Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Pleasant stay in the Redwoods

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The setting, the staff service, the outdoor seating area, the comfort and warmth of the functioning fireplaces, the food and the size of the room.
Cons: Tarnish gets in the way of total enjoyment; A good decoration eye, paving outdoor walkways & entry improvement would help.
Location: Leave yourself open to the splendor of the Redwood forest. The rivers invite, the small towns offer some interest and the seashore a good drive away.
Benbow is in its eightieth decade serving tourists to Humboldt County's Redwood country. A one-time luxury hotel it sits in a splendorous setting on the edge of the Eel River and the redwood forest. One can take advantage of relaxed seating inside or outside ejoying the peace and beauty of the world around it. the hotel continues to hold its sense of itself as a luxury hotel, although time has clearly had its impact on its physical plant showing its tarnish somewhat. It holds its charm well though. Our room had an outdoor seating area with a view of a large green area, the river, and a beautiful stone arc bridge. The room was quite roomy and clean with a king size bed & a 42" flat screen TV. The hotel smal, well-stockedl bar was comfortable with a wonderful fireplace. The main dining room reflected a proud kitchen, its menu was interesting and offered freshness in all aspects. Reflecting its age this multi-leveled hotel required climbing stairs with luggage rather than offering the convenience of an elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oakland

Avenue of the redwoods run

Posted May 6, 2015
Was a squeeze for 3 in one room but totally worth it , beautiful estate !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2015
Lovely historic hotel, great food and excellent location for Avenue of the Giants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Romantic? No. Old? Yes.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The fact that this hotel has 4.5 starts makes me think that most of these reviews are fake. Location: Yes, there is a river and a nice bridge, but it is actually located by the highway. Rooms: We had deluxe queen room. The is absolutely nothing deluxe about it! It is small and old. The mattress is very used up and unstable. Also you can hear the music from downstairs. Restaurant: Cesar salad consists of 4 Romani lettuces and costs $10. Extra chicken (just few pieces) is $9. Seriously? Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi didn’t work. They said that hotel is almost full and wi-fi doesn’t work well when there are so many people trying to connect. There are only 55 rooms in the hotel. We were so disappointed that we started to look for another place to stay the same night so we don’t have to sleep there, but eventually we gave up because we were too tired from driving all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Put on your bucket list

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, ambiance, ambiance
Cons: Not handicapped friendly. To get to the.lobby or dining room you have to walk up several flights of stairs depending where your room is.
Location: Great location for seeing the redwoods, especially the Avenue of the Giants.
Definitely a fun hotel to stay at, even at their hotel rates. First class and a chance to go back in time to feel what it was like to live during the past decades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: great
Cons: nothing
Location: not known
great very enjoyable I really do not want to add a bit more to the review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margaretfrom seattle

Going back in time

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
The room was way too hot, even though we set it for cool and tthe lowest temp. When I told the ffront desk in the morning, they said the next time you come you will be compensated. We were the only ones for breakfast at 8:15 AM, ,but service was VERY slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by danielfrom Park city

Scenic delight

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
Always a delight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joelfrom Dublin

Hidden gem!

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
Really a gem hidden a couple of hours north of SF. Really affordable and great atmosphere, felt more like staying in an old mansion than a hotel! Staff was super friendly and bar & restaurant really good too. Great surroundings, whish I would have stayed here for more than just one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Historic Beauty

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The history of it and the way it has been kept upl The staff made you feel like family.
Location: It is located just a short drive from the Avenue of Giants off of Hwy 101. There are beautiful redwoods all around you & it sits next to eel river.
What can I say, this historic Inn is wonderful and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing.