Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

4 Star prices for 2 Star quality and service

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Size of the rooms and bathroom were pretty spacious. Mostly locals and Arabian tourists. Kids pool is great for families
Cons: The hotel, staff attitude, food, facilities, the terrible smell from the drains in the bathroom and air conditioner. Needs more things to do.
Location: Location is not good at all, unless you have your own car. We had to take taxis everywhere and even though we had the meter running, it was expensive.
We thought we would give this hotel a try because we wanted to stay somewhere different for a change. The pictures make it look amazing, but honestly its not. The hotel it terribly run down and is in need of a serious upgrade. There is no gym anymore, and the indoor pool chairs and surrounding area dont seem to be cleaned regularly. The outdoor pool has its lights and cable sitting on the side of the pool. The pool bar menu is ridiculously expensive for sub standard food. 16tnd for a pizza that in my opinion is less tasteless than a local food chain pizza here. Its not worth more than 7tnd, and that goes for the rest of the menu, 5tnd for a coffee, small cappuccino mind you. We could not even get ice for free unless we purchased something at the bar. Their reason for this is that they wont make any money if guests bring in their own drinks or food. However, one of the staff told us that the prices are so high because the Libyans are will to pay for it. Such nonsense. The sea was within close walking distance with loungers available, but of course broken or wearing away. No cushions provided or available to purchase by the sea or at the hotel. The sea water at this location was brown for about a mile and then beautiful blue. I even had the pleasure of seeing a dead fish float by me. Therefore I avoided the sea as it was not as beautiful and fresh looking like it is further south of the coast. Quoted 3 different prices for necklace at shop by different staff, got more expensive
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dawn from scunthorpe england

Nice hotel but not for a holiday

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Main entrance was gated and guarded. Outside looks impressive and good reception area. Rooms were clean . Taxi rank outside.
Cons: New sun loungers and a lick of paint here and there .
Location: A bit out the way. We had a taxi even to the nearest shops . Nothing in walking distance. Had a day at sidi bous said? Nice for shopping and scenic.
Hotel was friendly and reception spoke good English . Overall good in places but needs a bit of paint work and some new loungers. We stayed in May because we attended a Tunisian wedding but maybe brighten the place up in summer. Food was limited but something for all and well cooked. My son 24. Found the all night disco/bar. I would'nt stay for a holiday more for business we thought. We stayed because it was near to the wedding venue.
1 out of 5
by fayz from Manchester

bad hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: nothing
the hotel very old and breakfast isn't good (no water) they charge water
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Lotte from eg South Africa

Great hotel away from the hub.

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: Great sized room with balcony and sea view.
Cons: The rip off Taxi Man. Too many non residents hanging out in the bar area doing nothing much at all.
Location: Away from the hub of Tunis right on the sea front however near to Cathage.
I had a really wonderful stay here away from all the politics of Tunis, yet near enough to enjoy Carthage and The Bardo - both a must. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite throughout my stay and as it was February - no tours at this time - they were able to arrange a car and driver for me to make day trips to El Jem, Sousse, Kerlibia, Nebuel and Dougga etc. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate, however, Lunch and Supper had a even greater choice of dishes - all yummy!!! Great swimming pool and pool area and wonderful beaches just beyond to enjoy too. This was one of the quietest hotels at night time I have stayed in. I would recommend this hotel to those who wish to have a quiet time away from the hub of Tunis. Great for young families. A note of caution - to not use the hotel taxi which is over priced and opportunistic. A hired car and driver for £50 per day - a much better option.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by fabio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Brina

Really, 4 Star!?!

Posted Jun 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Room smelled like raw sewage. After commenting at the front desk 7 hours later there was no solution. They eventually moved us to another room. General upkeep was unacceptable. There was a huge party each evening with loud music and drunk local on the beach. Not acceptable for families. Each mid-day to afternoon there were so many locals at the beach bar that the parking lot was full and there was no room for any guests to use the facilites. It seems like everyone that had a buddy that worked at the hotel was given entry. Food was bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from rochester ny

good

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: simplesty
great Hotel just be do not give Taxi drivers more than 10T.D from teh air port
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Jan 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I do not thik Hotel Phebus should take 4 stars, Although it is big but my room was not as i expected as 4 star Hotel, the door that lead to the balcony is broken and not safe to my children, so that I had to fix the door using the table. The covering sheets were not clean and very old, there is no enough light and bulbs in the room. I asked for electrical adapter for my mobile phone but they were pushing me to buy one from their shop. there no local shops near the Hotel. finally the Hotel is 30 minutes from the airport not as you showing (10-15 min.) which cost me more money. Any way I'll never come to this hotel, because I would like to be close to the shops restaurants, and to the airport. May be my words are tough but this is the truth.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, uk

the bad phebus hotel in tunis

Posted Jan 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
i was for 2days there, is not 4star hotel, from outside maybe, but inside they have very old showers, not even propre bath, very bad condition inside the rooms,the breakfast very bad, the reception was very bad, they just want to robe u, in any occasion, i dont recomend it for any one, not worth ur money