Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Black Forest

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The location, the size of the room, the balcony and included parking. The staff were lovely and very helpful.
Great hotel, large room and bathroom. Short walk over to the center of Gengenbach for a lovely dinner. Very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from London

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Good location and comfortable. Children enjoyed the pool.
Cons: Wifi on rooms - was only available in the foyer.
Location: Close to the main centre and nice walks along the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Martin S from Boulder, CO

A stone's throw from Strasbourg

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was very charming. The staff was all very professional and extremely friendly. They spoke excellent English. The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with breads, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, sausages, juices, yogurt, fruit, etc. Basically everything you would expect at a fine German hotel. They also had a pool, but I didn't go look at it. Gengenbach is about 10 miles from Strasbourg, so if you want to visit a large city and see the cathedral, it's very easy to get there. I had a rental car, and there was plenty of parking. I don't often give five stars, but this hotel deserves it! The only slight drawback is that instead of WiFi, they will give you an ethernet cable for your laptop. No connection for your iPhone. But that's not enough to deduct a star!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for Business users

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall very good hotel in all departments and catered well for business users - well recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is no wifi at room
3 out of 5
by Joe from Charlotte, NC, USA

"Not what I expected"

Posted Jan 21, 2013
I should have done more research. I had to ask for a temperature adjustment in my room. Never was comfortable. Either too cold or too warm. Bathtub not designed for a standing shower. Had to hurry to catch my train when checking out because the desk person does not arrive until 6 am and she was a few minutes late. Breakfast didn't have eggs until my final morning. I think this place would work better for leisurely holiday people in the summertime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Katrina

They made us feel like rock stars!

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff were absolutely wonderful from the time we arrived until the time we departed. The room was a great value with a great private balcony and lots of space in the room. We also received a free regional rail pass with the room and the front desk staff helped us find train schedules, book a massage, and recommended recreation and restaurants. The service in the hotel restaurant/bar was exceptional and the free breakfast was substantial. We whole-heartedly recommend this hotel, especially for those that like to be off the beaten track and appreciate the slower pass of the smaller cities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

The Best Hotel I Never Expected

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed four nights at the Schwarzwald Hotel Gengenbach as part of a Black Forest tour. I found the quality of the hotel and facilities to be outstanding. The professionalism and friendliness of the staff is also of the highest standard. I will be back for sure, thanks for a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted May 30, 2012
nice hotel, quiet location, not much to do during summer months but close to bad tolz
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hafnarfjörður

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2011 on Hotels.com