Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and fun place.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Topaz Lodge is a clean and well run property. Fun little casino and great food in the cafe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Linda DeLaMare from Pahrump, NV

Beautiful location and view

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fairly nice. Sparsely furnished, no micro or frig and the wifi was very weak. Somebody had to keep "going upstairs" to "reboot the system." Even still, it didn't work very well. Combine that with no AT&T service to this area and we were kinda dead in the water. The heater clanked. The mattress was a little on the skinny side. Still, it's a rustic lodge on beautiful Topaz Lake with white snowcaps in the background. Since it is in Nevada, there is a fun little casino. The food and service in the restaurant was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for a road trip stop

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Be aware this hotel is not in Gardnerville but about 20 miles south, which was fine for us as we were just needing a place to stay along our route and it was easy to find right on Hwy 395. The view of the lake was beautiful, even though we only got to enjoy it at breakfast. Breakfast was fairly good (waffle maker, toast, yogurt, cereal, but no eggs or sausage). But for the size of the dining room, I would have expected more than one waffle maker. That made for quite a wait for waffles since we had to compete with the bus tour staying there. The room was clean and comfortable, though the bathroom was tiny with only a shower stall, so thankfully we didn't need a tub anyway. One thing we were not happy about--we had booked a room with 2 queen beds and because of over-booking were given a room with 2 full beds. No offer of compensation besides some (very small!) coupons for the casino and arcade, but I think they give those to everyone. Even a 10% discount would have shown they cared about our inconvenience, but no, nothing but a "sorry."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from Sacramento, CA

Did the job!

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: The view!
Cons: Washing the windows so the view could be enjoyed more.
This hotel was all we needed for the night--and the room had a view of the lake! Everything else was good too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a good basic stop

Posted Sep 23, 2013
This is a well run operation. Most of the rooms have a view of Topaz Lake (some seem to be obscured by trees). The rooms are beyond motel-basic, with "mountain" touches, such as lamps on the end tables made from antlers. The steak house has a good reputation, and I confirm that it's deserved. I didn't spend much time (and no money!) in the casino, but did enjoy the local cover band in the bar. I would stay here again without hesitation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jen from Bishop

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel states that it's in Gardnerville but it's actually at topaz Lake and we had to drive 22 miles to Gardnerville was not happy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kinda old

Posted Aug 10, 2013
This place needs some major upgrading. Everything looked old and run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Reno Nevada

Lake Topaz

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
need more lighting. or brighter bulbs. table space would be nice.. we used the hotel after boating at the Lake Topaz all day . there was a live band, they give you a free continental breakfast which includes waffles.. very friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com