Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Bruce

Nickel and Dimed to Death

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Very clean and unique.
Cons: Service in the restaurants.
Location: The resort is in the middle of the jungle next to the Chagres river. It has an amazing view!
Went to Gamboa for the Easter weekend and was nickel and dimes to death at every turn. Service ranged from excellent to pathetic. Beers at the pool bar were $3.50 and we were not even served the full beer. The buffet in the restaurant was also very expensive and not that impressive. Our first night there we had to ask for water at our table about 4 times before we finally got it. I did not feel that I was getting what I was paying for considering the over inflated prices of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cinbabe

good place to relax and be close to nature

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Gamboa was nice, rooms a little run down (could use a coat of paint), but the staff was great and the location can't be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful Rainforest Experience Close to City

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The setting, views, & activities to learn about the rainforest & be immersed in the environment while staying in comfort with great food & service.
Cons: The doom decor could use a little updating. The hammock on the back porch was special.
Location: All kinds of of nature activities from this lodge - just book them right there! Birding, boat tours, indigenous Embera Village tour, aerial tram, etc
We only spent one night here due to limited time, but plan on going back again. I would recommend this experience for all ages - my husband and I went together and enjoyed the various tours and activities offered. The aerial tram offered some great animal and bird sightings, and the views from the top and from the entire property were mesmerizing. The food at the restaurant was excellent and we found the service to be top notch. The lobby area with it's soaring ceiling, cast iron railings and touches with artistic rainforest accents was stunning and relaxing. Don't miss the library up the stairs to the right of the entrance for a quiet place to read and soak it all in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maureen from long island, NY

Birding was great, rooms with balcony and hammock

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Being so close to the jungle and panama canal
Cons: the food
Location: location great and lots to do
The hotel was beautiful, pool awesome, rooms nice size and clean. The only down side the food was ok. Excurtions can be arranged along with transportation. Town of Gamboa within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bea from Martha's Vineyard

Mixed review

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The setting is glorious, with a broad view of the Chagres River and open fields. There are a lot of birds. There are nice details in the carved doors, wrought iron railings with leaves and birds, and stained glass lamp shades, but it has gone a bit shabby. The rooms are definitely mixed, many with a very musty smell (so bad my friend had to change rooms) and others fine. I recommend trying for the 7th or 6th floor for both the view and fresh air. The beds are comfortable, there is coffee in the room (with cremora, not milk), oddly no hair dryer. I recommend being as far from the pool as possible because of the loud music everywhere. All the dining areas and the reception had music. The public areas are not kept very clean, dust accumulating on the stairs, stains not mopped, etc. but the room was clean. We did the arial tram, which was interesting for the view and vegetation, but no animals. The free evening one-hour drive is interesting, but the wagon is quite uncomfortable to ride in. Sign up early in the morning for the 7:15 PM as it is less buggy than later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Washington DC

Enjoy the rain forest

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the breakfast buffet, the massage at the spa, the helpful waiters in the a la carte restaurant, the aerial tram tour.
Cons: Lots of routine maintenance has been neglected. The room could have information about tours, not just about the spa. It needs a stronger bedside lamp.
Location: At the resort tours are offered for birding, fishing, boat ride, Indian village.
The resort gets plus and minus. My room and bath were large, clean, although there was a slight odor of mildew. Nice balcony with hammock. Wake in the morning to the sweet sound of birds chirping. If you cannot stand a bit of peeling paint and chipped tiles, this is not for you. The room has a safe for your valuables, a stocked mini-frig, coffee maker and snacks. The room lacks any information about tours. You need to ask at the lobby desk. Really nice pool area, and spa. Enjoyed a hot stone massage for a good price. The Aerial Tram tour was great; ride into the forest with a guide to explain the plants of the rain forest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven from California

This is a elegant hotel.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
I loved this hotel. The staff went out of their way to insure we had a good time. My room was great and it had a balcony with a hammock. My wife and I would have coffee on the balcony and watch the birds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherborn, ma

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful location
Cons: They should keep the pool open longer, 6 pm is too early to close
Location: Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charzette from Chicago

Just awesome

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: the privacy and the room
Cons: i would have like for breakfast o be included in the room pice
Location: i didn't have access to a car so i was stuck paying expensive prices for dinner and breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Location.
I traveled with my wife. When we got the room she found that there is no hot water. We decide to observe all hotel and eat at restourant first. At the help desk they told us to call back from the rooom and then they will send plumber to fix the problem. When we returned to the room i called (it was around 8 PM) and in 5 min plumber was in our room. In half an hour the problem with hot water was fixed. I give them 5 stars because they handle the problem very fast and professional. The staff is very friendly. In the restaurant some people speak english. If waitress does not understand English she calls somebody for help. Buffet is good. Compare to the same class hotels in Riviera Maya and Caribbean Islands some items missing. For example, lox. Pastry is the best. It was very difficult to resist. If you want to see rainforest this is hotel for you. All activities start in this hotel. Hotel locates on the slope of the mountain in the place where Chagres River and Panama Canal meet Gatun Lake. Aura of the place is positive and strong. Place is full of energy.