Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Hotel Amphitheatre

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Room was large with air conditioning
Cons: Shower only hand held & no curtain
Location: good position about near to historic Roman Amphitheatre & many restaurants & bars
Pleasant hotel in centre of old town with French charm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, classy hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: It was a european style pensione in 17th-18th century rowhouses, but well constructed and modernized. Comfortable beds. No elevator.
Cons: Anything can be improved, but this met and exceeded our expectations for the price.
Location: The Arena is only a block away, and we spent about 3 hours there with an audio tour. It's also convenient to many great shops and restaurants.
Not luxurious, but standard, and very well done. Hotel staff very friendly, and helpful with restaurant recommendations. Underground public parking 4-5 blocks away (Arena) was convenient, very clean and spacious, and played classical music! The adjacent street was a little noisy during the day, but not at all during the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from Long Beach, CA

Perfect Location in Nimes

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Absolutely loved Room 8. The owners are so kind.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Obviously near Amphitheater, but also main attractions: the Forum, the tower,Temple Diana. Bus ride away from Pont du Gard. Easy walk to Train Station
At the end of a Provence tour, we went to Nimes because it had a direct train to Figures, Spain where we were going to rent a car and drive the Costa Brava. We chose this hotel because it had good reviews and it was walkable from the train station. It was a good decision. The owners are so nice and helpful and when we asked where we could find a laundromat so we could wash a small load of underwear and socks, they said they could do it for us. We didn't expect that service from a small hotel, but when we asked how much we'd owe them, they insisted it was free. That was such a wonderful gesture for two tired travelers. Bless them! We loved our room. It was so quaint but had a large modern bathroom that was really functional. But the best part was the balcony window overlooking the street below which was filled with restaurants (and people of course). Before dinner we sat up in our room with a glass of wine and watched all the goings on. I think one day is plenty of time for Nimes unless you are going to Pont du Gard, which unfortunately we didn't have time to do. I'm so glad we added this town and hotel to our Provence experience. Also we couldn't help but compare it favorably to Avignon. We walked all over Avignon and it was pretty seedy in some parts. Here we got such a kick out of seeing the street behind us the morning we left. The street was cleared of everything and a street sweeper/washer went over and over it until it was spotless. Amazed to hear they do it every day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from UK

Excellent location in centre of Nimes

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Quiet but central location.
Cons: Everything was delightful.
Location: Only steps away from the amphitheatre and close to many lovely squares with cafes and restaurants.
We had a most comfortable stay at the Hotel de l'Amphitheatre, it gave us a quiet yet central base from which to explore Nimes and nearby cities with ease.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Very nice experience. <1 block from Ampitheatres, Shops & restaurants. Little noisy from people walking on streets below but manageable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allan from Warrington, UK

Excellent location & nice hotel

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Rooms were a little dated (although this was probably part of the charm)
Location: Great central location. Close to tourist sites, shops and restaurants
We stayed at the Hotel de L'ampitheatre for 3 nights in early May 2014 and really enjoyed our visit. The staff at the Hotel were friendly and efficient. We arrived early and they were happy to look after our bags until our room was ready - allowing us time to have a look round the lovely town of Nimes and enjoy lunch. We were in room 8 and our friends were upstairs in room 11. Both overlooked the square. The bedroom was clean but was a little old fashioned. However the bathroom was modern and had a great shower. The hotel is in an excellent location (a stones throw from the magnificent amphitheatre) and the staff were lovely. We would definitely return to Nimes and the Hotel de L'Ampitheatre. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hazie from London

Lovely lovely hotel

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Perfect location, great large bed, room very pleasant decor, fairly priced.
Cons: The lack of shower was a surprise and water pressure not great but this might be down to the age of the property.
Location: Its all great, everything in Nimes is walkable. Great square within 1 minute for coffees and pastries.
Loved this city location and the wonderful managers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mel from Melbourne

A great find

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A really great stay. Location was perfect with easy walking distance to sites , shopping and restaurants. Rooms were clean, comfortable and charming. The service was outstanding, the proprietors were helpful in every way. breakfast was excellent served in pleasant dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by T104 from US

Great Place to enjoy Nimes

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This little hotel is a gem! It is on a small street to the right of the arena. It is an older hotel with lots of charm. It has newly remodeled bathrooms with a very nice shower. The couple who run the hotel are very helpful with information on sites to see and the best places to eat! I loved Nimes! This is the cleanest town we have been to throughout our travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by phil from new orleans, LA

nice hotel in the center of Nimes,

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: comfort, location , owners
Location: visit the pont du gard, on a day trip, the bus station is situated behind the railway station.
the hotel is run by a couple, a french woman and her British husband, they were very helpful and gratious, the room was large for the standards of french hotels, and comfortable, clean. the hotel is ideally situated very close to the Arena and the center of Nimes, one can also take a day trip by bus to Pont du Gard, the railway station is not very far away, an easy 15 minutes walk.