Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Good location middle of everything. Nothing is more then 10 mins away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to most resturants and trolly stops.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
A lot of construction is going on near this hotel so didn't know the check in area was separate from the hotel across the street. Staff was friendly and checked us in quickly. The room is long overdue for renovations but as we said we only neede a place to sleep. The view of the creek was so beautiful and you have your own balcony. A little more of a privacy screen between the guest would make a wile other experience. Would stay here again for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BREVARD NC

VIST SMOKEY

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: LIKED IT
Cons: NOTHING
Location: CLOSE TO MOST EVERYTHING
EXCELENT EVERY ONE WAS NICE.GOOD STAY.WILL COME AGAIN
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gulf Breeze, Fl

Bates Motel!

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Everything.
Location: The location was fine. Many things to do, fine eating establishments, and entertainment. P.S. This motel was recommended by Expedia. Terrible.
When we arrived we were told the room was ready. The following deficiencies, discrepancies, or shortcomings were noted: 1. The bedroom TV did not work. Had to call Maintenance. 2. The fireplace did not work. Had to call maintenance. 3. There was no closet in the room??? 4. LIght bulb was out above the sink. 5. Sofa was sagging to the point where you could not sit in the middle. 6. Dresser drawer was broken and the drawer was unusable. 7. The bathroom was extremely small. Very cramped.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KY

Close to most of the shops

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Biggest factor was the heater. Did not like the floor base. Could not get room regulated. It was either to hot or when you turned it down it got to cold. This went on all night. Also not much security on the doors. Even when locked the doors would still move. Overall it was still nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you could not get the heat regulated in your room. Any time that you have a maintenance issue, please contact the front desk and our staff will be glad to assist you immediately. It is wonderful to hear that you had a nice stay and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of our guest's comments to help us know where we need to improve and were we are excelling. Anytime you have any type of issue with your room, please notify the front desk immediately and they will be glad to assist you right away. It is wonderful to hear that you had an overall nice stay and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tn

Posted Dec 30, 2014
easy access to activities, friendly staff, comfortable beds
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay. The room was comfortable and roomy enough for my family of 6. The rates were very reasonable and the location was perfect. We were less than 5 miles from most of the places that we had planned to visit. We were also given a free continental breakfast and a coupon to get a free stack of pancakes for everyone for each morning that we were there. The pancakes were delicious!!! We were very pleased with our stay at this Inn and will look into staying again the next time we come back to Pigeon Forge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your free pancakes at The Smoky Mountain Pancake House. We look forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LOWER AL.

VERY NICE, CLOSE TO ATTRACTIONS

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: LOCATION AND SENIC VIEW.
STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL, EVERYTHING WE NEEDED WAS AVAILABLE, EVEN WHEN WE NEEDED A LARGER ROOM, THERE WAS NO HASSEL ABOUT CHANGEING ROOMS . WE WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our staff takes great pride in making sure that all of our guests have exactly what they need for an enjoyable visit with us. We are so glad that we had the availability to change rooms to meet your family's needs. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope that you will be back to visit with us again very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Super clean

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location....quiet near a river.
Location: Lots to do in pigeon forge tenn.
Great room...super clean shower...and room was quiet and simply perfect!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2014 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room. The housekeeping staff takes great pride in presenting our guests with clean, comfortable rooms and making sure they have everything they need for an enjoyable visit. We hope that you will be our guests again on your next trip to Pigeon Forge and until then we wish you a very Happy New Year!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tn

Was not what I expected and we had no heat and it.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Horrible and the wouldn't refund my money. I paid for a night and I didn't even stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014 by Paula, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review as we value all guest's comments. We are deeply disappointed that you chose not to stay with us. Any time that there is an issue with a heating unit, the guest just needs to report it and our maintenance staff will be there to correct the problem right away. We are investigating the refund issue as we do have a policy that states if a guest is unhappy with the room for any reason within the first 30 minutes of going to the room, we will refund the entire amount of the stay. We apologize for the issues that you experienced and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.