Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Luxury in the jungle.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Eco-friendly. Very knowledgeable staff regarding the wildlife. Very focused on the outdoors.
Cons: It's a huge place, and a big chore, but keep up on the repairs.
Location: In the jungle. Visit a nearby indian village, take a hike, bird watch, go fishing, ride the tram, lay at the pool, take a spa!
This is an older facility right on the Panama Canal. The hotel and rooms are large and clean. The services are great but at times a little slow (be patient...relax...you're on vacation). The tours are comprehensive. There is a big emphasis on the canal and the ecosystem. The Clarin's Spa was fantastic! And very reasonable. The setting, in the middle of the rain forest, is one of a kind. Lying in the hammock on our terrace, listening to howler monkeys and a myriad of bird calls was quite enchanting. Free wi-fi, buffet or off the menu meals, or room service when you just feel too relaxed to walk another step. Handicap accessible in all areas. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! We spent 3 days in the city and 5 in Gamboa. Gamboa is the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tan

Jungle madness

Posted Nov 7, 2014
The night jungle tour needs a new truck. The hotel is lovely. Pool great. Setting Amazing!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Dreadful place!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The resort offers a range of trips and we went on an excellent boat trip on the canal. However you do not need to stay at the hotel to book trips.
Cons: Pretty much everything needs improving.
Location: Nice trips into the rain forest where you can see a range of wildlife and close to the canal.
We booked three nights at this hotel but checked out after one night as we could not stand it (and sadly there was no refund for early check out). We were originally given a standard room but had booked a deluxe room. The receptionist was reluctant to give us the room type we paid for as the deluxe room 'was only a couple of doors away'. The corridors and rooms smelled damp, fusty, dark and oppressive. The bathroom had a home made, unprofessional feel to it. The whole place was old fashioned, shabby and uncared for both inside and out. The layout and decor was very strange with huge (dirty) arched windows onto the river and an old fashioned library upstairs. Near the pool area were large unused expanses of concrete with weeds in the joins. The photo's of this hotel do not in any way give a realistic impression of the actual product! Rooms on the lower floors do not have a view of the river as they are below the tree room and you cannot see the canal from the hotel. When we checked out 2 days early, the staff didn't even bother to ask us why. We stayed in some excellent hotels in Panama and this one was a real disappointment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jimfrom florida

Faded glory. Was very impressive but worn.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, friendly staff
Cons: Maintain the property better. A fresh coat of paint would do wonders.
In the middle of nowhere is a marvel of construction. It is too bad the upkeep has not kept up with what it could be. The staff was very friendly and the tours interesting. The food was good but not great. The outdoor pool is very large and clean. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Nice to be in the hammock on the patio during a rain. Very cool and relaxing. We would go back, but three days was enough to see and do what we wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbarafrom Phoenix

Peaceful rainforest

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at this resort was very relaxing and the surrounding rain forest is quite captivating. The lobby and bar area are not air conditioned and the doors are always open which makes for an extremely humid environment. Some large fans would bring more comfort and clientele to the bar area which has a terrific view over the river. Also the staff acts quite zombie like. The up scale restaurant was closed so the only alternative was the buffet area where also breakfast was being served. The food was overall good and plentiful. Be careful with meal transactions, we got double charged for breakfast. Also check end bill. We had other guests transaction slips in our envelope during our March visit of this year. The tours that the hotel offers are also very enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Humairfrom Houston, TX

Beautiful Hotel in the Jungle

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: They need to improve the menu for the bar food as well as the buffet. They also need more bilingual English speaking staff.
Location: Its in the middle of the Jungle and right where it needs to be to make the trip what it is in a word Amazing.
This is an Amazing hotel with great rooms and lots of facilities. The only issue I had was the food was really bland. The front desk staff was excellent. The tours given by Alex were really good and engaging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chrisfrom Fernie, BC

Beautiful rainforest setting

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff here really know what service is, which we find lacking in much of Panama. A very beautiful property with lots to do. However, most tours are expensive. The kids had a great time, and told me they would love to visit the resort again. The one thing lacking, and this true for all of Panama, is road signs giving directions to the resort. Even the taxi driver was confused.
3 out of 5
by Bruce

Nickel and Dimed to Death

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Very clean and unique.
Cons: Service in the restaurants.
Location: The resort is in the middle of the jungle next to the Chagres river. It has an amazing view!
Went to Gamboa for the Easter weekend and was nickel and dimes to death at every turn. Service ranged from excellent to pathetic. Beers at the pool bar were $3.50 and we were not even served the full beer. The buffet in the restaurant was also very expensive and not that impressive. Our first night there we had to ask for water at our table about 4 times before we finally got it. I did not feel that I was getting what I was paying for considering the over inflated prices of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Relaxing and enjoyable