Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home

Posted Aug 23, 2013
We really liked this lovely family run hotel the minute we arrived and the longer the stayed the more we enjoyed. You are just made too feel so at home. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the bar area with its open fires adds extra comfort. And not forgetting that the location and views are absolutely superb. We may go back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Northern Ireland, UK

Great place to stay when exploring Connemara.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Friendliness of staff and food
Cons: At breakfast service was slow as all guests seem to arrive in the dining room at the same time
Location: Beautiful
Excellent location, very helpful and attentive staff. Food was really good and well presented. We had a most enjoyable stay and would recommend the Ardagh Hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK

lovely place to stay with superb views!!

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: none
Location: wonderful views, good for walkers I imagine.
My Husband was taking part in the Connemara Marathon, so we stayed there with his Sister and her Husband. Because my Husband had to make an early start, they opened the restaurant early so he could have his breakfast before he went. There was plenty of cereal, toast, etc for him to fuel up with for the next 26.2 miles. The remaining three of us came back after seeing Hubby off and enjoyed a lovely Irish breakfast, fresh fruits and yoghurts. The evening menu looked superb, but I was outvoted as the others wanted to go into town. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definatley stay there again and would most certainly recommend it to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Michigan

beautiful setting just outside Clifden

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
with a beautiful view from each room along the inlet. The surprise was the hotel's restaurant, which has to be among the best in the area ... there were four groups of non-residents eating there on the night we stayed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Bill

Avoid This Place!

Posted Sep 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
AVOID THIS PLACE! It was shabby, the service was, at best, indifferent. And, by Irish standards, it was not inexpensive. We stayed at nicer, cleaner, and more welcoming places at half the price of this hotel. Cannot say a single good word for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GregO from Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland

Weekend break

Posted Sep 17, 2012
Pros: Food, views, friendly staff
Cons: The room decor was a bit dated, and the hotel was out of Clifden so we had to get a taxi into the town to have a few drinks
Location: Beautiful location, wonderful views from the front of the hotel
If I was going back to this hotel I would definitely request a sea view, as the views from the front of the hotel are spectacular. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, and would happily eat there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also served freshly baked gluten free bread, which was much appreciated as I am a coeliac.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Book a B&B in town instead

Posted Aug 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Spent one night here with my partner and two friends. The hotel itself was cute with a nice restaurant overlooking the water and cosy bar with fireplace. Our friends' room was nice and large with one king and one single bed. Our room was a complete disappointment, especially for what we paid for it. The room was small with only a double bed. The bathroom was also small and clean enough but smelled strongly of artifical fresheners. Only one towel was provided in the room depite the fact that it was booked for two people. Our major complaint was the temperature of the room. It was absolutely freezing. We fiddled with the radiator in the room before calling down to the front desk as it didn't seem to be working. They advised that they controlled the heating and would ask to have it turned up. We went to bed cold and woke up cold. Had we known, we would have stayed at one of the many B&Bs in town for half the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lynn h

Lovely hotel, excellent service, fabulous location

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Ardagh Hotel and Restaurant was excellent for our overnight stay in Clifden. The hotel is a little way outside of Clifden and has spectacular views. The hospitality was exceptional; really welcoming. We ate in the restaurant, which appeared very popular (booking is essential). The menu was interesting, innovative and stylish. The food was delicious, as you would expect from a fine dining establishment. The comfort in our rooms was great. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good quality and delicious food.

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by William

Idyllic scenery, scrumptious food, wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
We arrived late Friday and had a delicious dinner in the hotel restaurant, overlooking the bay and watching the sun set. Then we went down to the bar and had a drink in front of the fire. The staff were friendly and helpful. In the morning we drew the curtains and looked out over the still waters of the bay. That evening we had another excellent dinner in the hotel - it is the best sea-food I have eaten in Ireland, the lobster and scallops were my personal favourites, the smoked salmon starter and hake my wife's favourites. The location of the hotel is excellent, a short drive from Clifden and within easy reach of other beauty spots and sights, such as Kylemore Abbey, Westport, and Cong. All in all I can't speak highly enough of this hotel.