Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland

Nice hotel in a medieval French town

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The old building, staff
Cons: There should be a written instruction on how to use the egg cooker for breakfast buffet. The wifi was pretty much useless.
Location: There really isn't much to do in the town other than to hit the beach by the river. You can drive to Pont du Gard or Uzes for site seeing
This is newly renovated hotel in a old building reside in a French medieval town. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and spoke very good English. The room we had was a corner room and had to walk outside first to get to our room, which we thought was a bit odd, but once we are in our room, it was a very charming room with exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. This town has very little to offer in terms of site seeing, but there is a nice river within a 5-minute walk and Pont du Gard is a 15 minute drive away. Also we visited Uzes the town was build in early 1200, and the castle tour was very nice. This hotel has a swimming pool but you have to walk through the dining area of the restaurant, but during the middle of the day, there was nobody, so was not a problem. We did not eat in the restaurant since it was a Michelin star restaurant and I didn't think our 5 year old would appreciate such affair. In stead, we walked over to the river and there was a very nice restaurant with good food reasonably priced. We opted for the breakfast buffet which was a bit pricey but it was worth the price. The wifi did not work at all although you can see wifi access directions in the hotel directory. The bottled water was very expensive at the hotel. I suggest walk down a few minutes to a local general store to get bottled water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lol from Buckinghamshire, UK

Couples retreat

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: Beautiful, peaceful setting, pretty garden.
Cons: Distant parking, intermittent wifi.
Location: Perfect for a quiet couples weekend.
Beautiful setting, boutique style hotel, helpful staff. The hotel is in a very pretty village, which means a narrow cobbled street to drive onto to get to the entrance. The parking area is a short distance away and is secure. The hotel is made up of several buildings, and it was a short walk to our room, however we had quite a lot of luggage, and there are no lifts. The hotel advertises wifi availability, but there was none in our room, we needed it for business reasons, after several attempts by reception staff to remedy the situation, we were moved to a lovely room in main building, where the connection was fine. The staff were very helpful, in this regard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

heavenly

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
fairy-tale like. we loved it here!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Franz from Mimai, FL

Quaint, but far

Posted Sep 26, 2011
Pros: Loved the "character" of the hotel, very midieval feel to it, large bathroom with tub in middle of room, castle-like walls and windows. The dinner was EXCELLENT, French cuisine, so don't expect American food. Beautiful garden as well, and a small pool. Cons: Location. Very far from everything, we arrived at night and drove half hour down tiny winding roads, was very worried the road was going to end! When we did get there the restaurant was closed, and there was nothing in the whole village open to get something to eat. We could have driven back half hour to get McDonald's, but didn't want to risk the drive at night again. The mini bar didn't have any food... The double-bed was actually two singles pushed together, and there is no elevator so pack light (we had to go up two narrow flights and had 4 bags!). Overall though I liked the place, as I mentioned food was very elegant and good, great wine and service excellent. Just come prepared. Wifi available for free but not compatble with Macs/iPad/iPhone (seemed kind of weird).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Le Castellas in Collias France next river Gardon

Posted Sep 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful little hotel where the staff are attentive and kind. It's a little oasis of calm in the middle of sleepy little village not far from the famous Pont du Gard. There has been so much attention to detail in the garden, lounge and of course the wonderful restaurant. One night when the restaurant was closed , the young man on reception organised a fantastic plate of cheeses and wine for us. It was also gratifying that we were never charged for room service and can only say that this is a place where they really care about your comfort. Incredible value!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Country Gem

Posted Jul 23, 2009
Hotel Le Castellas is an incredible place to stay. Nestled in the small village of Collias near Pont du Gard, 5 star restaurant, pricey but well worth the splurge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Book early

Posted May 13, 2009
This hotel on two sides of the street is a testament to provencal hospitality. The stone walls and painted ceilings make it seem as if you're in a film set. Its all authentic and its all beautiful. To cap it all, there's a Michelin starred restaurant. Too formal for my liking but highly recommended. If you want to get a table, make sure you contact the hotel and make a booking as early as possible
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Nov 14, 2008 on Hotels.com
The location was beautiful, very old, historic town. The room was very unique, and well decorated. If you like a historic feeling, this is the place. The food was fantastic, and expensive. The coffee service should be included in the room, but it was not, nor were we told it wouldn't be when they asked if we wanted it. We were charged $10E per day for it! There weren't a lot of English speaking people on hand, but we definately got by. The front desk was always very willing to help in every way they could. We loved this hotel and location - but it is a little off the beaten path. Very quiet little place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scotch Plains, NJ

Wonderful, beautiful, will definitely stay here again.

Posted Jul 18, 2007
Loved this friendly little hotel. The staff is very nice and sophisticated at the same time. The dining room is wonderful little tables in a garden with candles and exceptionally good food. Our room was Provence perfect looking through shutters at a church and the village. Just loved it and will be back with my family.