Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guatemala City

Miles from airport wrong

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Cons: The breakfast is really poor, it states complete but it's not a complete breakfast. Overall awfull food.
Location: The location is wrong, everything is over 1.5 miles from the hotel. They are not even located in the principal avenue or street in Gatlingburg.
This hotel states that it is 27 miles from the airport and the reality is that Gatlingburg is over 60 miles from the airport. You should be true to the information that is stated here, I made my reservation based on the distance and it was the double distance. The first room that I was given smelled like cat pee and it was not the one that I booked. I requested a change and the gave me the one I originally booked stating it was an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Older Hotel Near Creek and Downtown

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: It is mountainy, the front desk gave us everything we asked for....creekside beautiful!!!! Even liked the older d├ęcor of the room..the fireplace..ahhh
Cons: Please make sure the rooms smell fresh, tubs unclogged and faucets working, fireplace cleaned out. It could be an awesome place................
Location: Nice walk to downtown Gatlinburg - restaurants - Log Cabin Pancake House, moonshine and whiskey tour, shops, sky lift, skiing, Ripley's
I booked the hotel and then read the reviews...uhoh...don't like to go by reviews because usually only problem people take the time to write them from my experience. Every negative comment I read was true when I got there. Loved the older style but funky smell in the room...Fabreeze the Carpet Please!!! Clogged tub - true....wet bar sink not working....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

A place of memories for 20+ years

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Consistency, always clean, office staff are always helpful
Cons: the rough fabric on the chairs and too low to eat comfortably at the table, I bring my own afgan to cover the chair and i bring my own quilt, the furn
Location: close to the craftsman's loop and the roaring fork motor trail, close enough to downtown but far enough away from all the noise. over the creek is the
A great family destination always clean, has always been able to accommodate life changes from single, planning an entire group for Cincinnati Ski Club, staying as a couple in spa like room, to family with grandparents along with adjoining rooms, to traveling with my dog. Always friendly, wide variety of room accommodations and prices affordable in off season times
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Room on the water.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The room was well worn.The sliding glass doors to the closet were off the tracks .The door to the balcony was stuck and took two hands to open and was very difficult to close without creating a lot of noise ( slamming ) . The carpet should have been replaced years ago. The furniture ,chairs & dressers were not in good condition.The front desk would never answer the phone.Never. The room was reasonably clean .The bed was very comfortable.The balcony over the river was fantastic.The grounds and pool were very well maintained . We really enjoyed the whirlpool and steam bath .The Breakfast Buffet was limited but very good . The main reason for choosing this Hotel was that it was pet friendly. Good location for going into town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Old facility but comfortable

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet and peaceful location. Within easy reach of town by trolley bus, car or around 20 minute walk. Good laundry facilities. Reasonable breakfast.
Cons: Please inform guests if they are being given a 'smoking' room. In this day and age it is becoming more prevalent to require a 'non smoking' room.
Location: There is a busy 'strip' with abundant shops, restaurants and other attractions. Numerous family based activities are nearby served by a trolley bus.
This is an old hotel caught in the 1970s and it is starting to look it. Nevertheless the room we had was large and well equipped, and it had a lovely balcony overlooking the river. We were not offered a choice of smoking or non smoking, which we should perhaps have queried, as the room and bed clothes smelt badly of stale tobacco. The only other negatives were that we had a safe that didn't work, and a light bulb needed replacing. We reported this at reception immediately on our first night of three. We were told that the bulb would be replaced straight away, but that the safe, which probably just needed a replacement battery might not be done immediately. When we booked out 3 days later, neither of these faults had been rectified which was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: CENTER OF ALL THE ACTION
Location: This is an area with everything to do! from skyline, white water, Ripleys attractions, great food and drinks. Price is good with package deals.
staff was great with helping to get around the area and information about the many Great attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great deal

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Super friendly staff helped me in the middle of the night. Clean room. Great bed. Soft towels. Beautiful view from balcony. Decent breakfast included. Will def stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indy

A good value.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Large clean room, great view of brook. Nice pool. Good breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: View. Spacious.
Cons: Repair peeling paint. Softer beds. Rounded curtain rods in bathtubs to provide more space.
Bed too hard. Paint peeling in bathroom. Shower small. Bathtub curtain rod broken. Nice view. Room very spacious.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Without charm in a charming town!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The back door view.
Cons: Remodel the hotel completely.
Location: Hotel is on the strip but close enough to walk to shops and restaurants.
Read mixed reviews prior to booking a room. Arriving at the hotel, I walked into the office only to see the desk associate lounging in a chair with her feet up and almost stunned to see a guest. I requested a room with a view to the river and she politely said that all of their rooms had views of the river. My room was located in the phase adjacent the office. I opened the door and the room wreaked ...reminiscent of a guys locker room! I opened the back door and was pleasantly surprised to see streaming water and a beautiful bridge. The bedding is so old and worn thin that it really was beyond belief. The room and the bathroom are disgusting. Dated is one thing, dirty is another. The bathroom window is mold filled and the back of the bathroom door was nasty to the point of using every towel to handle the knobs. Incidentally, there is a sign on the bathroom wall requesting guests to use their towel more than once to conserve water. I found that quite amusing since I was the only occupant in the room and had to use every towel for sanitary purpose. I read in one of the reviews that the hotel was in the process of remodeling, however, I surely didn't see any. If the rooms in the tower had been remodeled, I wondered why they wouldn't opt to issue those instead of units in such distress, especially since the hotel was clearly empty. Gatlinburg is making great changes...so should the hotel before it is lost.