Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jim from florida

Faded glory. Was very impressive but worn.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, friendly staff
Cons: Maintain the property better. A fresh coat of paint would do wonders.
In the middle of nowhere is a marvel of construction. It is too bad the upkeep has not kept up with what it could be. The staff was very friendly and the tours interesting. The food was good but not great. The outdoor pool is very large and clean. We had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Nice to be in the hammock on the patio during a rain. Very cool and relaxing. We would go back, but three days was enough to see and do what we wanted.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara from Phoenix

Peaceful rainforest

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay at this resort was very relaxing and the surrounding rain forest is quite captivating. The lobby and bar area are not air conditioned and the doors are always open which makes for an extremely humid environment. Some large fans would bring more comfort and clientele to the bar area which has a terrific view over the river. Also the staff acts quite zombie like. The up scale restaurant was closed so the only alternative was the buffet area where also breakfast was being served. The food was overall good and plentiful. Be careful with meal transactions, we got double charged for breakfast. Also check end bill. We had other guests transaction slips in our envelope during our March visit of this year. The tours that the hotel offers are also very enjoyable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Humair from Houston, TX

Beautiful Hotel in the Jungle

Posted May 25, 2014
Cons: They need to improve the menu for the bar food as well as the buffet. They also need more bilingual English speaking staff.
Location: Its in the middle of the Jungle and right where it needs to be to make the trip what it is in a word Amazing.
This is an Amazing hotel with great rooms and lots of facilities. The only issue I had was the food was really bland. The front desk staff was excellent. The tours given by Alex were really good and engaging.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Fernie, BC

Beautiful rainforest setting

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff here really know what service is, which we find lacking in much of Panama. A very beautiful property with lots to do. However, most tours are expensive. The kids had a great time, and told me they would love to visit the resort again. The one thing lacking, and this true for all of Panama, is road signs giving directions to the resort. Even the taxi driver was confused.
3 out of 5
by Bruce

Nickel and Dimed to Death

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Very clean and unique.
Cons: Service in the restaurants.
Location: The resort is in the middle of the jungle next to the Chagres river. It has an amazing view!
Went to Gamboa for the Easter weekend and was nickel and dimes to death at every turn. Service ranged from excellent to pathetic. Beers at the pool bar were $3.50 and we were not even served the full beer. The buffet in the restaurant was also very expensive and not that impressive. Our first night there we had to ask for water at our table about 4 times before we finally got it. I did not feel that I was getting what I was paying for considering the over inflated prices of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Relaxing and enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cinbabe

good place to relax and be close to nature

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Gamboa was nice, rooms a little run down (could use a coat of paint), but the staff was great and the location can't be beat
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C from Scottsdale, AZ

Beautiful Rainforest Experience Close to City

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: The setting, views, & activities to learn about the rainforest & be immersed in the environment while staying in comfort with great food & service.
Cons: The doom decor could use a little updating. The hammock on the back porch was special.
Location: All kinds of of nature activities from this lodge - just book them right there! Birding, boat tours, indigenous Embera Village tour, aerial tram, etc
We only spent one night here due to limited time, but plan on going back again. I would recommend this experience for all ages - my husband and I went together and enjoyed the various tours and activities offered. The aerial tram offered some great animal and bird sightings, and the views from the top and from the entire property were mesmerizing. The food at the restaurant was excellent and we found the service to be top notch. The lobby area with it's soaring ceiling, cast iron railings and touches with artistic rainforest accents was stunning and relaxing. Don't miss the library up the stairs to the right of the entrance for a quiet place to read and soak it all in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maureen from long island, NY

Birding was great, rooms with balcony and hammock

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Being so close to the jungle and panama canal
Cons: the food
Location: location great and lots to do
The hotel was beautiful, pool awesome, rooms nice size and clean. The only down side the food was ok. Excurtions can be arranged along with transportation. Town of Gamboa within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bea from Martha's Vineyard

Mixed review

Posted Feb 23, 2014
The setting is glorious, with a broad view of the Chagres River and open fields. There are a lot of birds. There are nice details in the carved doors, wrought iron railings with leaves and birds, and stained glass lamp shades, but it has gone a bit shabby. The rooms are definitely mixed, many with a very musty smell (so bad my friend had to change rooms) and others fine. I recommend trying for the 7th or 6th floor for both the view and fresh air. The beds are comfortable, there is coffee in the room (with cremora, not milk), oddly no hair dryer. I recommend being as far from the pool as possible because of the loud music everywhere. All the dining areas and the reception had music. The public areas are not kept very clean, dust accumulating on the stairs, stains not mopped, etc. but the room was clean. We did the arial tram, which was interesting for the view and vegetation, but no animals. The free evening one-hour drive is interesting, but the wagon is quite uncomfortable to ride in. Sign up early in the morning for the 7:15 PM as it is less buggy than later.