Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ammar K. from USA

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice Area, Clean Hotel, Great Location, large rooms yet antiquated room furniture and elevator. Cleanliness was great. location close to train station. i would recommend if you dont mind 1950s furniture and rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Frank from Florida, USA

Older but elegant hotel close to the train station

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a good experience. The hotel is older, but it has its charm. The bathrooms are renovated and clean. The breakfast is excellent in the morning. Walking distance to the old town and shopping area. We had dinner at a small restaurant nearby - Al Rustichello - wonderful local family run place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from UK

Close to Brignole station but stuck in a time warp

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very, very tired. It is clean but more 2-star than 4-star. Yes it has an old lift, which is vaguely charming, but thread-bare carpets, rickety old furniture and a general 1970s feel. It's close to the Brignole train station and most of the staff were courteous. The free Wi-Fi worked well. At £80 a night it's expensive for what you get, but probably typical of the hotels on offer in Genoa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul B. from Scotland, UK

Wonderful old Time Warp Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Traffic noise
Location: Very central and convenient for most locations
Time warp Hotel in a great location. Nice to find a lovely old hotel that has not had it's charm ripped out by 'modernisation'. Loved the nice old reception, lounge, bar and dining area. fantastic old 1930's iron lift going up the central stairway. The Big Ben grandfather clock added a touch of a Rocky Horror film set feel to the experience. The higher you go the cheaper the rooms. Our third floor rooms looked a bit tired but clean with nice crisp linen and towels. Double glazing helped keep the noise of the traffic down but still pretty loud. Very convenient for Brigniole train station close to good shops and restaurants. Would definately go back excellent value B&B prices. N.B. Not the sort of place I would recommend it you like bland, soporific Best Western or Marriot type hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Brignole hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2012
Pros: The grandiose surroundings
Cons: Drab stuff in rooms noisy
Location: Very good
It must have been a grand hotel 4 decades ago! Beautiful rooms grandiose hall but no upkeep. Very noise room could hear traffic all night long and trains below. Good location but it definitely needs a facelift.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lectrolink

Reflects the Faded Glory that is Genoa

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel has nice big rooms with tall ceilings from the olden days, vintage elevator, etc. Front desk is friendly and helpful. But, some of the furniture in the room is falling apart, and the single bed that was brought in for my triple room was low quality with old springs and thin mattress. I like the old touches--it adds character, but they need to spend a bit of money to update. Location is decent with a pedestrian zone and big Mercato nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, England

Hotel Astoria in Genoa, Italy

Posted Jun 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
With a friendly and helpful staff, here you can picture yourself as one of the cast of Some Like It Hot - the lift is a dead ringer. Walking distance to city centre and much else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

It was okay . . .

Posted Sep 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel was somewhat difficult to find, mainly because Italians don't believe in street signs that one can read from a car. Parking cost 15 euro per night in a garage several blocks away. The area is very noisy with construction that seemed to go on well into the night. The room was okay - there was no carpeting on the floor - the bath was fine and the bed comfortable. The elevator was a trip, something out of an old European movie.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The end of 19th century charm

Posted Aug 2, 2010
Perfect location. Staff is very frendly and helpfull. Breakfast is very good. This is the only place we'll stay next time.