Ratings based on 886 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Iricka

Old hotel, needs renovating.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Old hotel. Air unit couldn't keep room a compfortable temp. Bathroom is too small, and no privacy on the balcony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014
We are so disappointed that the A/C unit did not meet your expectations. Had we known about the issue, we would have fixed it, replaced it, or moved you to another room. We certainly apologize!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ttsctravelers

Great stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014
I've read some of the negative reviews but we had a wonderful time. We arrived early and were still allowed to check in. the check in process was quick and the staff very nice and told us all about the hotel and area. After we had unpacked wee got a call from the front desk making sure everything was ok. The river off all the balconies is wonderful. We sat for hours watching kids and families float down the river our feed the ducks. It was so much fun. I will have to say don't plan a working vacation if you need wifi. The connection is really poor but since this was a true vacation it didn't affect us. One Other thing I would like to see improved is their breakfast. For me tiny donuts and muffins and instant oatmeal is pretty substandard but again we just needed a quick snack coffee and juice and headed out the door so was not a deal breaker for us. The pool was great and spent slot of time there. We will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2014
Thank you for your review of Creekstone Inn. Our location offers peace and queit from the engaged town. So glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast options and we hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Smokies!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, no frills.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The location of the hotel was perfect. It was very close to the attractions in the area as well as being off the main road (which saved traffic time). The hotel isn't new, and could stand some renovation, but it was clean and the staff was wonderful to us. The price was also very good for the size room we had. The family suite was perfect for us! I would recommend staying here, but don't expect any frills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014
It seems that you had a very enjoyable time at Creekstone Inn. That is exactly the experience that we want each and every guest to have. We demand from our staff that the rooms be nice, clean and comfortable at an affordable price. Hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vivian from West Virginia

Clean and Friendly Hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
We enjoyed out time in Pigeon Forge. The hotel is located close to everything and yet it is quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of Creekstone Inn. . We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2014
It is an older hotel that could be updated. Room was clean. Elevator was really slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it. Cleanliness is a must, we are glad that you noticed and appreciated our efforts. Hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justine from Washington, D.C.

Nice Hotel close to Dollywood

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: We loved the big jetted tub and LOVED the balcony over looking the creek.
Cons: Could use some updating but for the price we won't complain.
Location: Tons of things, Dollywood, Gatlinburg, many different restaurants, mini golf, go carts & outlets just to name a few things.
We spent one nite here during our honeymoon and loved it! Would definitely recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. . Congradulations on your recent marriage, we hope you have many happy years. Hope to see you again soon on your next trip to the Smokies!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking a stream

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Not the fanciest hotel in the area. For what you get, really good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that ypu enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
by Sabrina from North Georgia

OK for a quick overnight stay

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The view of the river.
Cons: Furniture, bedding/curtains and appliances need to be upgraded.
Location: On the Little Pigeon River and near the National Park entrance - (about 10 minutes away)
The motel is in a nice location. It is an older motel that could use some upgrades like new mattresses, quilts, blankets, refrigerators, curtains, TV's and carpet. Even though it is old it was very clean. I think the owners/managers really want to offer a nice clean room for their guest but I believe it would be a good investment to start upgrading and furnishing with modern furniture. Clean but not fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you noticed that cleanliness is a must with us. We hope that you enjoyed watching the wildlife from your balcony and listening to the river. We will evaluate your other issues. Thanks again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JJ from Middle TN

Very relaxing.

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The peace and quiet.
Cons: Breakfast was a dud. Fruit would have been nice. My toaster is bigger than the flat screen.
Location: Close to everything.
Quiet place to return & rest after all the fun stuff. Free wildlife show from the balcony. Ducks, geese, cranes, squirrells all playing with their babies. Older but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for you review
2 out of 5
by Nancy from South Carolina

Not what expected

Posted May 27, 2014
Checked out after one night and moved to another hotel. AC did not work properly. Spider in bathtub. Continental breakfast was in another hotel room on the premises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2014
We apologize for the unfortunate circumstances. We have an exterminator service that routinely provides service as well as anytime we may have an issue. We will call them immediately. Had we known about the A/C not working correctly we could have been happy to move you to another room or fix the A/C in your room. We sincerely apologize. Thanks for your review. It is greatly appreciated!