Ratings based on 853 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay but don't expect fantasticness

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Beds were clean and comfortable. The shower didn't drain. Nice little balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hannah from Kentucky

Older hotel but clean and quiet

Posted Apr 8, 2014
The hotel was right on the river and had a nice view. There was no vehicle noise at all and you could turn all of the lights outside the room off, even the balcony light. The room smelled and looked clean and staff even checked in to make sure the room was satisfactory. I will not hesitate to stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend get-away!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Location: We attened Country Tonite to see a friend's son perform, Colin Chandler, one of the youth perform. And Calhoun's restaurant was superb.
We stayed at Creekstone for 2 nights. We only had one problem - the outlet for the microwave wasn't working. Maintenance checked and fixed the next morning. We had other outlets so we were not inconvenienced, just wanted to let them know. This is an older hotel but comfortable and very clean. Loved the view over the river and we enjoyed watching others feed the ducks and fish. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: the location
had an enjoyable weekend. The hotel was comfortable and convenient to many activities
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from Alabama

Nice View

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Cons: The towel service could have been better. Someone came in while we were gone and got our used towels but did not completely replenish our supply.
Location: The Dixie Stampede is within walking distance.
The view of the river from the balcony was beautiful. The location was convenient and easy to find. The rooms are older than what we are used to staying in so the kids were a little turned off. However, we (the paying parents) quickly pointed out to the kids how clean the rooms seemed to be. The beds were very comfortable. I would choose to stay here again.
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you noticed that cleanliness is a must, in our opinion! Every guest can expect a clean comfortable room! The balcony, the river and wildlife is a nice addition to any stay especially when it is hotel is right in the middle of town! See ya soon!
Comment from
Jan 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad that you noticed that cleanliness is a must, in our opinion! Every guest can expect a clean comfortable room! The balcony, the river and wildlife is a nice addition to any stay especially when it is hotel is right in the middle of town! See ya soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Knoxville, TN

Close to Pigeon Forge

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Room layout and being so close to town.
Cons: Would of been great if bathroom could be entered on both sides of room.
Location: Right off main road. Close to all the restaurants and attractions.
Room was laid out great, plenty of space, and clean. Very close to all Pigeon a Forge has to offer. Right on the creek and great parking available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville TN

Hotel stay

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Fireplace and king bed.
Cons: n/a
Location: Dollywood and amusement centers.
Excellent room. We received and upgrade with no charge because the room I was suppose to get didn't have the amenities agreed upon when I reserved the room with Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice creek side hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Had a really nice room. Hotel staff was good. Beds were actually more comfortable than expected. My only complaint is couldn't figure out code to the in room safe. Other than that I would recommend it to my family and friends.
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We greatly appreciate it. We are glad that you were able to get a good night's sleep and relax on our beds. It is so important to one's stay when away from home. We are so sorry that you had difficulty with the safe. Please know that we are always happy to assist with any difficulty that you may encounter. We are so happy that you are recommending our property to other friends and family. It really means a lot to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Our room was a one bedroom suite with a king bed and then another queen bed and a pull out sofa. Plenty of room for my husband and I and our 2 teenagers. There were also 3 tv's. The only negative was that the bathroom was very small. This was not the Ritz...but at $55 a night...I was VERY pleased with the results!
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you acknowledged our room rates are very affordable, for such a nice clean spacious suite. We also agree that the extra TV's allows all ages to enjoy their favorite shows or games without having to share with other guests. Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Faith from Ceredo, WV

Only One Complaint

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness. Comfortable bed.
Location: Too much to do, too little time. Just like life!
We enjoyed our stay at Creekstone Inn. and, as usual, our visit to Pigeon Forge and the surrounding area. Our only complaint was with the Wi-Fi service. The service was not explained to us when we checked in nor was there any information about the code or password to get on the service to be found in the room. The desk clerk came to our room at 10:00 at night and showed me (I was still up) how to get on. It would be helpful to get the Wi-Fi information with the room key.
Comment from
Jan 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is the hotel's policy to give the directions of how to get on the internet to every guest when they check-in, however, it seems that somehow you were not given the paper and we sincerely apologize for it. We are thankful that the desk clerk came to your room and helped you get on the Wi-Fi. We again apologize for this error and have addressed this issue with our staff to prevent this from happening again.