Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in Basel

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Cons: Room facilities: no tea/coffee facilities in the room. You have to ask reception, but very limited availability.
The hotel is located in central Basel, perfect for business travellers, well-equipped and with comfy beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Basic hotel for the money

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Staff was tremendous and it's close to everything.
Cons: Breakfast was deplorable. Weird odor in the rooms.
Location: Next to the train station and only a 10 minute walk to the lake and shopping.
Very close to the train station and easy walk to the lake. Staff at check in was fantastic and welcoming. My room, as well as my colleague's had a very strange chemical smell...as if they tried to cover up the smell from a smokers room. I opened the window, which seemed to help, but the rooms at the back are almost on the train tracks. The sounds didn't bother me that much, but if you're a light sleeper, consider this when checking in. This is a typical no frills basic hotel room I've found all over Europe. Smallish rooms and basic accommodations, but friendly staff and centrally located. I've read several other reviews about the breakfast here, and thought they were exaggerations....trust me, they weren't. I travel for a living and have platinum status with a few airlines and hotel chains, so my expectations for hotel breakfasts are never high. Somehow, they managed to underwhelm even my low standard. Skip the $20 breakfast and head to McDonalds nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Modern hotel close to lake.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Stylish, central, modern facilities. Comfortable bed! Helpful staff. Proximity to the city. Complimentary tea and coffee tray is a nice touch.
Cons: Breakfast expensive but this is Geneva!! Weather amazing so we had picnics by the lake!
Location: 5 mins walk from station and 15 mins walk from Lake Leman. Free travel pass was great, used on tram,bus and lots of Lake trips!
Stayed for a four night break. Smart modern hotel with very welcoming staff. Bedroom stylish and well equipped. 10 minutes walk from Lac Leman . Very close to a variety of restaurants and a five minute walk from the station. Breakfast expensive! However, hotel close to two supermarkets and plenty cafés. Would stay here again. The hotel was close to the red light area which we discovered the first evening! If a single female probably best to stick to the main roads! We found a wonderful restaurant " Cottage Cafe " in a small park close to the Hotel Beau Rivage. It was buzzing with locals every night. The food was excellent, tapas of lake perch, roasted peppers , stuffed courgettes. Great chef doing high quality food in a wonderful setting. Staff charming. Book at weekends!!! Prices reasonable. Enjoyed the Science museum and Park at Mouette stop No. 4 ( waterbus) great walks and views of the fountain and Mont Blanc. Also go to the bathing park on the lake front, locals swim in their lunch breaks! Great place to,sit and enjoy the views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Loved my stay!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This hotel is very well located. The staff is super friendly. It is very clean and quiet. Although is close to the train station (the main hub) I did not hear trains not even once. It is sound proof - it must be ;) Besides the breakfast is really good :) a bit pricy but worth to get up and have it right there :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel, great location and reasonably priced

Posted Aug 1, 2014
The hotel is a very short walk from Genève rail station, which is perfect for rail connections and links to the airport. It is relatively close to the centre and you can reach Bel Air on foot in 20 mins. Alternatively there is a tram at the front which takes you to the UN as well as the centre of the city. The staff was OK, frankly we didn't feel they were particularly warm, a little fake and clinical. We also got the impression they were all programmed to flog their breakfast (which is very, very expensive at 30 CHF pp, per day) and if you didn't at check out, they would almost question you why not. The breakfast is also advertised on key cards, in your room, pretty aggressively in your face. The lifts are way too small if you have large amounts of luggage, so if you are going all out or if you're taking you whole family, you might want to set aside some money to tip the concierge to take it through the service lifts. The room was very big and spacious - no complaints there. Very comfortable and clean. WiFi is free and we got a good signal in the room. The TV channel list is very comprehensive and even includes ITV and Cbeebies. We did however find it odd that the toilet and bathroom were separate, so that to wash tour hands after the loo, you would have to come out the loo and go next door to the bathroom. All in all, it's a lovely hotel, and reasonably priced, but spoiled by the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: the mojito lady.
room was very clean just extremely small. staff very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good deal for business stay and well connected. No bathrobes and a very essential minibar. No room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Berge from Boca Raton, FL

Great location at a great price

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice small hotel. Tram stop just outside front door. Many shops and restaurants on the street. There are several o0ther sister hotels with good restaurants and the Hotel Auteuil offers a 15% discount for using them. Wonderful breakfast for 28 HHF. I will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Nice hotel, convenient location. Staff are very friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable.