Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
Location: Close to train station, shops & restaurants
This hotel is conveniently located across from the train station & walkable to town. The décor is outdated but everything is clean. Breakfast was good. Some staff members were nicer than others. Overall, it is a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Niedersachsen

Hotel mit guter Verkehrsanbindung

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Es waren mehrere Zimmer während des Oktoberfestes gebucht - problemlose Anreise - Lage direkt an der S-Bahn-Station Gauting - gute Verbindung ins Zentrum. Alle Mitreisenden waren mit Zimmerausstattung und Frühstück zufrieden. Preis-Leistungsverhältnis ist in Ordnung. Das Hotel wird beim nächsten Oktoberfest-Besuch wieder von uns ausgesucht.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annefrom Mainz

Für Fahrradfahrer sehr gut.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Die Sauberkeit, die Lage und die fantastischen Betten.
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich mitten im Ort. Pizzeria/Abendessen gleich in der Nähe. Direkt am Fahrradweg Via Julia.
Mit dem Fahrrad ging es bis nach Prien am Chiemsee. Das beste Hotel auf der Tour war das Hotel Simon. Ziemlich durchnässt kam ich dort Abends an. Der freundliche Herr am Empfang zeigte mir die Fahrradgarage, in der ich mein Bike abstellen konnte. Es waren noch einige andere Fahrräder eingestellt und am Frühstückstisch Tags darauf hatten wir Radfahrer kurz Gelegenheit unsere Erfahrungen auszutauschen. Ich bekam ein schönes Zimmer mit neuem Bad. Das Hotel machte überhaupt einen sehr sauberen und neu renovierten Eindruck. Abendessen ging ich in eine kleine Pizzeria, gleich neben dem Hotel. Viele Einheimische waren dort und ich bekam viele Ratschläge und Tipps für Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Umgebung. Leider hatte ich aber keine Zeit und musste meinen Plan einhalten. Aber das nächste mal komme ich wieder und sehe mir die Gegend dort in Ruhe an. Wichtig: Gegenüber des Hotels ist ein Fahrradladen, der gerne auch mal die Bremsen nachstellt....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by skanderbfrom Paris

Propre, facile a vivre

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel propre, et bien entretenu. Pour l'essentiel c'etait ok Les matelas sont a ressort et peu rembourrés, donc dos fragiles (comme moi) attention!!! Les petits déjeuners sont simples mais corrects si vous vous contentez d'un bout de pain (industriel) de beurre et confiture....: toutefois le café est tres quelconque, pour moi qui ne marche qu'au café c'etait décevant. Les chambres et l'accueil ne comportent que des information en Allemand donc si comme moi vous ne le pratiquez pas, assurez vous de coincer le patron pour poser vos questions (accueil souvent vide, arrivé à midi, la porte était fermée... un mot sur la porte indiquait en allemand que les clés etaient dans la boite à lettre à coté...mais je ne pouvais le comprendre, et j'ai attendu que quelqu'un passe pour me le traduire!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ellid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kuytrfrom Korea

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good very gud
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Disappointed

Posted Aug 19, 2011
The people who run the hotel are very nice and friendly and provide lots of help and advice. The wi-fi works OK and they have some parking. reception is only partially manned throughout the day. It's convenient for the train into Munich, but it's a bit pricey compared with driving, and the surrounding coutryside and lakes are nice. The village is fairly quiet, with a few small eating places at reasonable cost. We stayed in three Bavarian hotels, all about the same price, but I have to say that this was by far the worst. Our room was so dated that we considered checking out immediately, but it was late and we needed a large family suite, so not that easy, so we stayed. The decor was dire, the windows didn't seal, so we could hear the local drunkards into the late hours, the TV was an old CRT with four channels. The bathroom was horrid, very old with damaged fittings and filthy extractors. Breakfast was pretty much "help yourself", with nobody on hand, and with instant coffee and other elements running out and not replaced. Not unacceptable, but poor compared to our other experiences at the same price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nettes kleines Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2011
Nettes kleines Hotel in einem Vorort von München. Guter S-Bahnanschluss. Für eine Familie mit zwei Kindern geeignet. Der Normalpreis ist für die Ausstattung des Zimmers recht hoch. Sehr zuvorkommende Hotelinhaber.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Reading, England

We would use Hotel Simon again - very convenient for rail travel into Munich

Posted May 9, 2010
We wanted to visit Munich for a couple of days before travelling elsewhere in Bavaria. We had a rented car, but did not want to drive aorund the city centre and struggle with parking. Because we planned to head South after staying in Munich, Gauting was a convenient location to get to after picking up the car at Munich airport (Satnav made finding the hotel easy too). I'm sure that the excellent Munich public transport would make getting to this hotel from the airport straightforward, and it would take perhaps an hour. The railway station in Gauting is right opposite the hotel, so after arriving, we were able to use S-bahn and U-bahn to go wherever we wanted. Approx 20 minutes to city centre. The hotel provided good, clean, basic accomodation (small apartment with some cooking facilities which we did not use) at a very fair price for a family of four. The sleeping arrangements were a little cramped, but the good breakfast (included in the price) offset this. Note that Expedia guaranteed the booking with credit card, but the hotel preferred to be paid in cash when we were there. We did not explore Gauting much, but as always in Germany we found it easy to stroll around and find good-value pizza (and beers of course) etc. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again if we were in the area.