Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was good but room was not the best.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location - like the creek behind the hotel is nice.
Cons: Cleanliness could be improved. Property is old and needs to be update.
Older rooms need to be updated. Good location and nice creek located behind the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs some work

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The suite we stayed in was pretty clean but in need of updating. The grounds were nice and had a fun pool area. Would stay there again as long as I got a clean room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!!!'

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very much in need of remodeling . Dirty, dirty, dirty!!!!!! You should remove this motel from your list of hotels in Gatlinburg!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrensburg, MO

Not a 2.5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Back porch
Cons: Cleanliness, update the interior, eggs or meat at breakfast
The first room we were given was in a building not connected to the rest of the hotel. We had to drive back onto the road to get to it. It was obvious that we were being sent to an old run down motel that the Brookside had annexed when it went out of business. It is obviously not depicted in any of the pictures. As we hauled our luggage up to the second floor (no elevator), we were barked at by dogs from almost every room we passed. When we went into our room, the 'pet' smell was unbearable. There was also a pizza box in the room. I tried the phone to tell the office that I would not stay in this room, but it didn't work. We hauled the luggage back down the stairs and went to the office. After the complaints they gave us a room in the real hotel on their property. The place they first sent us to was the pet building. We did not have a pet, and I believe we were only sent there because we got a deal on Expedia. The second room we were given was nice back in 1965. It had a fireplace and other amenities, but hasn't been updated in at least 30 years. The lampshades and everything was dingy from age and old cigarette smoke. It was a non-smoking room. Towels had other people's hair all over them. We had the same issues with the elevator in this building as others have reported in their reviews. I rarely write negative reviews on the internet, but this hotel is not accurately represented on Expedia, and we need to protect the integrity of the system.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brownsville, KY

Not all it was advertised to be.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The view of the brook running behind the hotel was very nice, as was the view from the front door. The staff was very friendly.
Cons: Staff knowledge of the hotel and it's amenities. Faster response to complaints. And elevators in all multi-level buildings.
Location: It is within easy driving or walking distance from most activities and restaurants. Would heartily recommend visiting Cades Cove.
Expedia ad said it had elevators. Only 2 of the buildings had elevators. There weren't any elevators in the building our room was in. It had an exceedingly steep ramp outside to access the 2nd floor. As I am in my 70's and my husband is in his 80's, it was a struggle to get our luggage up that ramp. The refrigerator door in the room would not stay closed without something up against it. We reported it the 2nd day, but no one ever came to repair it. When we called the office, they did not know where the ice or vending machines were. We never obtained ice the whole 5 days we were there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need updating

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We had a good visit to the city, but the hotel really needs some work. The room smelled of chimney smoke and when walking on the carpet our feet were black. It says on the website where they were updating the hotel, but our room still had dark wood paneling, dark carpet, and the area in our room where the mini fridge was left much to be desired. All in all, it was dark. The paneling needed a major dusting as well. We stayed on the fourth floor. And although the view was beautiful from the balcony, my toddler could fit through the bars!! If you have smaller kids definitely ask for a lower level. (Thankful I had a close eye on him). The grounds were lovely and perfect for kids playing outside. The pool was a lot of fun and refreshing on a hot day. The pool deck needs some work. There are areas that need to be refinished. Be sure to wear swim shoes or you may have a few cuts on your feet. The location is perfect. The trolley picks up right in front of the property. Or if you choose, it is a short distance into town. I really hope they continue to update this facility. It could really be a spectacular place to stay and vacation, but with so many other choices in the area for the same price, there are other options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, Al.

Showing it's age

Posted Jul 3, 2014
I was a little surprised when we arrived. The Internet portrays it prettier than it really is. You can tell it is starting to show its age. If you want to stay closer to town pick another location. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitwell,Tn.

Nice place to stay on vacation!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: quiet,comfortable and close enough to walk to downtown Gatlinburg.
Cons: the only thing that I can think of is the dead bolt on our room door was broke and needed repaired.
Location: The motel is close enough to Gatlinburg that we never moved our van while we was there.
We really love the private balcony on the backside of the motel over looking the rolling waters of the brook!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

our stay

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: our room was clean
Cons: remodel the rooms and fix the elevator
The hotel was old and it showed, the folks that greeted us was friendly, the room was clean and that is the important thing to me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
No ice machine in building. Stain in ceiling. Beautiful creek view from balcony but balcony was dirty and spider webs everywhere. Only had maid service 2 times in 4 days and had to stop her those times. Maid could not speak English. Shower did not maintain constant temperature.