Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Caroline from New York City

Wonderful stay

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay very much! We traveled with two teen girls. Our room was on the 5th floor, with hammock and gorgeous view. Pool was terrific. The only downside was the food. After three nights (our total stay) we were happy to leave the food behind. It was not bad, just monotonous. We loved eating at the Monkey Bar, the upstairs, informal bar. The only recommendation is thhe hotel should have more informative tour desk personnel. It would have been nice to learn more about each tour vs. Just reading the book. I found the tour staff friendly, but not overly informative. Wonderful hotel. I would definitely recommend and return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenny from Chicago

Great hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just got back from Gamboa. Went with my 8 and 11 year old and we all loved it! Highly recommend staying here to anyone traveling with kids
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Washington DC

Enjoy the rain forest

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the breakfast buffet, the massage at the spa, the helpful waiters in the a la carte restaurant, the aerial tram tour.
Cons: Lots of routine maintenance has been neglected. The room could have information about tours, not just about the spa. It needs a stronger bedside lamp.
Location: At the resort tours are offered for birding, fishing, boat ride, Indian village.
The resort gets plus and minus. My room and bath were large, clean, although there was a slight odor of mildew. Nice balcony with hammock. Wake in the morning to the sweet sound of birds chirping. If you cannot stand a bit of peeling paint and chipped tiles, this is not for you. The room has a safe for your valuables, a stocked mini-frig, coffee maker and snacks. The room lacks any information about tours. You need to ask at the lobby desk. Really nice pool area, and spa. Enjoyed a hot stone massage for a good price. The Aerial Tram tour was great; ride into the forest with a guide to explain the plants of the rain forest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Robert from Evergreen, CO

Gamboa

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Most poorly trained staff of all the places I've stayed around the world for the last 50 years. Three of 6 electronic door keys didn't work - one ever, one would not ever lock from the outside. Forgot to put coffee back into rooms half the time. On a trip across the lake, the boat ran out of gas in the middle - no paddles, dumping rain. $40 bird tour, guide said I don't no anything about birds. Didn't see any anyway. Toilet leaked all the time. Must I go on?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from California

This is a elegant hotel.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
I loved this hotel. The staff went out of their way to insure we had a good time. My room was great and it had a balcony with a hammock. My wife and I would have coffee on the balcony and watch the birds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anne from Norway

...totally relaxing for body and soul!!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed it very much!..Fantastic location!.lovely nature!!..maybe the staff could learn some English??...but I would definately like to og back there!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherborn, ma

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful location
Cons: They should keep the pool open longer, 6 pm is too early to close
Location: Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charzette from Chicago

Just awesome

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: the privacy and the room
Cons: i would have like for breakfast o be included in the room pice
Location: i didn't have access to a car so i was stuck paying expensive prices for dinner and breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
I traveled with my wife. When we got the room she found that there is no hot water. We decide to observe all hotel and eat at restourant first. At the help desk they told us to call back from the rooom and then they will send plumber to fix the problem. When we returned to the room i called (it was around 8 PM) and in 5 min plumber was in our room. In half an hour the problem with hot water was fixed. I give them 5 stars because they handle the problem very fast and professional. The staff is very friendly. In the restaurant some people speak english. If waitress does not understand English she calls somebody for help. Buffet is good. Compare to the same class hotels in Riviera Maya and Caribbean Islands some items missing. For example, lox. Pastry is the best. It was very difficult to resist. If you want to see rainforest this is hotel for you. All activities start in this hotel. Hotel locates on the slope of the mountain in the place where Chagres River and Panama Canal meet Gatun Lake. Aura of the place is positive and strong. Place is full of energy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mickey from Panama and USA

Two night getaway

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Food was good, big buffets, one sit down restaurant which was veyr nice. The staff friendly. The pool area is very nice.
Cons: More menu items.Several things are abvailable either through room service or at the pool bar that are not on the Monkey Bar restaurant menu.
Location: We took a long hike out on the Pipeline Road, which is a favorite for hikes and birders.
Everything was nice. Checkin a bit slow and behind, but we did get our room. The front desk staff spoke English, and some other spoke some.