Ratings based on 1,038 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

It was great. Close to amusements

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: I liked our room. We had a separate bedroom, living room, and a full kitchen.
Location: The location is great. It is close to Dollywood. We took our Granddaughter ziplining for the first time, which she loved. We went to the aquarium.
It is a great place. The water park was nice. The admission to the water park is not included which was a little disappointing. I am 62 and the room we stayed in was up a steep hill plus we were on the third floor so when you reserve a room make sure you know where you are if this would be an issue for you. The room was perfect for us. There is a shuttle that will take you around the park and there is a bus that will pick you up and take you to near by Gatlinburg which is a lovely town and has a aquarium.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Resort tourist trap for timeshare

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: I like that it had a water park available. The kids definitely enjoyed the two water slides.
Location: Gatlinburg. Very close! Road up to Newfound Gap and trails very close!
15 years old and need of work. Cabins not on ground level require dragging luggage up/down stairs. Water park implied as part of the resort, but you have to pay. Shuttle / trolley system was on the surface convenient, but they don't have enough for people wanting to use it even from water park to your room and often waiting a bit long as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Very clean

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very clean hotel and great deal . Stayed here while going to Dollywood
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Lissy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like crowds...

Posted Jul 13, 2014
although the room was clean and the staff great, the constant buzz of noise - golf carts whizzing by at all hours, packing as many people into space as you can - never allows you to feel relaxed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
We love hearing kind words such as yours on our clean rooms and great staff. Our resort is there for our guests to simply have a relaxing and comfortable vacation getaway. We are disappointed to know that it did not meet your expectations. It’s our hope you will visit us again in the future. Ariel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nashville, tn

Posted Jul 13, 2014
This property is huge. This is typically not a problem but there are tours and people everywhere. I thought this place would be a bit inclusive but was not. Not a mountain experience but a timeshare extravaganza. You will be asked to do a 'tour' of the property an attempt to sell you the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to review Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort and Spa. We regret to hear your stay was less than exceptional. This is a timeshare property where we offer guests and owners different vacation options. There is no obligation to attend if you’re not interested. Your feedback will help us improve and make any necessary changes.We would love to have you back to visit. Ariel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pearl, MS

Don't be fooled, water park not included.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very nice. Very secure property with a maned security gate at the entrance.
Cons: Correct the websites so that viewers will know that the water park is not free.
Location: Easy access to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.
We were there from 7/6/2014 - 7/9/2014 Issue 1. The water park you see in the pictures is not included in your stay even though the websites state that it is an amenity and it's on their property. According to the front desk, it free for the timeshare owners only. It's almost twenty per day for adults and slightly less for children. My kids were disappointed so I raised a little ruckus in the lobby and showed them their property on several websites where they listed the water park as an amenity and that why we booked Westgate. After a little arguing they agreed and gave us a pass for three days free. Issue 2. Beware of resort fees that are added to the amount that you are quoted. The per diem adds up quickly. Issue 3. The villa is SMALL, very small. We had to prop the coffee table up by the door to have room to walk around. Room only had shower only, not a problem for me but others should know. Issue 4. This is a timeshare property so be prepared to say no when they offer you the tour unless you have four or five hours to kill. Conclusion: Given the size and quality of the room, you should stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for informing us about your vacation with us. Please know that the waterpark at Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort and Spa has a separate admission fee. This information can be found on the website. We also realize you had other issues during your time with us. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to exceed your expectations. Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Beautiful rooms and location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be going back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your response. It’s amazing to know your enjoyed our rooms and location. Our staff strives to be helpful and attentive to all our guests and we’re glad you experience just that! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Lissy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, IN

Beautiful Facilities that are over crowded

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Close to the park, clean, well appointed facilities.
Cons: Adults only streets. Give the employees better training and tools to address minor issues instead of reading their manual.
Location: The National Park is very close, the arts and crafts society puts out a really nice map that helps you avoid the tourist traps and Chinese junk.
The Good- Beautiful Facilities, our unit on the top of the hill was beautiful, clean, well appointed and immaculate.The view of the park was nice, and everything worked in our room. The young man that delivered us to our room was extremely polite and knowledgeable. The Bad- Construction in the adjacent units is going FULL BLAST and starts at 7:00 AM, there is already very limited room to drive and park. and the construction traffic is horrible. Further they are really noisy with the back up alarms, aggregate trucks, concrete trucks. etc. There are families here with LOTS of NOISY kids, I would suggest a street, wing, group of buildings, whatever that are for adults only. We came for quiet. One of the kids set the fire alarm off in the building next to us at 6:50 AM, it rang for 40 minutes before the fire department showed up and turned it off. Good Morning! The Ugly- We decided to have dinner at the Mason Jar pub on site. Since we were riding the shuttle down the hill and staying on the property, my wife left her purse in the room. Well, evidently the corporate policy is that NO ONE gets a glass of wine without a photo ID. My wife and I are 54 years old. We did not discover the fountain of youth. This made me mad!! It was an hour round trip back up and down the hill in 90 degree heat to retrieve her purse. She had water for dinner.A little common sense would have helped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our beautiful facilities and that the staff you encountered was courteous and accommodating. Please know even though your expectations weren’t exceeded that your feedback will help us improve for future stays. It’s our hope that you weren’t inconvenienced. Our goal is to always provide the best customer service. We hope to be given another opportunity to serve you again! Ariel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Smokey mountains

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Great experience! Driving through the Gatlin bypass is truly an experience through the mountains. Do not recommend driving through at night. Water Park was ok. Cabin was awesome! All workers very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to help ensure all of our guests are having a great experience. We hope you got to explore all that Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa has to offer. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guests again! Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hiawassee ga

Love it !!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We stay at west gate resorts about 20 times a year we love them and love the fact that we can bring our dog it makes travel less stressful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by WestgateGuestRelations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for informing us about how much you loved your trip. We appreciate you for making us your place to stay when visiting the Gatlinburg area. It’s always our top priority to ensure that all of our owners and guests are accommodated. We hope to host you again soon! Ariel