast was exceptional Restaurant was great quality at a reasonable price underground car park
Cons: Air con noisy monitor car park as a car was broken into advise guests to be respectful and not to make a noise during early hours / late at night
The hotel staff were very efficient - when we checked in the girl at the reception was efficient but a smile would have helped ...... room was spacious and comfortable, had noisy neighbours the first couple of nights, coming back at late hours ( 2 a.m. ) and making a nuisance - spoke to reception about and and they offered to move us, we felt that it was a bit much - others make a racket but you have to move?? anyway, the staff overall were great, hotel is a fair way from the centre of Galway - about a 20 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Lovely hotel, very clean and modern rooms, most importantly the food was lovely and not over priced. Would definitely recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We stays at this hotel for one night. It was wonderful. The rooms are spacious yet cozy. If you're looking for something within walking distance to the city this is not for you. But if you have a car and don't mind driving into the city I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Galway City

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Stayed early july 2014, Pillo was overall a nice place to stay, at 4* star rating I expected it to be nicer, decor was a little dated but free parking and WiFi, tv, well heated room, and great ensuite made it relaxing. We had a room above the shop and road so if traffic is not your thing, say to them. We Didn't mind so much as we live at the roadside anyway. The delivery lorry at 6am was annoying and loud but the hotel can't do much about that. The breakfast was good value, and you do need to get taxis to the town or its a good 25 minute walk (est). Overall is was good value but I would be tempted to explore other hotels or b&b's in future