Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

Tranquil excellence

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Hospitality, friendliness, great food and drink, uniqueness, quiet and its location.
Cons: Had to ask for a kettle and cups for the room, this was gladly provided, fortunately I always take coffee and sugar.
A beautifully situated, charming and characterful haven of tranquility, ideal for peace and quiet but still close enough to the stunning scenery of that part of Ireland. The proprieters were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and every query or request was dealt with efficiently. Because of its rural location a restaurant and bar is most welcome and another reason for choosing this hotel. The dinner menu was more than adequate for choice and the breakfast offered a good selection. The food was very fresh, tasty and perfectly cooked. The maitre d' was the most helpful and professional waiter I have come across and made the dining experience so special. The bar was well stocked and service again was excellent. A comfortable drawing room for coffee and catching up with free wifi. The photos do justice to the hotel. The staff do the rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Tahoe, USA

Wonderful!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: I particularly enjoyed a morning walk through the quiet neighborhood.
Location: We had a lovely day visiting Oughteraad, Auhnanure Castle and the shores of Connemara Lake.
The hotel is charmingly elegant and secluded in large garden setting. The staff is professional and friendly. We enjoyed a very good breakfast and dinner there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat_Rfrom Ireland

Top class service in a very friendly hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay to visit Connemara. Only downside is the hotel is in need of some modernisation, but the charm and helpfulness of Henry and his wife more than compensate for this. Absolutely fantastic meal... worth the visit just for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sue C

Ross Lake House - nice place

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stumbled upon Ross Lake House looking for a place to stay in Oughterard. It is not far from there so booked a room. The home is an old manor house with the grounds having seen better days. The inside of the home is in good shape though with traditional antique furnishings. There is a large drawing room for accessing internet and conversing with other guest, a library with bar for after hours cocktails and a formal dining room that serves for breakfast and dinner (reservations required for dinner service and serve 7-8:30). We had a late lunch so decided to eat elsewhere. Our room was lovely - first floor, nice bed and en suite bath very clean. Good size wardrobe to store luggage and items out of the way. Only real complaint is that the walls were paperthin it seemed and I got to hear the family next store up all night watching movies. Breakfast was very nice and the service was excellent. We met the owners in the bar for a dink in the evening. Nice chat. I would recommend this location with the information that I now have. Close to other Conmerra attractions too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stevenfrom Florida

June 2013 stay

Posted Jun 17, 2013
The Hotel is off the beaten path in the country, just what we were looking for. The Owner's Henry and Elaine were great hosts and spent quite a bit of time with us talking in the evenings. The Hotel is clean, food is great and it is ideally located. Only 30 min to Galway, and 1 Hour to the abbey. Very pleased with the choice we made! Steven H.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keel

Charming Hideaway

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nice place, charming host and hostess. We arrived around 5:30 and wanted just a small dinner, the folks made a nice salad for my wife and me. We had a very nice walk around the grounds which are well kept and colorful. I would stay again, close enough to Galway but very much in the country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Near Conmarra

Posted Aug 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
overall rating of 4.0...the location is secluded...off the road with signage off N59. excellant breakfast included with the room. Evening meal...too expensive for our party. staff is professional. Hotel is a manor house...nicely furnished.......bath is large with good water pressure and sufficient hot water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Suburban Philly, PA

Ross Lake House

Posted Oct 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
Wonderful place, either as a Connemara base for exploring the area or as a hideaway 25 minutes outside of Galway. Wonderful breakfast, fine dinners, and memeorable service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Loved the Setting

Posted Jun 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Lovely, quiet, intimate. Rooms were functional -- could have used just a little updating. Otherwise very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Bangalore, India

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2011 on Hotels.com