Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Great location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Lovely hotel, very clean and modern rooms, most importantly the food was lovely and not over priced. Would definitely recommend to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We stays at this hotel for one night. It was wonderful. The rooms are spacious yet cozy. If you're looking for something within walking distance to the city this is not for you. But if you have a car and don't mind driving into the city I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Galway City

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Stayed early july 2014, Pillo was overall a nice place to stay, at 4* star rating I expected it to be nicer, decor was a little dated but free parking and WiFi, tv, well heated room, and great ensuite made it relaxing. We had a room above the shop and road so if traffic is not your thing, say to them. We Didn't mind so much as we live at the roadside anyway. The delivery lorry at 6am was annoying and loud but the hotel can't do much about that. The breakfast was good value, and you do need to get taxis to the town or its a good 25 minute walk (est). Overall is was good value but I would be tempted to explore other hotels or b&b's in future
3 out of 5
by alain from ottawa, ont

1 stay was enough

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Very little
Cons: Staff could be more helpful and the facilities could be improved
Location: Not much within walking distance, there is a couple of fast food restaurants within 30 minutes walk
Hotel is older and needs some TLC. Upon checking we were told that the dining room was open till 10 and when we went at 8 we were told that they couldn't take us as we didn't have reservation? The place had several empty tables..... we asked about another place to eat but the answer we got was well there is 't much around here... again not helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for business travel as easy access to Galway

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel has own underground car park with easy access to hotel rooms have everything a sales person requires I asked for a quiet room which was very quiet clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Enjoyed the comfort of the spacious room and the delicious breakfast! 15 minutes walk to city centre was worth it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
We stayed here for a night after visiting the Cliff of Moher. The room was pretty nice and comforatable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Clitheroe Lancashire

A nice friendly hotel

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Clean room a good car park
Cons: Better directions when in a car
Location: A 15min walk into town, there is a bus stop not far from the hotel. The hotel is next to a retail park.
A nice friendly hotel,staff very helpful, room spacious and clean. Plenty of car parking spaces. The hotel is 15mins walk to the city centre.
2 out of 5
by WB from USA

Dirty and Dingy!

Posted May 19, 2014
This hotel needs a deep clean from head to toe and a massive remodel. The walls, which were once likely white, are now a dingy brown from years of stains. The red and brown patterned carpet is terrifying, I was afraid to walk without shoes. Stained sheets, moldy shower, missing light bulbs, and 1980s decor. The front desk never answers the phone, wifi is spotty at best... I could go on, but you get the point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Co Clare

Lovely Hotel

Posted May 15, 2014
Enjoyed our stay at the Pillo Hotel also the use of the thermal suite was really relaxed after a day at the shops