Ratings based on 1,031 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Beautiful rooms and location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be going back again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, IN

Beautiful Facilities that are over crowded

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Close to the park, clean, well appointed facilities.
Cons: Adults only streets. Give the employees better training and tools to address minor issues instead of reading their manual.
Location: The National Park is very close, the arts and crafts society puts out a really nice map that helps you avoid the tourist traps and Chinese junk.
The Good- Beautiful Facilities, our unit on the top of the hill was beautiful, clean, well appointed and immaculate.The view of the park was nice, and everything worked in our room. The young man that delivered us to our room was extremely polite and knowledgeable. The Bad- Construction in the adjacent units is going FULL BLAST and starts at 7:00 AM, there is already very limited room to drive and park. and the construction traffic is horrible. Further they are really noisy with the back up alarms, aggregate trucks, concrete trucks. etc. There are families here with LOTS of NOISY kids, I would suggest a street, wing, group of buildings, whatever that are for adults only. We came for quiet. One of the kids set the fire alarm off in the building next to us at 6:50 AM, it rang for 40 minutes before the fire department showed up and turned it off. Good Morning! The Ugly- We decided to have dinner at the Mason Jar pub on site. Since we were riding the shuttle down the hill and staying on the property, my wife left her purse in the room. Well, evidently the corporate policy is that NO ONE gets a glass of wine without a photo ID. My wife and I are 54 years old. We did not discover the fountain of youth. This made me mad!! It was an hour round trip back up and down the hill in 90 degree heat to retrieve her purse. She had water for dinner.A little common sense would have helped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our beautiful facilities and that the staff you encountered was courteous and accommodating. Please know even though your expectations weren’t exceeded that your feedback will help us improve for future stays. It’s our hope that you weren’t inconvenienced. Our goal is to always provide the best customer service. We hope to be given another opportunity to serve you again! Ariel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Smokey mountains

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Great experience! Driving through the Gatlin bypass is truly an experience through the mountains. Do not recommend driving through at night. Water Park was ok. Cabin was awesome! All workers very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback is very important to help ensure all of our guests are having a great experience. We hope you got to explore all that Westgate Smoky Mountain Resort and Spa has to offer. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guests again! Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hiawassee ga

Love it !!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We stay at west gate resorts about 20 times a year we love them and love the fact that we can bring our dog it makes travel less stressful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Thank you so much for informing us about how much you loved your trip. We appreciate you for making us your place to stay when visiting the Gatlinburg area. It’s always our top priority to ensure that all of our owners and guests are accommodated. We hope to host you again soon! Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Wonderful time in the Smokeys

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Check in, could hear children in next rooms using garbage disposal & parking.
Location: Gatlinburg & Pidgeon Forge...need I say more.
Great place. Really enjoyed our stay. Check in was rough & parking hard to come by at times but fabulous rooms, great restaurant& nice picnic areas with great pools.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. It pleases us to know that you had such a wonderful time in the Smokey’s. We certainly appreciate the feedback as it is most important to us and helps us to ensure future stays are more comfortable. Our team waits for your next visit! Ariel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wanatah, Indiana

OK but nothing compared to cabins.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It was spotless, the staff very nice. Great for children.
Cons: Trying to cram too many rooms in the space they have. People go to Gatlinburg for the surrounding beauty. The window was blocked by steps.
Location: Tons of stuff to do, shopping, hiking, driving through the National Park.
To start, I have never stayed in Gatlinburg in a hotel/resort. I have always stayed in a cabin, and I will from now on. Westgate gently tries to sell you a timeshare. What I don't understand is why you would think I would want to buy into a place where they put me in a basement with a view of a staircase. This is a beautiful, nature filled town and my view was a staircase...in a basement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the moment to evaluate our great property. We understand you had some frustrations in regards to your room placement. Please know that you can always request a room with a view of the Smoky Mountains. But also be advised that this is based upon availability. We hope you will give us a second chance to host you again. Ariel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wanda from Springfield Tn

Beautiful place. Very convienant!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Amazing rooms! Very comfortable. Washer & dryer for 2 units to share.
Cons: Check in. Heard the neighbors a few times when they turned on the garbage disposal. They need more parking places.
Location: Right at the entrance of Gatlinburg so you're close to there & Pidgeon Forge. Had a nice water park on property. Of course the Great Smokie Mountains
Check in was a little difficult. They couldn't find my reservation, but after that it was awesome. They place is fabulous & the staff very friendly & helpful. The property has almost everything you could want on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
We are delighted that you had a great stay with us at the Westgate Smoky Mountains Resort and Spa. Thank you for your compliments on our convenient and beautiful location. It’s really great that your check-in issue was resolved so that you were able to enjoy the rest of your vacation. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel into this area. Ariel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful scenery and resort!
Cons: Better organization/communication between staff members at front desk
We made reservations prior to going but when we arrived there were so many issues just trying to check in. The staff at the front desk told us they could not find our reservation (luckily I took our iPad to show them the confirmation email/payment made) and they seemed very disorganized trying to solve the issue. The overall resort was amazing and beautiful!! Room size was disappointing for the money but overall it was a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We understand that upon your arrival at check-in that there were some challenges. Please know that your feedback is taken very seriously and will help us to improve our check-in processes moving forward. But we are very glad to know your overall vacation was everything you wanted. We hope to host you as our guest again soon! Ariel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and amazing view

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: View, staff
Cons: Girl working counter at waterpark - needs training on how to be nice to guests or move somewhere else, make sure grout is clean in showers
Location: Gatlinburg is a short drive away (less than 5 mins)
The staff really made this experience. The room had an amazing view and was very comfortable. With 2 small children, the water park was perfect. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is 1) there was a bit of mold in the shower - yuck!, 2) we had a few problems with an eye not working on stove and sink drainage slow, 3) asked for soap for handwashing dishes from housekeeping and it took 5 hours to arrive, and 4) very rude person working the counter at the water park (girl with short hair and tattoos) - she snapped at us both days we went their to rent lockers (this was one strange exception amongst a really great staff overall). That said, I would definitely return as we had a great weekend at the Westgate!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. It pleases us to know that you loved our staff and the amazing view from your room. We regret that there were a couple of issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that we will be going over your concerns with upper management to ensure that your future expectations are exceeded. Ariel
1 out of 5
by Maria from West Virginia

Worse Hotel Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful, pool is nice. Very nice view.
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Pretty close to everything in both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg
I have stay in about a ton and half of hotels in my life, this was the worst experience I have ever had. WALLS PAPER THIN...I could hear the woman next door to us pour her kids' cereal in the bowl (like the cereal hitting the bowl) and it sounded as if there were two elephants dancing over us half the night. I have lived in apartments and have been in to many hotels to count in my time (including those in third world countries) and have NEVER had this situation were there is NO SOUND PROOFING whatsoever. We stayed a total of three night, on day two they deactivated our room keys, which left me and my almost 70 old year mother seeing out in the heat waiting for security to reprogram our keys. We checked in at roughly 4 pm however our room was not ready until after 6pm. Would NEVER stay here again...SO DISAPPOINTED should not be call a resort, have had better experience at a $50 a night dive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your input. We sincerely apologize that your most recent stay with us was not enjoyable. We will use your comments to help our team with continuous improvement towards the goal of providing an excellent experience for our guests. Ariel