Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JOHN from EVANSVILLE IN

PERFECT LOCATION WILL STAY THERE AGAIN

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
IT WAS GREAT
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Ky

Great Location

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Location! Right in the heart of Gatlinburg Strip. Sitting on balcony and people watching was fun.
Cons: Could use some updates. Enforce parking permits.
Location: Can walk to everything on Gatlinburg Strip.
This is a older motel. But comfy. If you are looking for a 5 star this motel is not for you. If you are OK with a little wear and tear to be in the heart of the Gatlinburg strip this should work for you. Other than some spots on carpet and worn table tops, the room was clean and fresh smelling. Parking can be a problem on week-ends. You get a parking permit for the motel lot but if you come in late after a show or dinner most of the spots were gone. I don't think the the parking permit is very well enforced. You see a lot of cars in lot without the permit in the window. Then when thing start to slow down around town some spots opened up. No one wants to see someones car towed but motel guest should be able to park in lot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by oddog from Cincinnati, Ohio

Middle of town

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Smokyland, like most of the hotels on the Parkway, is fairly old and in need of upgrading. However the room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Except for the construction going on it was also very quiet. The TV set was really in need of replacement but it was still watchable. The prices are very reasonable. I usually go at least twice a year and sometimes more and I try to always try to book a room there It is close to the center of town which makes it very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TOO MUCH NOISE!!

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The room was clean but outdated.
Cons: Update the rooms and contact the garbage company and the city about having a little consideration for their guests.
Both nights we were there we could not sleep because of all of the noise. There is construction going on next door where they are demolishing an old hotel. Our room was on the back side and around 2am a garbage truck started emptying dumpsters. This continued until about 4am. Then at 4:30am a city truck pulls up outside our door and starts up a gas powered pump. He then proceeds to wash the street! This went on until about 5am. Then around 6am the demo crew starts up again. The hotel itself was ok and the staff was nice but the amount of noise was terrible. I will not stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

no service second day in!!

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
location was great staff very friendly.the second day we had no clean towels no explanation for no service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Room

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Staff was friendly and it was a great location for what we wanted
Cons: the carpet in the room needs cleaning a lot more often
Location: It was right in the middle of downtown so it was a great location for not having to drive anywhere you could walk to everything.
The carpet in the room was disgustingly dirty but the beds were clean and the bathrooms were clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cassie from Campton, Ky

Location

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Older but clean hotel. Great for location. Just a basic room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tabatha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emily from Georgia

Great Motel if you don't use your room a lot

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The motel room was in a great location, which was good for me because me and my friends could walk to wherever we wanted to in town. Gatlinburg is a better choice to stay in if you like drinking because Pigeon Forge is a dry area FYI! However, the room itself had a wet/moldy smell to it which may have been because of all the rain that's been going on this year. You can tell that the room is an older room. There is a small fridge and microwave but they are placed next to the bed, at least in my room they were, so it isn't necessarily a small kitchen type of area that you are provided. The bathroom was clean and they did come every day to replace towels and take the trash, which I liked. The water pressure in the shower was also great, which is a big plus if you have long hair. The staff was also nice. When I am on vacation I don't spend a lot of time in my hotel/motel room, so the location of the motel outweighed those factors. If you have someone whose older, sick, etc, this may not be the hotel room for them because the room isn't as nice as they might want it to be. The TV is old, it gets about 28 channels and the room has that funky wet smell to it (though nothing was ever wet in the room when we were there). If you want to spend your visit doing stuff and this room is just a place for you to drop things off and refuel before your next outing, it does the job. During my stay I did not use the pool so I can't give any review of that part.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donny from Alabama

outdated

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, location was perfect, the outside entrance to the room, sitting area above the street was nice.
Cons: black out curtains, raise the shower head, upgrade the room in general
As you walk to the room it smell like someone smoking outside the door. Then the inside was ok and it looked clean, I paid a more for the king room and it was not any bigger than the other rooms with two queen beds. the bathroom had dirt in the window seal, the shower head was only about 5 feet high, the room had no black out curtains, and thru traffic from one street to the other made it noisy.